18 independent reviews for Croatia sea kayaking vacations

Reviews for Croatia sea kayaking vacations

SHOW
6
11
0
1
0

review 19 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It really was a fantastic vacation. We took our 2 girls aged 11 and 9, and went in double kayaks. Such a great experience for us all. Our guides were fantastic, our group were all novices and our guides were calm, reassuring and patient giving us complete confidence. Highlights were the beautiful clear blue seas, stunning scenery, swimming in the blue cave, amazing meals at local restaurants (freshly bbqd fish), the feeling of achievement having kayaked to other islands and the camaraderie of our group - we made great friends on the trip with others in our group. All in all a fabulous few days!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it! Dont be put off if youve never kayaked before. At times it was harder than we expected as it can be quite windy and the sea could be choppier than we expected but the guides are great and there is a great sense of achievement at the end of the day. UV tops and a hat, sunglasses and water shoes essential!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - We ate in lots of local restaurants that were off the main tourist trail, including walking to a farmhouse for an unforgettable evening meal cooked by the owners of the farmhouse using all their own produce.The guides were also local (and very knowledgeable)In terms of environmental impacts, kayaking to explore other islands rather than taking speedboats or ferries was positive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing - would highly recommend!

review 11 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Weather conditions varied to keep us busy! I loved basic things like embarking the canoes on the rocks, sipping into turquoise water, swimming and diving. And the magnificent scenery, unspoiled nature and adriatic food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring gloves to protect the palms. Paddling for several consequtive days requires physical fitness, so work out a little before the trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had a lunch in a remoted fish restaurant, diners at locally run places and the b&b was locally run up to the level even the jams for the breakfast where made of fruits from their own garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I was happy with almost everything on this trip.

review 11 Jul 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking on calm waters a grey and warm day, seeing the horizon melting into the sky and the only noise to hear is my own kayaking

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring gloves! It might be windy and the kayaking can get hard - and you do not want blisters!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in contrast to many tourists we did not use the waterscooters or daycruisers. The accomidation was private, and we eat at small restaurants in locations with few tourists.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Recommended! And very well suited for persons traveling alone/single.

review 11 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 30 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's very difficult to choose something. Every day was different and it's the variety that makes this vacation so great. From the kids view, speedboatday was very exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

In summer it can be warm. So listen to the advise to protect yourself. We took water gloves with us and were happy with this protection. Whithout you can have blisters.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We had the opportunity to visit a local farm, where we could eat a traditional meal. Every meal arranged by the operator was with local, small entrepreneurs and everything we tasted was delicious.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fantastic experience. Our guides were great, they did everything they could to make it an experience we will never forget!

review 11 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The friendliness and helpfulness of the guides, seeing different areas, the food -everything really!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Staying in a local guest house, eating at local restaurants and farms certainly will have benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The attention to detail was impeccable as every part of the trip was organised even more than I expected. Our guides were fabulous and took us to an amazing place to eat where ordinary tourists wouldn't be able to know about. Local guest house accommodation much better than staying in a hotel, very comfortable with wonderful breakfasts and hospitality.

review 14 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I traveled solo joining a group of 16 others. The group were a mix of solo travelers, couples and families with teenagers. There was always an option to eat the meals together, so there were plenty of time for socializing and getting acquainted with each other. If you have the chance, don't miss out on the dinner on a small farm in the hillsides of Lopud. The three days of kayaking around the beautiful islands was a perfect combination of activity and relaxation. The guides were skilled and very helpful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wearing polarized and 100% UVA and UVB resistant sunglasses for best protection of eyes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Since we stayed in small locally owned accommodation and ate all the meals in various restaurants I think it benefited the local people. Kayaking is in itself environmentally friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic mix of activity and relaxation, with great company and good food.

review 19 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beauty of Croatia in general was breath taking. The sea kayaking was a bit more than I expected so it was an adventure, but I loved it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A certain amount of skill level is not needed bit helpful as well as a certain amount of being in shape.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hopefully

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 21 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Lovely relaxing, chilled vacation

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent location, friendly people and very relaxing activity vacation

review 15 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The kayaking was great and our guide Amir was brilliant. The weather wasn't great but it made the kayaking challenging so we felt we had really achieved and overcome.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't go start of May, everywhere is a building site as it's still off season. I was really upset that the agency didn't think to tell us this and advise we come 2 weeks later, even if it had cost more. It was a real downer. Also, in all honesty I'd book your own accommodation on the island and just organise day kayaking trips with guide on the island. The accommodation was really really bad. We just left after a night and booked ourselves in to another place which they thankfully agreed to pay for.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It did in the sense you were put in an old woman's upstairs room, so I guess it benefitted her!! Though tbh staying anywhere better and eating in any of the restaurants on the island was benefitting the local people and you'd get a nicer vacation!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It wasn't great for us, island was a building site, had to move hotels. Only good thing was kayaking and I'm annoyed agency didn't advise us just how poor the accommodation was OR that it was still off season and building work stopped 2 weeks later. I'd go back, but in peak season and make all my own arrangements and probably save a fortune. Props to Amir though, he was great and if we went back we'd definitely arrange day trips with him.

review 26 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking through a storm on the first day was quite exciting! It was a relaxed vacation and the guides were really friendly and very adaptable in where we paddled and starting times. I enjoyed the speedboat ride across to the other island one evening for the meal up on the farm in the hills, which was brilliant including all the wine and spirits they'd made themselves!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some warm clothes for the evenings depending on what time of year you're traveling and definitely a waterproof jacket in case of storms or when going out in the speedboat! Kayaking gloves were really useful too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at some local restaurants on the islands and were taken to a farm up in the hills one evening which was run by locals who made all the food and drink on their farm. I definitely wouldn't have found the place on my own. Obviously the kayaking itself didn't cause any pollution and the guides were either local to the area or Croatian. Unlike the big day trip tourists we stayed and ate on the islands which meant more money went to the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great, relaxing vacation with kayaking everyday but also time off to explore the islands, swim or relax. Brilliant, fun guides who really looked after everyone in the group. Amazing way to see a bit of Croatia.

review 8 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking the beautiful waters of the Adriatic! Also we had a dinner at a farm on Lopud one night that was really special and that I would highly recommend. The food and wine were delicious, the hosts were very welcoming, and the experience didn't feel at all "touristy".

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and have fun, don't worry about time or the weather or anything else, turn off laptops, ipads, phones, etc., and just go with what each day brings.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I would agree that the vacation benefited local people as it supported a lot of small local businesses (e.g. guesthouse, farm, small cafes, restaurants, and also possibly some logistics/equipment support I wasn't aware of). Also compared with larger boats and ground transportation, kayaking and hiking have a lower environmental impact, and because of the longer stays (4 and 3 nights) there was less impact (e.g. laundry) than if we were moving every night to another accommodation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a really wonderful trip, with an excellent itinerary. The guide was very friendly and personable, competent and safety-minded. The company is very well-organized and professional. Absolutely no issues with the accommodations or the equipment. I would not hesitate to recommend this trip.

review 8 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Endless thunderstorms but still got to do lots and had great craic. Felt very well looked after, and though it was only a short four day kayaking break, felt like a lot was packed into it.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Good and active - pack walking boots as well as your swimming /kayaking gear as the islands are lovely to explore but quite hilly!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I did. Our guide was Croatian, and all of the accommodation we stayed in was owned and run by local families. The restaurants we ate in too. As we were either kayaking, walking, swimming or using the local ferries, the environmental impact was minimal - just the flight over really. Also, our guide took us to a local farm on the island for a meal which comprised food grown and produced on the farm. It's not a place we would have found otherwise, and as it's a difficult place to make a living, felt good about being able to support them. Also, it was a fabulous meal!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - looking forward to booking a trip for next year with the same company in a different part of Croatia. Felt very well looked after, and even though plans had to change constantly due to the weather, we were never left twiddling our thumbs doing nothing, which I certainly had not expected.

review 27 Jul 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking on the island of Lopud was breathtaking and snorkeling in the crystal clear water was delightful. The guides we had were wonderful, especially Ivana who got us where we needed to be and helped us tremendously when our plans changed.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you get precise details about the type of accommodations you will be staying in. Given the cost we assumed a higher level of comfort than what we got. (no a/c or ceiling fans - and we were in Croatia in July; very poor quality linens, towels, and pillows, showers that did not drain, no screens in bathrooms windows which did not shut so lots of bugs, etc). However, the family that ran the B&B was lovely and we were happy to be staying in a B&B that was owned and run by a local family - the quality was just not what we had anticipated given the cost.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful.

review 11 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking around beautiful such shores in beautiful weather - but also kayaking in strong winds and rain, which was exciting and challenging! On the second day, Amir our instructor showed us a fantastic blue lit cave that could only be reached by jumping out of the kayaks and swimming through a small entrance lots of fun. Plus we enjoyed a lovely dinner on a local farm where everything we ate and drank had been produced on the farm, including some wonderful liqueurs.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Although it's suitable for beginners, 7-15km a day is quite a fair distance so you do need to be fit. Also bear in mind that the itinerary and distances stated may need to change due to weather conditions and/or the overall ability of the group. Remain flexible!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited local people in that it's a Croatian company and our kayaking instructor was a Croatian student. We stayed in a small locally owned guesthouse, ate in local restaurants and kayaking itself has little environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great vacation with 3 days of kayaking being probably just the right amount. We liked the fact that there was also time for relaxation and the starts were not too early (around 10.15). The little island of Lopud is charming and the guest house was lovely with great breakfasts. Amir our instructor was very good and very nice. In fact, everyone we met was very helpful and very friendly.

review 31 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A great sense of achievement after paddling so far each day and being able to enjoy such beautiful scenery from a totally different perspective.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Whilst the trip is definitely suitable for all levels if I were to do it again I'd probably get to the gym a few times beforehand to prepare. It's worth taking gloves too to prevent the otherwise inevitable blisters!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We stayed in lovely local guesthouses and getting around was generally on foot or in kayaks so I'd rate this as a pretty eco friendly trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent vacation. Well organised, great group leader (thanks Filip!), stunning scenery, gorgeous weather, good company. Fun and active. Would recommend it.

review 27 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking through pristine turquoise waters and staying on idyllic islands with locals.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Remember to stretch before you kayak.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Environmental impact minimal given all transport was either public ferries (at start and end) or by kayak. Stayed with small local family B&Bs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking to the Blue Cave and the Green Cave, leaving the kayaks and swimming into the caves.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry that it will be too much hard work - the pace of paddling is suited to everyone. If you paddle slowly you have more time to enjoy the scenery while quicker people are can always do a few extra laps to burn off their energy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent trip, we loved the relaxed approach to each day. We especially loved being on Lopud with no cars - so refreshing not to hear engines all the time.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies