9 independent reviews for Cuba salsa dance holiday

Reviews for Cuba salsa dance holiday

SHOW
5
4
0
0
0

review 25 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Clearly the dancing lessons

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book now

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe so. Although they deserve more.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was perfect. No changes needed. The guides and teachers were really professional

review 2 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everyday was wonderful! But highlights include the dance lessons and nights out, the visit to the local Basillica and just soaking up the daily life in Santiago. The homestay family were also a memorable part of the vacation as they were so kind.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book now! This is truly one of the best vacations I have been on. Be prepared to be very hot and to not worry about things not running exactly to plan as Cuba is a very relaxed place. If you can speak some Spanish that will really help as well but you can get by without.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes absolutely! I was really impressed by how long the operator had been working in Santiago, 20 years. They really look after the dancers and homestay families. The company is definitely part of Santiago life and the dance community there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

100% amazing the service and care from the operator was amazing. I have had the best 2 weeks of dancing with the most amazing professional dancers. I felt very well looked after. I was fortunate to be with a wonderful group of people.

review 14 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The dans and dancers; they were excellent, friendly and accommodating to all levels of proficiency.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate; do it!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, bringing tourism to poor parts of the world helps the local inhabitants: However, it is paramount to meet them with respect and an open mind, fully aware that we are visitors in their country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. I feel fortunate to have met the people I have met in Santiago, lived in their homes, got to know them, learnt to dance. And Kath - remarkable, attending to all queries and concerns and our welbeing both before and during the trip! I would like to do it again, (this in spite of my a principle never to go to the same place twice; too much to see in the world. This trip however could be an exception).

review 13 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The best part of the vacation was the dance lessons. The instructors were great. Very patient and enthusiastic. The dance program again was well put together. The night outs with the dance instructors was great too - helped build confidence around what we had learned during the day.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Helps to have some basic interest in dancing. Carry comfortable clothes and shoes - Santiago de Cuba is very hot and humid. Do carry some gifts along for the dance instructors/guide etc - even items like nail polishes, deodorants, perfumes, cosmetics etc will be much appreciated.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes it did. The of ground support was provided by Paradiso cultural center, a local agency which does much for encouraging music and dance. The dance teachers were again from a large local dance group.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent . Would love to go back for this!

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time on your trip and that you enjoyed the dance lessons in particular. Our local colleagues in Paradiso and the dance instructors have all been part of the team in Santiago de Cuba for many years now and our small group dance vacations are designed to try and bring maximum benefit to the local community in Santiago. We look forward to welcoming you back out there again!

review 7 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Learning to dance with the professional dancers. My wife and I had never danced before and we speak no Spanish so the patience and understanding of the dancers was fantastic! It was hard work in hot temperatures but it was great fun too.We also had a tour of Havana in a 1928 Model A Ford where the owner, Ramon, very kindly let me drive his car, it was a fantastic experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Learn a little Spanish, be prepared for tiring dancing lessons and enjoy the cocktails! A simple way to help people is to take a lot of ball point pens which everyone is happy to accept. Try the independent restaurants but be patient as service can be slow.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We would like to think that spending time and money, especially in Santiago de Cuba was beneficial to the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Exciting, tiring, very enjoyable and glad we went before it gets over commercialised.

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted that you had such a good trip, and that you enjoyed the dance lessons in Santiago de Cuba and that you had your dream drive in Havana too. With regard to how your stay benefitted the local economy, all costs for accommodation, dance lessons, trips and excursions, food and drinks, local transport and our Cuban tour leader and guides are paid in Santiago so you can be totally assured of the positive input into the local economy. Many thanks again for coming to Cuba with us.

review 14 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Oh, there were lots - loved meeting all the other travelers, and our dance teachers, and of course the dancing. I think the female teachers especially had huge patience with us! Exploring Santiago was wonderful - usual I seek out quiet peaceful places, which Santiago IS NOT - but I loved it and will return :-)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and enjoy - pack lots of thin clothes to keep yourself cool - a three hour dance class in temps of 25-30C is challenging! If you want, take lots of pens, pencils, notebooks to give away to the kids, but overall come with an open mind and heart.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hugely supported local people - our teachers were all local professional teachers who gained income directly from our visit; likewise, the homestays.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous - loved Cuba, my first visit, but I will be back, and might even do this trip again - many of the others were return visitors.

review 3 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable for me was the dancing. Dancing the son with Orlando at the Cultural Centre on the night if the fireworks and the high energy, high speed rueda we did during our lessons and on the street during carnaval.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I think you get more from the dance classes if you know some salsa before coming. And more from going out in the evenings.If I hadnt been so concerned about the weight of my luggage I would have brought more toiletries etc to leave behind.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes we certainly benefitted the local people through providing work, and being able to give them some of our toiletries etc. It was a great oportunity for us to meet Cuban people and to have some understanding of their lives and for them to do the same. So there were lots of opportunities for expanding international relations and learning more about each other.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I had an absolutely fantastic time. Our group was so lovely and I am sure we will stay in touch. Our homestay was oerfect. The food exceeded my expectations and our host was perfect.the vacation was very well organised with enough downtime built in. Yaritsa is perfect. Nothing fazed her and she looked after us like a mother! I do hope I will be able to come again next year.

Read the operator's response here:

We are delighted that Sharon enjoyed her trip so much and would agree with all of her comments above. We have tried over the years to ensure that our Cuba dance vacations really do make a positive impact locally by working with local homestay owners, professional dancers and other Cuban based suppliers. Our local tour leader is a wonderful person and is a firm favourite with our clients. Looking forward to Sharon coming out to Santiago de Cuba with us again!

review 4 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The dancing and meeting people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Stay longer. Stay in a private house. The people are great and the food is better.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It benefited the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best ever.

review 8 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The dancing experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring comfortable dance shoes and donít expect much sleep.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes because with stay with the locals and not in a hotel.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic experience!!!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies