8 independent reviews for Honeymoon in Borneo

Reviews for Honeymoon in Borneo

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 26 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the amazing wildlife Borneo has to offer so closely. Knowledgeable guides giving a really personal service and getting to know what we wanted to see the most. Great quality accommodation

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of quick dry clothes to wear for the trekking in Darrum Valley

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Taking part in the tree planting project and having lunch at one of the riverside villages. All the accommodation stayed in had some eco credentials.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic - best vacation we have ever been on!

review 9 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Trekking in the Danum Valley was a definite highlight - from sitting on our sundeck listening to the hornbill calls to walking the canopy walkway in the dawn mist before breakfast and climbing to the highest viewpoint before returning for a fabulous buffet lunch. We saw so many things - orangutans, monkeys, spiders, snakes - a proper jungle experience (including the leeches!)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You won't regret it! The Malaysian people are extremely friendly and have a genuine desire to make sure you enjoy your stay to the max. We wanted adventure, a spot of luxury and a honeymoon to remember and we certainly got it! A great balance of R & R, action, adventure, culture, wildlife and some more R & R.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

My husband and I were looking for a vacation which would enable us to see a different culture, as well as wildlife in its natural habitat without feeling like we were part of a massive touring group. We certainly felt that this was achieved and at no point did we feel that we were "patronising the local community".

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10. Saving up for the next trip!

review 14 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Abai Jungle lodge - so remote and romantic, plus tons of wildlife. It felt like the first time you visited a zoo.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Appreciate how much waiting time is involved in traveling around to different places - lots of flights means lots of waiting times and early mornings. Make sure your book is in your hand luggage!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

To some extent. Obviously our presence helped sustain jobs, and tree planting raised our awareness of the deforestation issue (although this is only lip service to tree planting - you plant within 50 yards of where they are grown, and the trees are subsequently replanted somewhere else within the week).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good balance of activities, busy but also quite relaxing. Would do again.

review 10 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole vacation was amazing! We knew it would be really good, but it exceeded our hopes entirely! Seeing the magnificent wildlife in their natural environment was no doubt the highlight of our vacation - orang utans, proboscis monkeys & other species of monkeys, Bornean gibbons, pygmy elephants, a wonderful variety of birds, monitor lizards, pit-vipers, flying squirrels, crocodiles, bearded pigs, insects & many more! Also, we enjoyed learning about the rehabilitation of the orang utans & it was so nice to see that it was not a zoo environment that the young orang utans were in. The nature & jungle treks were fascinating too. Swimming in the natural jacuzzi was brilliant with even a free pedicure from the fish! The Malaysian people were so welcoming & kind, we particularly enjoyed the experience of visiting a local village - their food was the best food that we had throughout the whole vacation. The last part of our honeymoon was totally amazing, we relaxed at The Shangri-La Rasa Ria resort and had a fantastic time taking in the views and the beach. Scuba diving was breathtaking!! The coral reefs were magical! The weather was also brilliant, lovely & warm. We enjoyed it all and would definitely go back!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of waterproof & breathable clothing, it gets extremely hot & sweaty and the rain pours down at times. Personally we wouldn't stay at the Sepilok Jungle Resort again, it wasn't as nice as our other accommodations. It needed a bit of a clean and there were ants & other bugs all over the bed. After we had arrived in Borneo, we were told by quite a few travelers that they were visiting a turtle island where you could observe & help with releasing young turtles - we were quite disappointed by this as we had not been told by our tour operators and really would have liked to have visited here.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we were part of a tree planting project that was ongoing and we had already paid for it before hand. We visited the Abai village when we stayed at the Abai jungle lodge & met some of the villagers, saw the school, were cooked lunch by the villagers which was really lovely. Included in the price of our vacation also was the opportunity to adopt a young orang utan that is/was being rehabilitated. In our lodges there was the option of having air-conditioning that you could pay for (although we had ceiling fans anyway), but the lodge staff explained that it was optional as it did have an effect on the environment, so we didn't opt for it. The locals seemed to care very much for their environment & surroundings and the native wildlife which was great to see & experience. Recycling was a big thing there too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I'd give this vacation a 10 out of 10 and would definitely go again. I can't give it 5 stars as I have been very fortunate to go on many similar wildlife watching vacations including South Africa, Uganda & India and they were all great! But Borneo is an amazing place and I would like to return again in a few years. It's been on my list of places to visit but somehow I never thought I'd be lucky enough to get to go, but I did!!

review 4 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The many fantastic wildlife opportunities and varied ways of seeing them from the turtles laying eggs on Selingan Island, to dawn and dusk river cruises on the Kinabatangan river. At Tabin exciting safari drives were undertaken including night drives and with the guides sharp eyes animals were sure to be spotted! The highlight was returning from Danum Valley to see a male Orangutan next to the road eating fruit on a tree, relaxed in our presence and was a truly memorable sighting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to live out of a suitcase, be prepared for the insects and be prepared for early and late activities- the jungle is not a place for those adverse to multiple activities in one day. At Tabin there were 4 activities a day, great for viewing wildlife and seeing the jungle but you definitely need some stamina!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We did not come across many local people and it felt like it was, a wildlife viewing and jungle experience. It was clear at all the locations conservation whilst minimising environmental impact is undertaken.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Once in a lifetime experience to see all of the famous sights in Borneo- we managed to cram them all in whilst other travelers just undertook some of the activities we managed in the timescale. Fantastic to see such diverse birds and wildlife in their natural surroundings and most of all great fun and really felt like a true value for money experience.

review 20 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The four days spent on the Borneo adventure tour. We saw some amazing wildlife thanks to our fantastic guide, George, who was very knowledgeable and made sure we saw as much as possible.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take all your bags on the four day Borneo adventure tour. After being advised this by our airport driver, we left half our luggage at the Tajung Ari resort and they shipped it on to the Rasa Ria resort so it was waiting for us when we got there. There is a lot of getting on and off small boats on the tour and having only one bag between us made it much easier.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we witnessed this first hand with the tree planting day at the Abai Village. This provides an income for local people as well as supporting the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was fantastic. If I were doing it again, I think I would choose to take a couple more days on the jungle tour and maybe a bit less time at the hotel resort. But other than that it was perfect.

review 25 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many, but perhaps the large adult male Orangutan climbing on to the viewing platform at Sepilok, sending people in all directions as the officials tried to clear the path for him.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Danum Valley is a high point (and is the most luxurious of the lodges) so I would definitely recommend staying here a couple of nights. Abai Lodge is also good and probably the best place to see the elephants. Kinabatangan is good for going down small streams on a boat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, it definitely had an ecotourism vibe, mainly focussed on nature, though we did also plant some trees and eat at a local village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was our honeymoon and we did 8 days of jungle/trekking/nature and then a week of relaxing near Kota Kinabalu and this worked out really well. The quality of service we received throughout our vacation was outstanding.

review 8 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing green turtles laying eggs in the wild, seeing orang-utans and other wildlife like proboscis monkeys, salt water crocodiles, red lipped monkeys, and a whole host of birds. Definitely climbing Mount Kinabulu - the views were spectacular and the sense of achievement brilliant! (We summited in one day). The birds nest caves were fascinating and the fact that we did a fair bit of traveling around meant we got to see different areas of Borneo and met a variety of people. Beach time at the Rasa Ria at the end was great as the rooms were spectacular and the rest was needed and deserved by then!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't try to pack too much in - we were very tired after moving around so much and being up at 6 each morning but it was worth it! But definitely have some rest time at the end as you might need it. If you summit Kinabulu, summit in one day if at all possible. We were able to as we started early and climbed quickly. It was a clear afternoon and we got the whole mountain to ourselves for some spectacular views. Beware of the sand flies on the beach! Take a good book and be prepared to be patient while waiting for the turtles to hatch etc. Learn a few local words and interact with the Malay people - they are friendly and welcoming. Have a lovers bath at the Rasa Ria on your balcony. If you stay at Sepilok, walk 20 minutes down the road to the rainforest centre - it's a great chance to wonder around the rain forest and also walk up in the canopy - look out for flying squirrels! And if you visit the birds nest caves, avoid wearing flip flops!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I was impressed by the efforts taken by the conservation projects to minimise the tourism impact on the wildlife and pleased that we made the choice to go with the local companies. For example, I was pleased to see that we were only allowed to see one turtle, and only once she had begun laying. We were also not allowed to use flash photography and had to leave once she had finished to not disturb. The local guides were very knowledgeable and helpful about the wildlife and local areas. The local agents were excellent - well prepared, on time, friendly and knowledgeable and made the whole experience very smooth and stress-free.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have gone any better. The local operators were excellent and we were pleased with the efforts towards conservation. The local pick-ups made everything very smooth. There was a lot of traveling involved (and lots of 6am starts) which meant that we were tired quite a lot but we also tried to cram a lot in to 2 weeks. Ending at the Rasa Ria was brilliant and the hotel, its staff and their service are exemplary.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies