5 independent reviews for Gran Canaria walking tours, Canary Islands

Reviews for Gran Canaria walking tours, Canary Islands

SHOW
3
1
0
1
0

review 19 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great walks, great company

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure that youre fit for the described vacation. The vacation was exactly as described. Most had been on many vacations previously with this operator and all said that this was the first one when everyone was able to do the walks. They said that often people 'thought' they'd like to, but weren't able to, so held everyone up.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The guide, Weronika, was amazing. She sorted EVERYTHING. She engaged with the locals and efficiently sorted anything that needed sorting, and usually before we had time to ask.

review 6 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Fantastic walks in the sunshine with a small group of like-minded people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I was a bit anxious before the trip as I had never travelled solo before, but it turned out to be a great experience. The group of nine was a good mix of solo and couple travelers; all very friendly. Lunches and evening meals weren't included, but the optional meals organised by the guide were good value: allow less than 5 euros for picnic lunches and 15 euros for three course evening meals. We used public transport where possible; this was generally good but one bus driver was much too fast on hairpin bends and some of the group were travel sick.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local buses and stayed in small hotels. Optional meals were organised in good local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 24 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Good company, good scenery, great weather.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't expect what's on the brochure online. The Guayadeque canyon experience with fabulous rock formations per grand canyon just didn't happen. Instead we had a "lunch break" for two hours in a cave. The museum "interpretation center" in the canyon that was promised was shut ... surely that was easy to know in advance? Taking a bus up the canyon to a point where the walk would work time wise would have been so easy and would have allowed us to be in the more interesting scenery. The "easy" option we experienced may suit some, but if it's a feature on the web that sets expectation, this was sadly let down. If you post pictures of what will be seen -- then surely the features should be seen.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No, other than tourist money inbound -- bus, restaurants, bars. Conservation support was non-existent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Iffy, not as advertised. Food not great. Although the group meal ideal is good, the "set menu" approach as an extra cost was a rip off and annoying. We should have adopted a "solo" approach from the start to avoid indifferent and too abundent food. We did later adopt this solo approach. However the hotels provided good accommodation and excellent breakfasts. Both hotels were really good. Overall dissappointed and surprised by the lack of thought. We will not be coming back to this operator.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to see that the Guayadeque canyon experience was not as you expected. I appreciate both the walk up and down was in poor weather and accounted for the long stay in the cave – as it was dry and warm with a café on site. It’s also a shame the interpretation center was closed. This was an unexpected closure, on the day, due to a maintenance issue – as per the notice on the door. We use public busses and being a walking trip we do keep our impact on the local environment to a minimum but we don’t have any conservation projects currently ongoing in the area or mention that we will be partaking in any within the itinerary. This trip only has included breakfasts, as such the meal choices are your own. The guide will always suggest options and groups tend to like buffets at the beginning of a trip. This way everyone has a choice at one location and the group can have a social evening while ensuring every palate is catered to. I was pleased to see you had great company and enjoyed the scenery.

review 3 Dec 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The varied walking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Walking reasonably strenuous so need to be used to steep ups and downs. Few places take cards, so go with plenty of cash (there are ATMs).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Made good use of local buses, and places chosen to eat out were run by local people with locally sourced food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. We really enjoyed the scenery on this lovely island. Bert, the leader was excellent in his flexibility. Weather conditions meant it was not possible to get to the summit peak on the allotted day, but he chose a lovely alternative walk. Hotels were adequate. We liked the one in Aguimes, lots of atmosphere but the rooms were very poorly lit so it was difficult to read.

review 25 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The hiking was fantastic in Gran Canaria. The group was ideal in that we all seemed to be similar abilities and ages and there was no fear of feeling left behind. The guide was very enthusiastic and encouraging. Always felt very confident in the routes.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The walking was quite challenging and should be entertained by walkers who are relatively fit and experienced only. The listing as moderate is fair and should be continued.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We stayed in a small town 1.5 hours from the airport in a locally run hotel. There were few restaurants in the town and my impression was the group provided very welcome business to the town. The food appeared to be very fresh and locally produced. As a group we made little environmental impact as simply spent the days walking mostly using public transport.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I thought the vacation was excellent as the members of the group got on exceptionally well with the ages and abilities very well matched. As far as walking, fresh air, scenery and local food was concerned I would only recommend. However, if one were looking for varied, gourmet food with a vibrant night life the town would not provide it. This to me was an advantage but if evening socialising was sought you might be disappointed. From my point of view it was ideal.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies