23 independent reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling vacation, Spain

Reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling vacation, Spain

SHOW
3
18
2
0
0

review 19 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling with our friends.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave your expectations at home.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I will rate it ok.

review 22 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved the fact that this worked so well for my husband and I - he's a serious recreational cyclist and I'm an avid cyclist but more casual in my approach. We're '50 something's' and found this all very enjoyable. Varied terrain, lots of farm animals and birds, medieval villages, cathedrals, the Brava Coast, differing crops, the Pyrennes. It's all quite something!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry too much about stuff that could happen! It's all quite safe and very enjoyable really. Take rain gear - booties and helmet cover even as they don't take up much space and will keep you comfortable if it showers. Be in reasonable shape. It says it's easy, and it is if you're able to manage differing terrains and keep at a good pace so you can stop and enjoy the sights and still have time to relax back at the lovely accommodation. We took our own bike seats and were glad to have them. Maybe the seats on the bikes provided are good but we didn't take a chance on that.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Stayed at places that used local foods and services. Took trains to and from Figueres and Girona, and rode everywhere all week. We actually felt sorry for tourist using cars as we figured they could only see and experience a fraction of what we were seeing and experiencing on our own steam and up close on double and single tracks/trails and farm roads. This is the way we increasingly like to see new places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb! Both accommodations were comfortable, the breakfasts were great and we actually enjoyed 5 out of the 7 dinners in the dining room of our hosts.

review 1 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

What a fantastic vacation! Cycling each day down a new route, through vineyards, small hamlets, to the beach! A vacation quite different to anything we had both been on before. The freedom to explore and see such beautiful scenery made this vacation unforgettable. We travelled in late June so the weather was also lovely!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget to bring your camera! With all the beautiful scenery and wildlife you won't want to miss an opportunity. Take lots of food and water. You can be cycling for quite some time before coming across any shops, so take a blanket and find somewhere comfortable to stop and have a picnic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

How a vacation should be - the chance to experience the local culture, buy local produce and explore the landscape

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, really relaxing and wouldn't have had this experience booking by ourselves.

review 22 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The quality of the first hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you can cycle off road on very rough ground.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was well organised.

review 16 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We took a self-guided bike tour through the Empordá region of Spain through Catalan Adventures. There were many memorable moments: views of the Mediterranean from the Cap de Creus Park, hike to San Pere de Rodes, amazing Greek and Roman ruins, Castle at Perelada, delicious food at every turn, nifty Romanesque churches at seemingly every cross-road….I could go on. We also loved the back roads which gave us insights into the local farm economy, irrigation practices, and took us through so many interesting small towns.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This trip is very well-designed and gets to many wonderful places you will not want to skip. That said, if you can add a bit more to your daily rides on one or two days, it is well-worth it to take a day to hike up to the Monastery at San Pere de Rodes and on into Cap de Creus park (if you have the legs for it). The views are stunning and the hike isn't particularly hard. Having your own GPS with maps could be handy if you decide to venture off the (careful and excellent) instruction. We got lost several times when we decided to wing it, but always had a great time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip seemed quite embedded in the local economy as both of the lodgings were small and locally-owned, and both procured food, wine, etc from local cooperatives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Loved it! It was the perfect 25th wedding trip.

review 25 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The small town of Palau Saverdera was beautiful and perfectly quiet. It was a few kilometers from the ocean and a great step off point for all of the daily rides.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring your appetites, the food is absolutely amazing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Pretty much every purchase was local, so we definitely felt that we contributed economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10, it was a great experience, exactly what I was looking for.

review 30 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The contrasting spectacular scenery and cycling through the Aiguamolls National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go ahead and book, you will not be disappointed. Stay and extra day in the beautiful City of Girona

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, staying in places which were not on the usual tourist route sand shopping locally had to add some benefit to the local community. Cycling has to be have a greater impact on the environment than traveling by car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, far exceeded our expectations. Has to be one of our best vacations

review 27 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Other than being surprised by the roadside hookers, which give a whole new perspective to bicycle trips, we enjoyed the countryside and accomodations, the wildlife and the nature park, the Greek and Roman ruins, and sitting by the coast sipping beers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We didn't have time to take a longer trip so it was great to be able to specify just the kind of trip we wanted, so don't hesitate to modify the trips to fit your schedule. Plan on visiting Figueres when the Dali museum is open, as we did not.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We enjoyed the local flavor of the hotels and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exactly what we were looking for to complement our other travels in Spain. Everything worked out well: equipment, directions, and lodging.

review 26 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The views were breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure to bring enough snacks for each day's trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was great to contribute to local economies and travel in an environmentally-friendly way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great trip. It's so nice to be outside doing active things and get away from the typical tourist activities. Steve was very helpful throughout the experience.

review 7 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling through sun dappled feilds and watching the mountains in the distance capped with freshly fallen snow.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it! Brilliant.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We certainly say more of the country, and interacted with locals more than we would if we had traveled by car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Splendid. An unforgettable experience.

review 18 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The accommodation provided at both locations was wonderful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We really enjoyed our week and visited some beautiful locations on our bikes. The crew were very friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate in recommending them. The accommodation was excellent and again we were given a very warm welcome.

review 8 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling down to the Mediterranean on the 4th day of cycling the views were fantastic and the tracks and roads were great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of sun cream but be prepared for some unexpected weather (especially the wind).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As with all cycling vacations it must be beneficial to the environment rather than using a car. Because we stayed in smaller villages it must help the local economy in some small way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent! Great information given about all routes. Great accommodation helpfull but not pushy.

review 5 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going downhill on some of the bumpier tracks was great, it was very exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Most of the important information was already outlined for us by a very helpful instructor/guide so all you really need is the ability to read a simple map, follow directions and obviously ride a bike.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think because of the bikes we used cars very little, cutting down on CO2 emissions.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Probably a 9 out of 10. It was brilliant overall and possibly the only improvement could have been if their was a little more hilly areas. However, the lack of hills made it much easier so this is quite specific to me as I love going really fast down hills.

review 7 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The Roman ruins were a highlight for us.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book an extra day to visit Girona.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it definitely benefited local people - we visited and stayed in places we might not otherwise have found.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had an excellent break. We were pretty unlucky with the weather but Steve kept in contact and suggested alternative activities when cycling was rained off. This meant we spent a day in Girona, which was well worth a visit - a beautiful city. The second hotel in San Pere Pescador was fully booked on our dates so we stayed at alternative accommodation down the road. The owner was really friendly and helpful throughout our stay and it was only a 10 minute walk from the beach. Enjoyed the Catalonian way of life and experienced some wonderful food, drink, cycling and sightseeing during our stay. We would thoroughly recommend to others.

review 15 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Just cycling around the villages was a great way to see them and experience some of Catalonian life. There wasn't one bit that stood out but thoroughly enjoyable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it. The bikes were very good for road and track use. Don't bother about a rucksack for cycling with. The panniers are more than adequate and just take out your camera and waterproof when you lock the bikes up anywhere.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, benefited the small village cafes and restaurants and took us to places we would never otherwise have gone to. It also reduced the impact of car hire for sightseeing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic, with the small reservation that the second accommodation wasn't quite up to scratch.

review 15 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Approaching San Pere Pescador, tired and a little sore it has to be said, we emerged from the campsite situated on the beach front. Having meandered, oblivious to the outside world, through the beautiful and quiet National Park we were met by a sudden unexpected fantastic spectacle of colour and activity. It reminded me of the endless challenge and excitement of when sport and nature coincide. The sky was bustling with dozens of bright and multicoloured surfer's kites stretched out over hundred of metres surrounded by the tranquil hue of the blue sea and sky. The waves were alive with dots of athletes pitting their strength, skill and wits against the wind and water. I could have stayed for hours watching the kite surfers - it was mesmerising. That picture juxtaposed against the serenity of the natural beauty of the surrounding environment is my most memorable moment from the vacation. Loved it! My traveling companion got most excited at discovering the local co-operative at Palau Salvadere from which you could buy really good quality wine products at excellent prices in amounts of your choosing. AND very environmentally friendly you could refill your "jug" from the barrel! The co-operative was a real winner :)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You really don't need to worry about anything while cycling other than the most basic human requirements of food, water, rest and relieving yourself - everything else is sorted. But do bring a snack and water with you because facilities can be far apart. You might like to dine in the accommodation at least one of the nights, the food was very good and you might be lucky enough to enjoy a bit of banter with another like-minded vacation maker or share an appreciation of a super bottle of local wine.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the places we stayed were owned and run by local people. We ate and drank local produce and visited local attractions. We cycled so that had minimal impact on the environment. And we were most impressed with being able to re-use our plastic jugs to refill with wine from the barrel at the co-operative! And it was local wine and really good :)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We really enjoyed it. We felt refreshed and healthier at the end of it.

review 2 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling along quiet, country roads in the sunshine then arriving at a beautiful, old village with an enormous church - and a cafe opposite to sit and sip a cold drink.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The operators info was so comprehensive, I can't think of anything that needs adding.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, because we stayed in locally owned hotels and ate out in local restaurants + cycling has minimal impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great. The area was beautiful for cycling, the accommodation was first class and the operator very well organised. We had not done this kind of vacation before and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

review 19 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling through vineyards and flopping into the Mediterranen to cool off from the 35 degree heat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate - the cycling is very manageable. You get to see and do things on a bike that you will never do in a car or bus.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We spent money in small villages that do not normally get the tourist pounds. We stayed in small family run hotels, not big chains.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback Stuart, we work really hard to make sure everyone has a great time and good review makes all that hard work worthwhile. I wanted to make one quick comment regarding the temperature though. Stuart was absolutely right, during their vacation in the middle of September the temperature crept up to 35 degrees during the hottest part of the day, however this is very unusual, normally the average maximum temperature in September is around 25 degrees. Again, thanks for the feedback Stuart and good luck with your next adventure! Regards Steve

review 19 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting places on the bike that you would not normally see if you visited by car.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Excellent vacation for seeing the real Spain.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes staying ib a local family run accommodation that also provided an evening meal if required benefited the local community and the accommodation was friendly and welcoming.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The non stop enjoyment of cycling through the countryside and the laughter shared with my daughter!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It does get very hot during the day so head off early.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely. The hotels we stayed in sourced everything locally and of course we were traveling by bike.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent Steve and his wife Maria of the operator were very attentive to detail and so prompt to answer any queries.....and they were lovely friendly people.

review 9 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This tour gave us the opportunity to see some beautiful villages and countryside of Catalonia while cycling on trails. It felt like it was our world!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't hesitate. Everything was organised to perfection. Steve and Maria were wonderful - courteous and helpful in every way. Maps, photos, and GPS made the self -guided cycling really easy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Local B&B accommodations gave us the opportunity to be part of the community during our trip. Hopefully this contributed to their economy in a small way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It exceeded our expectations. Would recommend it to those who like to cycle trails, and be independent.

review 6 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 4th day of cycling takes you through the wetland reserve of Aigumoles, where you actually have to walk for about 20 min (welcome rest for sore bum!). Wildlife is gobsmacking, including huge number of nesting storks/cranes. We were there in July but apparently spring& autumn when migratory birds are passing through is something else. Generally though the places you pass through are charming and the landscape and very diverse agriculture going on round about are really interesting. As 80% of the cycling is off-road on farm tracks and the like, it's really quiet with minimal traffic. On the rest day, it's easy to get to Figueres and the Dali museum (go early to avoid the crowds).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it! My other half doesn't cycle routinely and she was fine (we're both late fifties and averagely fit). If your legs get tired you can always walk for a bit and in any case you'll want to stop, look & take photos quite a bit. The support by Steve & Maria of the vacation operator is superb; bikes are high quality and instructions/directions very comprehensive and easy to follow - backed up with bike computers and bike-sat nav.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The vacation brings lots to the local economy by patronising excellent small hotels and local businesses. It's also very green and low impact as you are powering yourself around.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb - if there was a 4.5* score I'd give it. If you want an interesting vacation with some activity then this is for you. As well as this, the surroundings, food and wine are just great. We'll probably go back again as there's lot of other things to do as well as cycling.

review 1 Jul 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The lovely scenery & tranquillity of the cycling off-road. It was our first cycling vacation & based on this experience we will certainly be having another cycling vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax & enjoy. The bikes are excellent and the cycling is not hard and you can take all day if you want. Steve was extremely helpful & should there be a mishap I'm sure he would be there in a thrice!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Whilst the cycling is not far from major resorts essentially it is based around the local villages & the two hotels both of which clearly support the local suppliers.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent week’s vacation which was extremely well balanced & organised with some lovely food as well!!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy