9 independent reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling vacation, Spain

Reviews for Catalonia self guided cycling vacation, Spain

SHOW
3
4
2
0
0

review 19 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling with our friends.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave your expectations at home.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I will rate it ok.

review 22 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved the fact that this worked so well for my husband and I - he's a serious recreational cyclist and I'm an avid cyclist but more casual in my approach. We're '50 something's' and found this all very enjoyable. Varied terrain, lots of farm animals and birds, medieval villages, cathedrals, the Brava Coast, differing crops, the Pyrennes. It's all quite something!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry too much about stuff that could happen! It's all quite safe and very enjoyable really. Take rain gear - booties and helmet cover even as they don't take up much space and will keep you comfortable if it showers. Be in reasonable shape. It says it's easy, and it is if you're able to manage differing terrains and keep at a good pace so you can stop and enjoy the sights and still have time to relax back at the lovely accommodation. We took our own bike seats and were glad to have them. Maybe the seats on the bikes provided are good but we didn't take a chance on that.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Stayed at places that used local foods and services. Took trains to and from Figueres and Girona, and rode everywhere all week. We actually felt sorry for tourist using cars as we figured they could only see and experience a fraction of what we were seeing and experiencing on our own steam and up close on double and single tracks/trails and farm roads. This is the way we increasingly like to see new places.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb! Both accommodations were comfortable, the breakfasts were great and we actually enjoyed 5 out of the 7 dinners in the dining room of our hosts.

review 1 Jan 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

What a fantastic vacation! Cycling each day down a new route, through vineyards, small hamlets, to the beach! A vacation quite different to anything we had both been on before. The freedom to explore and see such beautiful scenery made this vacation unforgettable. We travelled in late June so the weather was also lovely!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget to bring your camera! With all the beautiful scenery and wildlife you won't want to miss an opportunity. Take lots of food and water. You can be cycling for quite some time before coming across any shops, so take a blanket and find somewhere comfortable to stop and have a picnic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

How a vacation should be - the chance to experience the local culture, buy local produce and explore the landscape

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, really relaxing and wouldn't have had this experience booking by ourselves.

review 22 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The quality of the first hotel.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you can cycle off road on very rough ground.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was well organised.

review 16 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We took a self-guided bike tour through the Empordá region of Spain through Catalan Adventures. There were many memorable moments: views of the Mediterranean from the Cap de Creus Park, hike to San Pere de Rodes, amazing Greek and Roman ruins, Castle at Perelada, delicious food at every turn, nifty Romanesque churches at seemingly every cross-road….I could go on. We also loved the back roads which gave us insights into the local farm economy, irrigation practices, and took us through so many interesting small towns.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This trip is very well-designed and gets to many wonderful places you will not want to skip. That said, if you can add a bit more to your daily rides on one or two days, it is well-worth it to take a day to hike up to the Monastery at San Pere de Rodes and on into Cap de Creus park (if you have the legs for it). The views are stunning and the hike isn't particularly hard. Having your own GPS with maps could be handy if you decide to venture off the (careful and excellent) instruction. We got lost several times when we decided to wing it, but always had a great time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The trip seemed quite embedded in the local economy as both of the lodgings were small and locally-owned, and both procured food, wine, etc from local cooperatives.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Loved it! It was the perfect 25th wedding trip.

review 25 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The small town of Palau Saverdera was beautiful and perfectly quiet. It was a few kilometers from the ocean and a great step off point for all of the daily rides.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring your appetites, the food is absolutely amazing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Pretty much every purchase was local, so we definitely felt that we contributed economically.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10, it was a great experience, exactly what I was looking for.

review 30 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The contrasting spectacular scenery and cycling through the Aiguamolls National Park.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go ahead and book, you will not be disappointed. Stay and extra day in the beautiful City of Girona

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, staying in places which were not on the usual tourist route sand shopping locally had to add some benefit to the local community. Cycling has to be have a greater impact on the environment than traveling by car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, far exceeded our expectations. Has to be one of our best vacations

review 27 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Other than being surprised by the roadside hookers, which give a whole new perspective to bicycle trips, we enjoyed the countryside and accomodations, the wildlife and the nature park, the Greek and Roman ruins, and sitting by the coast sipping beers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We didn't have time to take a longer trip so it was great to be able to specify just the kind of trip we wanted, so don't hesitate to modify the trips to fit your schedule. Plan on visiting Figueres when the Dali museum is open, as we did not.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We enjoyed the local flavor of the hotels and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exactly what we were looking for to complement our other travels in Spain. Everything worked out well: equipment, directions, and lodging.

review 26 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The views were breathtaking.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure to bring enough snacks for each day's trip.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, it was great to contribute to local economies and travel in an environmentally-friendly way.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great trip. It's so nice to be outside doing active things and get away from the typical tourist activities. Steve was very helpful throughout the experience.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy