21 independent reviews for Himalayan tours to Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal

Reviews for Himalayan tours to Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal

SHOW
10
9
1
0
1

review 4 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was absolutely amazing, beautiful sites to see, lovely people..the tour operator was very helpful and treated us very well.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I was bit concern to book vacation through the agency which is not based in the UK-.but was very reassured that the operator is partner of the Responsible Travel and ABTA protected. The operator organises very good tours but much cheaper than the other agencies

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, definitely -Nepal need tourist to help jobs and rebuild and restore damaged buildings after earthquake

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

EXCELLENT

review 1 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We really enjoyed all of the vacation. However, the most memorable part of the trip for us was the trek up to the Tiger's Nest.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go ahead and book your trip. The operator is a very well organised and experienced company.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation benefited local people in all three countries, for example, we have bought local handicrafts and the tour provides employment for local guides, drivers and hotel staff. All tours included visits to conservation sites, which are supported by our visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. We were well looked after by Achut, who went to great lengths to make sure we had an excellent vacation. He was there to meet us at every stage of the tour and in constant contact. All local guides were very informative and experienced and were good English speakers. All hotels used are of a high standard.

review 20 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walk to tigers nest in Bhutan, a 90 min twin seater plane over Annapurna base camp in Pokhara Nepal, and the monks debate in Tibet.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Fly from Katmandou to Pokhara rather than 7 hours car ride w uninteresting countryside. In Lhassa, try and organise a trip to a lake as apparently they are beautiful ( tho not close) and it makes a break from temples, palaces and monestaries. Also in Bhutan ( thympoo) try and see an archery practice or compétition. Fun and interesting.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure but we certainly didn’t do anything that did not benefit locals or the environment!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was great. Had a fabulous time. Achut and his team were great, very attentive to our needs, very flexible, the program was full but not overloaded so we had time to ourselves to relax and hang out as well. He organised a full day trip in and around Katmandu which wasn’t on the original program and was really interesting and fun. Good guides and drivers in all countries. Can’t say enough positive things. And all our hotels were very good.

review 12 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sunrise in Phobjikha Valley.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There's no any tip: just, if you have the opportunity to travel to Bhutan, don't hesitate.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10. Wonderful. Bhutan is a place to know it.

review 22 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing to the top of the tiger's nest was really amazing, but honestly the whole trip was such an eye opener! I don't think I have experienced anything quite like it before!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with the flow. Achut and KK have things under control. I think that I am a very planned and organized traveler and I like to know all details ahead. Unfortunately with the dynamics of the region (for example, China may close access to Tibet at any time or close the airport or Bhutan's weather may not allow flights in that day), many things must be booked only a day or two ahead. This frightened me at first, because I thought that perhaps things weren't really booked, however the trip turned out to be wonderful.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I definitely think that my trip benefited local people. These areas are somewhat depressed and local tourism boosts the economy a lot. Since I am younger, I felt that a lot of the guides and other people who were similar in age to me could relate to me as well and ask me questions about American culture. I thought that was fun to exchange ideas on that level. Environmentally, I'm not sure how we helped other than to say that if these areas have more money from tourism, they are likely to keep the area a bit nicer/cleaner and have more money to avoid doing jobs that destroy the environment (e.g. logging).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was wonderful! I can't say I'd do it again because it was exhausting, but I would never take it back! I definitely say do it at least once! It was a wonderful experience and Achut was so helpful when I needed it!

review 21 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing sights such as Tigers Nest, the Potala Palace, and flights over Mount Everest. Visiting Tibet was a highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it! It's a busy itinerary, but an amazing trip. We were superbly looked after by our tour operator. Couldn't really fault it. Be prepared for a lot of traveling, but there again, you're visiting 3 countries in 16 days so that's unavoidable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local services and restaurants always.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the greatest trips we've been on! Amazing sights, and a true learning experience.

review 13 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was absolutely fantastic and very well organised. Some of my favourites were just about the whole of Bhutan, the sunrise from Sarangkot, Pokhara and lake Yamdrok in Tibet.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The only tip I have is to understand the likely weather/temperatures better - for some reason, I expected it to be colder because of higher altitudes and came with a lot of 'cold weather' clothes and therefore over-packed.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I certainly believe that it benefited local people - I asked a few of my guides/drivers and they all seem to like tourists and the income they generate. I'm unsure about the environmental impact - I'm a considerate traveler, so I'd like to think I haven't had any negative impact on anyone or anything.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

review 23 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This is hard as there were so many really memorable moments, but perhaps the most memorable day as the trek to The Tiger's Nest in Bhutan. The trek was tough, for me at least, but really enjoyable. Once we reached the Tiger's Nest the pain melted away and was replaced by equal measures of awe and exhilaration. It truly is wonderful! The way down is much easier!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't even hesitate for a moment just do it, you won't regret it. Our tour operator organised everything and they organise it extraordinarily well. The guides and drivers in each of the countries are fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was truly wonderful. We have the most treasured memories that will stay with us for the rest of our days. Not only that but the trip was was really great value, considering everything we got to see and do. We are looking forward to going back and spending more time there.

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was fascinating to see all the different temples and hear the histories and about the religions of the three countries. Everyone we met was very friendly. Nepal is the easiest to get about with so many travelers there. It was more chaotic but we loved the energy of the place. Its also easy to find plenty of decent restaurants and to get away from crowded streets if you want to. The mountains are stunning and we definitely want to go back. Bhutan was fascinating and the country I knew the least about before hand. The scenery is lovely but the last hotel was probably a bit far out for less benefit (given the roads aren't brilliant in this part of Bhutan). Be warned, the food has lots of chills! Tibet was great to see but obviously such a shame how much damage has been done since the occupation by the Chinese. Thankfully there is more Tibetan culture to see than there was 15 years ago, but having spoken to other people, I'd recommend a longer trip to get out of Lhasa and Shigatse if you want to see more of the traditional Tibetan culture. It was perfect to have a few days at the end of the trip to go to Pokahra and have a few relaxing days.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I'd recommend reading as much as possible about the countries before going to have some of the background to their history - particularly Tibet and the details of the country prior to 1950. Having a bit more background from people who have been to these countries before helps you to see more, ask more questions etc and get the most of out of being there.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the guides were local people and therefore knew the areas and the history well. It was much better than foreign guides. KK was very friendly and Achut was always around to make sure we had everything we needed/could ask questions about any part of the trip. He helped us find local shops and medicines when we weren't well. He was also quick to answer any questions before the trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, we really enjoyed it and definitely want to go back to spend longer in each country and spend some time trekking. I'd highly recommend this trip as a great introduction to the three countries and good inspiration for the next trips we want to book!

review 1 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bhutan; Tigers Nest and Tango Monastery

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

go to Bhutan and skip Nepal

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes in Bhutan and no in Nepal

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

100% in Bhutan and 50% in Nepal

review 21 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bhutan was amazing, everything about the trip, people, guide, driver, food, information, weather... it really is the happiest place in the world. Tibet was an eye opener into the whole situation, I'm glad I got to see it before China destroys it forever. Our guide was lovely and we only wanted to take her with us when we left. Nepal was great but definitely came in last. Our driver was great, decent English and good fun, the guides around Kathmandu were good, however the guide to Pokhara let the side down. So much so that we flew back to Kathmandu rather than sit in a car for the return journey. I feel that Manakamana was expensive for what it was, the Bhutan portion was expensive we know that, the Tibet portion was very cheap and what was left over did not reflect what we did in Nepal. Especially the hotel in Kathmandu, this was so bad for so many reasons- safety being the main one, that the girl I was traveling with and I asked to be moved from a shamble of a supposed 4* to a really lovely 3*. Still, I wanted a tour company that sorted all visas (not included in the high price) and a company that took care of all three destinations, which is what I got.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Fly to Pokhara and make sure Bhutan is your last stop.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes 100% in Bhutan, I would have chosen a different itinerary in Tibet to see more of the people and culture and Nepal was good but I would have done a few things differently.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very special destinations and very happy with the trip.

review 18 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed Bhutan most of all although all 3 countries are interesting and very different.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be in good shape. There are lots of stairs and climbing plus there is high altitude. However, I am 71 and was able to handle it well.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It beneffited locals because of our spending on the tours and gifts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was well organized although much less structured than other tours I have taken

review 20 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Tiger Nest and Porala Palace were amazing! The tour guides were fantastic. I get vertigo but with regards to the trek to tiger nest the tour guide was incredibly supported and at certain points held my hand. Truly professional and I aswell as other tourists felt well looked after. What was also memorable - was the poor hotel and service that our tour operator showed in Nepal. Our hotel Vaushali in Kathmandu was dirty and simply dangerous. I got stuck in a power shortage in an elevator and there was no back up generator. The maintenance and engineers had to pry me out. It was horrible and scary. If there was a fire I would be dead. 2 other girls left the hotel and complained as the hotel gave them someone else's room and then gave them one with no lock and then Qmaster key to all rooms. I complained to our tour operator but it is ignored. It's clear they have a relationship with this hotel. I was unhappy so left Nepal and my hotel early. I was not prepared to pay additional for 4 star hotels and our tour operator still tried to push me to the 3 star hotels where everyone else stayed at the cheaper cost. I will not be using our tour operator again or recommending them!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Even if you agree your hotels they will still try and push you to cheaper hotels. I had to be aggressive and argue and then I got the4 star hotels in bhutan and Tibet which we agreed to months before.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were given options to meet local people. Guides were fantastic, respectful and considerate. We travelled in a bus to temples.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

6.5. Bhutan and Tibet were 8. Nepal was disappointing as my hotel experience was bad. And the tour operator did not despite mails and me begging change my hotel.

Read the operator's response here:

We had provided the hotel Vaishali in Kathmandu, Tibet and Bhutan to you as per the correspondence. The last night of Kathmandu, a problem had been occurred at hotel Vaishali due to the power shortage and he stuck somewhere on the way to room due to the load shedding problem. It was about 9.30 pm, after a minutes they were supplying power by generator. Even, it could be happened in the other hotel sometime due to power shortage. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenient due the causes. We do always as per the interest of our clients because of our main aim to provide the best service and making happy to all our clients as far as possible.

review 30 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The trek up to the Tiger's Nest Monastery in Bhutan as well as the flight to Bhutan when we had amazing Mt Everest views

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ask for 2nd or even 3rd night in Pokhara as 1 night isn't enough

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definately as in Bhutan we ate in local run restaurants

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb

review 15 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Whole trip was very nice and all tree countries differ from each other on very unique way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not miss Lumbini, the birthplace of Buddha in Nepal.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, by spending some money people were able to earn a little and also historical sights got income for finacial support.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was 10 out of 1-10.

review 21 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Completing the two and a half hour walk up to the Taktsang Monastery (the Tiger's Nest) in Bhutan gave both of us "OAP's" a wonderful sense of achievement, especially after looking up at the tiny white speck so far above us on the cliff at the start of the trek. Bhutan is a fantastic place to visit, as is Nepal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a very busy vacation, travel wise, so think about planning in an extra day or two (and/or a visit to Chitwan) for a bit more relaxation time. Consider paying for the balance of your vacation before leaving as paying locally with a credit card adds up to 4% to the cost. Take enough dollars with you to pay for your Chinese & Bhutan visas when you arrive. Don't visit Lhasa during Chinese New Year - it's largely closed!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Nepal desperately needs more tourists to help support the local economy. Don't be put off by the recent earthquake - most of the major sights are still well worth visiting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the most interesting and enjoyable vacations we have been on. The vacation providers looked after us really well throughout the vacation - even finding enough fuel for our K'mandu-Chitwan-Pokhara-K'mandu road trip during their fuel strike.

review 30 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Using Responsible Travel seemed like a good idea. I used them to go to the Sudan and had a very good time. Reasonable cost and the itinerary kept to. as opposed to going with their agent for the most expensive trip of a lifetime with rip off vacation provider. From the start, the itinerary said to take a towel, water purifying tablets, thermal long johns, down jackets etc. In Nepal/Bhutan it was thin t shirts as it was so hot and only a light sweater for the mornings and night in Tibet. My suitcase bulged with unnecessary clutter. The itinerary stated 3* tourist hotels. In fact I had 2 good hotels, the others being back packers/trekkers hotels in Nepal and Pilgrims hotel in Tibet. The hotel in Tibet was a joke. 3 1/2 flights of stairs to my room and 8 flights of steps to the cold consevatory on the roof for a lousy breakfast. I was told a small group, but I was on my own. Everywhere in Nepal and Tibet, the entrance fees to temples and monasteries were 10 to 15 US dollars. In total all the fees combined were some 100 US dollars. The vacation provider said to give good tips to the guides and drivers. I believe this was to pay their wages! The only guide with good English was the one in Bhutan. Whilst in Nepal and Tibet, the guides tried to skip the itinerary. When I complained, this was completed at great speed. The usual day being 9.30 to 4.00 Whilst traveling to Bhutan and Tibet from Kathmandu, I wasted 4 days of the vacation mostly in and out of the airports and a few hours in actual flight. From the itinerary, going to Pokhara from Kathmandu. I was told I would have a good English speaking driver/guide with safe driving. He was so safe, he neaver went faster tha 50Km/hr. Every driver overtook him. We spoke less than 10 minutes in 2 days because he could not communicate due to lack of English understanding. I was told the journey would be 6 hours. In fact it was 8 hours 20 minute going and 9 hours 25 minutes return. This added 2 more lost days, making a total of 6 days lost out of a total of 14. Which means an actual 8 day vacation. As for evening entertainment, there was none. I was left on my own.All the time he was clearing his throat and spitting. As far as I am concerned. Responsible Travel have not undertaken due diligence regarding the vacation provider. A word of warning, which was not advised. In going into Bhutan. Don`t take cigarettes or luxury items in otherwise you get charged 200% duty on top of the original price. I took a pack of 200 cigarettes in and it cost 75 US dollars just to have an expensive smoke. I could continue with a litany of grumbles regarding this trip. So if anyone wants more, let me know. If you don`t want to walk around with a pound sign on your forehead, then go with someone else.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with another company for this trip

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not in Nepal or Tibet. Bhutan, because of the costs, it actually helps the people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I have travelled the world for some 50 plus years. If I had known about this trip I would have gone with someone else.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We were sorry to hear you felt time was wasted during your vacation. We had provided you with the full itinerary prior to commencing the tour and the tour operated as per this itinerary. We were surprised that you did waste time on vacation in and out of the airport. It was already mentioned about how many times in the airport during the tour, I hope the itinerary spoke about it. Prior to booking trip, during long correspondence and speaking on telephone it was a guaranteed trip and we have confirmed the tour will be run for a single person without taking additional charges. Weather is going to change globally and it is our beyond control, we advise to bring tour gears according to season because it can be tentative temperature at that time of month. If you did not bring enough gears according to season and feeling cold on tour, it would not be good for you. We always give high priority for safety management. The traveling from Kathmandu to Pokahra with a private car, our driver took you slowly on the mountain way because of safety, if he drove fast and it had been occurred accident or something, it would be very bad. If we travel slowly the destination can be reached definitely but if we travel in rush, it cannot say. We asked you always about tour and hotels, you told us always wonderful. However we respect your exclusive words and we believed that your feedback guided us, where we need to make corrections for making tours better in days to come. We assure you of our best service at all times and always used our all efforts to make our service smooth and pleasant.

review 6 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was memorable and exciting but one highlight was the hike up to the Tiger's Nest Monastery in Bhutan - quite a grueling walk for a Sunday afternoon but what memories! Also, visiting Lhasa in February when pilgrims from the furthest reaches of Tibet were there was a joy. We met people from remote regions who had never seen a foreigner - we were objects of great interest and this made us feel like the relationship was more give and take and less voyeuristic than some tourist experiences can be.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Practical tips - the temperatures varied a lot when we visited in February and got very cold at altitude. Thermal underwear and lots of layers are a must. Money wise - US dollars were accepted with delight and easy to change every where. Nowhere in Kathmandu would accept travelers' cheques.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the guides and drivers were all from small local travel agencies and we stayed in small hotels and ate at local restaurants. Achut, our excellent Nepalese travel agent supports a community school in Nepal and arranged for us to visit. This was another highlight for us. Unfortunately our time constraints meant a lot of flights, but we traveled from Tibet to Kathmandu overland which was a great experience and cut out one flight at least.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The trip of a lifetime - a long-held ambition realised.

review 7 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing new places and meeting new people from completely new cultures. The amount of new things to see was exiting and sometimes overwhelming but always interesting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare yourself to be open to new things like trying new foods and observing new different ways of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly if I was honest. This was a tourist vacation but the people who showed me around did love the places they lived in. From a conservation viewpoint - that wasn't the main agenda focused on.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a fantastic break away from the norm and reminded me that there was a bigger world out the and whetted my appetite to see more of it.

review 31 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching the sun go down on Everest on the most perfect evening. Celebrating Diwali with the locals.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to suffer from altitute sickness. This includes not being able to sleep.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes I did particularly booking with a local Company. They were great and Achut looked after us very well and made sure that we were back in Nepal and had a great time for Diwali.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Except for suffering from a bug and altitute sickness it was absolutely fantastic.

review 11 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This would be quite difficult to say. There is a list of memorable events; the highlights being waking up from your tent to the amazing sight of Mount Everest, and the first time you stand in front of the Potala Palace and view its true majesty.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you take enough clothing. If you are staying in a tent at Everest Base Camp, you will require a few extra layers. Also get the guide to buy several bags of pencils, which you can give the children located away from Lhasa.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I did feel that the vacation benefited the local people, as the guides and the accommodation were Tibetan, some of the entrance fees went to the local people and we were able to give pencils to the mountain school children.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exceedingly good. This was only the second package vacation that we have been on as we usually travel independently; but because of the Tibetan section we had to be on a tour. However I would say that we were very well looked after, the tour companies in Nepal and Tibet went out of their way to ensure that we had a good time. Their knowledge of the sites and localities was extensive, and they correctly combined the flow of information with the time to wonder independently. I would definitely recommend the Tour Company and the vacation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies