11 independent reviews for Snowshoeing vacation in Finland

Reviews for Snowshoeing vacation in Finland

SHOW
7
3
1
0
0

review 11 Mar 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The snowshoeing experience was wonderful, in a most beautiful and serene landscape. However, the whole trip would not have been as memorable as it was without the amazing service and companionship provided by our tour guides Pavel and Ruben.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you bring small snacks/treats to share with your group. If you have never snowshoed/hiked in snow boots be prepared for a new and not entierly pleasant experience (at the beginning). It is like snowshoeing/hiking in well insulated rubber boots, because ... that is what snow boots are. :-)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I truly hope so, but I don't really know. I had a problem with the amount of plastic bags we used for pretty much everything. Maybe the operator can come up with some reusable bags at least for packing the two day wilderness necessities? Or suggest that guests bring their own reusable bags for that?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your feedback Gabriela. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the tour and your tour guides! Regarding your comment about plastic bags unfortunately it looks like we hadn't informed our new guides sufficiently about all the practices. We normally offer canvas bags to be used during the wilderness tour unless a client has an own bag/rucksack. Picnic sandwiches are packed in paper bags. Generally we do avoid plastic, disposable cups etc and excess packaging materials throughout our operations as per our sustainability policy which is available on our website. Naturally things can always be improved, especially we should communicate things better with our suppliers and obviously with new guides as well.

review 2 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's difficult to isolate a single highlight. I really liked the short up- and downhill sections in the powdery snow (which was surprising dry) and having the chance to 'break ground' by leading the group for a short period, making fresh tracks in the snow. I also enjoyed seeing various animal tracks as we walked. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and I learned a lot about Finnish culture and the environment. Perhaps most memorable was the temperature on the first day - minus 30 degrees C! We had a great group and I really enjoyed the company of the others, and there was alway someone to help with stiff snowshoe buckles or to pull you out of a snowdrift if you overbalanced and toppled over (no harm done).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have enough warm clothes and bring everything on the gear list.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I suppose if we bought local products or handicrafts at the Visitor Centre or Reindeer Farm this was beneficial to local people. Certainly there was no harm to the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was extremely well organized and a lot of fun once the temperature rose a bit even minus 15 degrees C felt warm after the first day. Overall a very enjoyable trip.

review 12 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Amazing landscapes, frozen trees and lakes, lovely people on the trip and a great guide.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not underestimate the cold - bring warm, light layers. Mittens are essential although you can borrow them. Bring a small gift for the guide.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes (except for the 4 flights to get there and back!), especially when we visited the reindeer herders and a restaurant in a very remote part.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, 10/10

review 19 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The wilderness experience snowshoeing through a lovely mix of forest, lake and climbing up and down steep ridges. The saunas are an experience, though ice dipping in the lakes sounds awful it is not really that bad! The two nights in the wilderness huts were very enjoyable but be prepared to help.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Most travelers on this trip were German speaking, so some knowledge of German or a phrase book would be useful. The guide speaks good English. You also need to be reasonably fit but I am 71 and managed fine.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly leaves a low environmental footprint. and the whole ethos is a love of Finland, its land and people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Peter, Thank you for your feedback and it's good to hear you enjoyed the tour. I'd just like to comment about the nationalities that it varies a lot, each group is different. Sometimes German speakers are the majority, sometimes English speakers. In some groups there are even 7-8 different nationalities and a real mixture of spoken languages. Hope to see you in Finland again!

review 5 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Going out into the wild and quiet nature in the cold everyday, walking through snow, forests and over frozen lakes was really exciting. The week was filled with new experiences, having a chance to see the Northern Light, going on expedition and walking from cabin to cabin, enjoying the Finnish sauna and cooling down in an ice-hole in the lake. Sharing this with a group of great people from different countries. We learned many interesting, practical and funny facts about Finland, its nature and the Finnish way of living from the guide.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you are dressed well for the cold weather, and for a bit less cold weather (bring layers).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the visit to the reindeer farm seemed to directly support local people and initiatives, and was interesting at the same time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great experience, I learned I can be strong in 'tough' conditions. ;-) (at the same time we were very well taken care of by the guide and our tour operator; things were never too hard).

review 17 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

1) Finland's nature 2) Our tour guide who was the best ambassador for his country anyone could have possibly wished for, very approachable and super organised 3) our group who was fantastic, we laughed and joked all day and had an amazing time

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a small gift from your country -> It was such a sweet gesture to receive a jar of home made Finish berry jam at the end presented by the company

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think so, yes. We bought souvenirs at the reindeer farm and other places and did not impact much on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

12 out of 10, honest, it was that good

review 28 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire week was an amazing experience, but I particularly liked the overnight stay in remote huts without electricity etc. Furthermore, seeing the Northern Lights was like a dream coming true

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Even though the walks are not really very long and you may expect a more challenging week, you will be tired in the evening. So the amount of walks seems pretty right to me. Furthermore, do not expect sunshine all the time. We were very happy to have a day of sunlight in the one week vacations. But it may as well be that it is cloudy weather all the time. However, even if the forecasts is very bad, you still may suddenly have a sunny morning or star night "coming out of nothing", so never give up hope!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We learned how to feel and respect the nature; our impact was very low as we took care of the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. I was really looking forward to this vacation, but my expectations were even exceeded.

review 22 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is hard to point to one specific item. The overall experience was memorable; the scenery, the activity, the guide, the other participants and the 'rough' living.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pay attention to the suggested list of clothing; it is cold and clothing will get wet. Bring a bottle for both hot liquid and another for cold liquid. Croos-country ski pants better than down-hill pants.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to all. The locals in this isolated area received compensation during this low season for them. We respected the environment and came a way with a better sense of importance to preserve that environment,

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great!!! One of my best.

review 28 Feb 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire vacation was memorable & magical. Our guide, Jarno, was superb in every way, including cooking up the best soups over the lunch time fires. He was expert at interpreting animal & bird tracks in the snow & helped us understand the environment & the way of life in that part of Finland, now & in the past. The snowshoeing was great & the landscape of forests & lakes just beautiful. The main accommodation was excellent, the wilderness cabins good fun & all the food good. One night we stood out on a frozen lake & watched the northern lights flickering over the forest - unforgettable. Last but not least, the saunas were the perfect way to pass an hour or two.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take (or hire) warm snow boots, carry an extra outer layer & have good gloves.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb. The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that other vacations have been as good - what about four and a half stars? I am already planning to go back to Finland

review 19 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming in the icy lake after a nice hot sauna!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you look for a nice combination of being active during the day, relaxing in a sauna afterwards and meeting other open minded people just BOOK and GO!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes! guide who knows the area very well, use of local facilities and just enjoying the nature!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

8.5.

review 23 Feb 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great weather even if cold. Great wilderness feel to the environment. Good sized group

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for the cold....good gloves and footwear especially.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, very much so. Local use of hotel, cabins and information center for food.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies