18 independent reviews for Adventure vacation in Jordan

Reviews for Adventure vacation in Jordan

SHOW
8
9
1
0
0

review 29 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was brilliant and our guide Abdallah made it extra special with his kindness and effort to ensure we were always happy

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to be on the go a lot and don't always expect accomodation to be of high standards, after all you only sleep in the rooms, the vacation is about what goes on outside. Go with the flow and you will enjoy it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as local people helped all throughout the tour and we had a collective tip pot which was divided out between all locals who supported us throughout our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an experience of a lifetime, made extra special by our tour leader.

review 9 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking down from the High Altar at Petra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Itís hot. Bring loose clothing and good walking shoes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We ate in local restaurants and were taken to shops that were run for charitable causes..

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant I learnt so much.

review 14 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra and Wadi Rum were the best parts. It was great to have 2 days in Petra- one with guide and one without to explore on our own. Overnight in Wadi Rum was very nice, and sunset/sunrise colors were spectacular. Enjoyed the camel ride the next morning in particular - definitely a better way to experience the desert than on the back of a pickup truck!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We had cool temperatures and rain during the first days of April . There had been snow in Petra the week before we arrived. Pack layers of clothing and check the weather forecast. The transfer from the hotel to the airport was not a good experience - the driver did not show up on time and we did not know whom to turn to for help. Recommend to carefully check logistics of transfer with the guide.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Nothing specific besides bringing employment to native population via tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful trip, largely thanks to our outstanding guide Moyad. He gave us abundant insights into the country and its history. Good pace between driving and visits. Great choices of interesting and reasonable restaurants. One negative point: the group was larger than anticipated (19). We would give our vacation five stars.

review 6 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Wadi Rum and Mohamed Mutlak Camp, despite sand storm.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for cold weather in February and March.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes our guide was tremendous, Aladdin and made sure we understood the nuances of his country. Animal welfare is important.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic!

review 7 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra, Jurash, Kurak and trying to find a camel in the desert at 7 in the morning!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

See if you can get longer in Jurash and Kurak than the trip allows. two days in Petra is about right but you might want to avoid the evening trip to the Treasury as you may get fed up with walking back to the entrance!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes a lot of people were involved through restaurants, cafe, drivers, guides etc = so the money did flow to the local economy. We did a lot of traveling and passed through Amman a couple of times, so the environmental impact was probably not good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

4/5 really good trip that could be 5/5 with just a little less traveling through Amman, Juresh and Mount Nebo, Kurak on the first two days

review 30 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many highlights. Jerash was unexpectedly impressive; Petra was absolutely awesome - around every corner there was so many fantastic sights; Wadi Rum gave us some unforgettable desert vistas (even though it rained!); snorkeling in the Red Sea was fabulous and floating in the Dead Sea was simply bizarre! The food was good or very good and the other people on the tour also made it memorable. The tour guide, Sami Atmeh was also first class and went out of his way a number of times to make it a success, when weather impacted the itinerary.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take an extra day or two to explore Amman at the end of the vacation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes and no. The vacation definitely benefited local people, but I suspect the increased tourism around the corals in the Red Sea and other sensitive sights may not support long-term conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Andrew, Many thanks for your great comments about the recent trip to Jordan and you hopefully have some fantastic memories to take back with you! The point about the increased tourism affecting the corals in the Red Sea is an important one. The corals have been affected by bleaching due to rising sea temperatures but also to the influx of tourists littering the shoreline. It is our belief that by educating our own customers in sustainable tourism and by influencing our local guides and agents to address sustainability we have a much better chance of reducing the pollution in areas within and beyond our remit. The more that our trips worldwide put something back into the local community and try to educate , the more that both the local communities and those that they engage with are likely to respect the local environment. Overall there is lots of work to do and we will continue to play our part. Thanks again for your observations.

review 6 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Discovering the amazing history of Jordan was, for me, one of the memorable parts of this vacation. In addition, the friendliness and warmth of the Jordanian people will always stay with me.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1. Read the trip itinerary carefully to determine if it meets your travel objectives. 2. A traveler's tip of "Just Do It" was inspirational for me and silenced any niggling doubts I might have had.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This vacation benefited local people by providing employment to a whole range of Jordanians: from our guide, our driver, staff at our various accommodations, staff at the local restaurants where we ate, staff at the various sites we visited, etc . As regards reducing environmental impacts, using a single minibus for the 12 people in our small group instead of several vehicles must have made a difference. In terms of supporting conservation, hopefully the revenue from the tickets we purchased will be invested in conservation efforts for sites like Petra, Jerash, the crusader castles at Shobak and Kerak etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

WONDERFUL!

review 15 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The glorious olive trees and cyclamens. Great countryside, great walks, great guiding, great company. My first with the operator, I'll be back!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy it. A lovely way to see a beautiful island guided by a passionate and knowledgeable guide

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It was good to have a local guide who cares about the environment and knows about local issues. We mostly stayed in locally run hotels and used restaurants that felt very local. Plenty of work still to do on reducing consumption and recycling, especially plastic but it's starting.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Well worth it.

review 22 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending 2 days exploring Petra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ask to change accom in Petra, current hotel doesn't clean or change towels, wet towels are picked up from the floor, folded and put back on the rack!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent experience

review 13 Nov 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra and the night in the desert.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do go! Jordan is a very friendly and safe country with amazing things to see and do. Support them so they can continue to welcome Syrian and Palestinian refugees

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

See above

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful experience. So many different things packed into one week.

review 1 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting such a great bunch of like minded travelers. The whole vacation was excellent; great tour guide (Mo), who looked after us all from start to finish. Every single day was another new and exciting experience and we were constantly updated and given as much info as we wanted. Can't fault it in any way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring good walking shoes!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes re local people - we all spent money locally, the tour guide took us to a co- operative shop to buy souvenirs and showed us local vendors with good reps, rather than the mass marketed tat you usually get.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding.

review 29 Nov 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all fantastic; I plan on returning! The best bits for me were: Jerash, Petra, Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a second camera battery as you'll be using your camera a lot! Don't be afraid of conversing with the locals - English is very widely spoken.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Most hotels were locally owned (no big chains); the Wadi Rum campsite is owned by Bedouin; the guide was a lovely Jordanian. All hotels want you to conserve water.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just take the plunge and go on this vacation. I had the best half term break ever!

review 13 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go a day early as due to flight times you do not arrive till after midnight on DAY 1 and you will miss out on looking around Amman.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Just what I needed - warm climate, good bunch of fellow travelers, excellent guide and wonderful country.

review 7 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This is a very difficult question as it was all just so fabulous. If I had to pick one highlight it would be the 2 days in Petra, followed closely by the camel trek in the Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have good footwear as there is a lot of walking and climbing. Outside Amman it can be expensive to eat and alcohol is expensive so be sure to allow for that. The itinerary was slightly unclear in that it said the first day of the vacation was in Amman. In fact, on day one we met the travel guide butnot until 1900hrs that night so it is slightly misleading.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our group eat in all the local restaurants and drank in local cafes so yes it did benefit the local people. Any souvenirs were bought from local traders rather than international shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was absolutely excellent. The guide, Mohammed was a font of knowledge and such a friendly guy with great inter personal skills. There was never a question he couldn't answer. The administration of the vacation was excellent. Everything was on time and the organisation was superb. I would definitely choose Responsible Travel and this operator again.

review 7 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Difficult to choose between 1) the first view of the Treasury at Petra 2) Camel ride at sundown in Wadi Rum 3) Sleeping under the stars (sadly not many as it was cloudy!) in Wadi Rum 4) the lovely people of Jordan 5) seeing genuine affection between a Bedouin and his camel.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Drink plenty of water (we invested in a water bottle with integral filter so could fill up anywhere - was v useful and saved on plastic waste), take good lightweight supportive walking shoes or boots, and a torch (especially a head torch) is very useful in the desert. Be aware that your ticket at Petra entitles you to a horse ride back from the siq to the entrance - and beware of the "compulsory" JD5 tip that you might get persuaded into. Please avoid the horse carriage rides in Petra - we were quite upset at the treatment of the horses.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure about this.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful but tiring!

review 16 May 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Riding a camel in the desert - staying overnight in a bedouin tent and seeing the sunrise over the wadi rum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of local currency - it is difficult to change travelers cheques and there are not many ATM's. Take good walking shoes and just enjoy - you won't regret booking this vacation

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10 - Was made more enjoyable by and excellent guide/representative - was so enthusiastic and helpful.

review 13 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

3 things: 1. The first view of the Treasury as we walked through the Siq at Petra 2. The visit to Jerash 3. The camel ride to Wadi Rum and the night in the Bedouin camp - including sleeping under the stars

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you book for more than yourself and partner, don't book as one booking. The operator didn't explain this to me at the beginning and the whole administrative process before the vacation was chaotic. It ended up with them completely losing my address, sending our final details to another member of the group and everyone having this person's address on the details form. I had to call them several times - an 0844 number - and hang on for up to 15minutes, each time they messed something up. My tip would be also to ignore any administrative in competencies as the organisation of the tour on the ground was excellent, thanks to our tour leader, Fran Maillol.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We ate in local restaurants, used local guides and drivers and hotels owned by Jordanians (I think). Not sure about minimizing impacts on the environment

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Vacation - excellent. Operator administration - poor.

review 15 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The opportunity to wander around the Petra site and a taxi out to its sister site little Petra exceeded expectations, But equally memorable was a boat trip in Aquaba - in air as hot as hairdryer this was a welcome respite. The snorkel site they call the Japanese Garden was as tidy and intricate as its name

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít take too much notice of the dress advice in most guide books, Jordan is far more tolerant of western women's dress than the books imply. And donít miss shoe shopping in Amman - great designs and bargains

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Unclear - this was not really mentioned or stressed that much, There was a rural women's cooperative I think that ran the place where we did the cookery course in Petra. The desert camp at Wadi Rum was run by bedouins

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Pretty good - it was billed as a vacation for teenagers and it was disappointing little was really done to engage them or help them to overcome initial shyness at the start of the trip.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies