8 independent reviews for Sri Lanka and Maldives vacations

Reviews for Sri Lanka and Maldives vacations

SHOW
5
3
0
0
0

review 2 Feb 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting the Sri Lankan people, seeing a leopard in Yala national park, staying in very interesting unusual accommodation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Use a small tour operator like this one who can tailor your vacation to your requirements. Go early to busy tourist sites.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, to an extent. The hotels were all very "green", reducing plastic waste, using local foodstuffs, employing local people etc. Our local guide was very good. Our only gripe really was with the bad management of the national parks, particularly Yala, which felt like an overcrowded theme park, with the wildlife being exploited for commercial profit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying in Ella and walking in the hill country and snorkelling in the Maldives.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be very specific in your requirements as we felt there was a limited amount of time we had to ourselves in certain locations e.g. Kandy. We asked if we could be met later and that did not happen. The planning and timing was too rigid.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes i believe so, although several large hotels were used, where a more local hotel or accommodation would have been more appropriate.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, loved the Maldives.

review 19 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation was snorkelling in the Maldives. It was amazing to see sharks, fish and sea turtles on the reef. It was a surreal experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would suggest to try the local curries and road side stalls in Sri Lanka. The food was amazing. Also take a rain coat!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation benefited local people. Our guide, Kapila, was great. Very experienced and knowledgeable. He looked after us very well.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall, I would rate our vacation 10/10. We had a great time in all the countries we visited, the locals were very friendly and hospitable.

review 23 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Flying in a seaplane over the Maldives and landing in the lagoon by Filitheyo Island where we spent an amazing week!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you book some days (ideally a week) at the end of the Sri Lanka tour to relax. The tour was amazing, but there was quite a lot of traveling by car which does wear you out. We had a week in the Maldives at the end which was amazing, but a few days on a beach in the South of Sri Lanka would also be a good option.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Well, our guide was local which was good. The hotels were generally part of large chains, but of course all employees were local and most food etc seemed to be locally sourced. Not so sure about minimising environmental impact, flying thousands of miles and staying on a desert island where everything has to be shipped in will never be the most environmentally friendly vacation!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, wonderful - wish we could do it all again next year!

review 6 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Maldives beach/food/diving - Ceylon tee trails - lavender house - Kalundewa retreat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not underestimate the time needed to travel from 1 point to another in Sri Lanka. Do not book Serene Pavilions.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I suppose it allows them to make a better living through work and tipping.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very happy with our vacation, certainly related to the quality of the different guest houses.

review 16 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sri-Lanka - Being with our tour guide Niroshan who totally made our vacation because of his thoughtfulness and consideration to our needs. Maldives The beauty and serenity of the whole island.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Sri-Lanka. Ask for Niroshan as your guide. Maldives. Don't bother taking any shoes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 star.

review 23 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We can say we had 2 most memorable part of our vacation: - the climb of Adam's peak: started at 2am to reach the top before sunrise, it was an amazing experience. Only few tourists but thousands of Sri Lankan Buddists on Pilgrimage. The atmosphere was very unique. And when you see grandchildren’s carrying their grandparents to the top of the 5000 steps, you remember that your life is not that difficult! - The Paradise in the Maldives: a postcard everywhere you look, this place is paradise on earth!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

John from the tour operator organized an amazing itinerary, but sometimes you want to tailor yourself when you get there, don't hesitate!!! Our driver guide was really flexible and had very good suggestions, he was really trying to plan according to how we felt. Your guide will try to bring you to "local shops" (it means where he would get commissions...), it is part of the culture in Sri Lanka, so don't be offended. However, if you want him to help you to get good deals, tell him how much you're willing to pay for something and tell him that if he get a better price the difference is for him. Otherwise, the more you pay in the shop the more commission he gets, so he would be on "the shop side" :-) In terms of hotels, try to choose the small ones, the staff will be much more friendly!!! The Ceylan tea trail has only 4 rooms so if you want breakfast at 2pm, it won't be a problem at all, you really felt at home!!! Also, get lots of 50 and 100 ruppies notes!!! You need to tip everywhere... If you think that 5 days in the Maldives can be long doing nothing, you re wrong!! After 10 days in Sri Lanka doing lots because there is so much to see, you'll love the beach side!!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All the hotels we went to were clearly trying to be eco-friendly, they tried to minimise their impacts on sceneries by using local materials and trying to be as hidden as possible. In terms of benefits on local people, we are not really sure, because you could tell our trip benefited to a few, but all tourists were going to the same places, the same restaurants, the same elephants rides... obviously some people have organized their business. You could also tell that your guide was slightly worried to take you to places he'd never been for a meal for example.But because it is not packed with tourists everywhere yet, you can feel you re enjoying part of the Sri Lankan life.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This vacation was just amazing!!! John from the tour operator obviously knows Sri Lanka, and Pathi, our guide, loves his country! Sri Lanka has a lot to offer, it has very different landscapes and people are usually very friendly!! The Maldives: close your eyes and imagine the most amazing beaches ever, this is it!! And when you wake up and this is all you can see from your villa, it is just paradise!!

review 5 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We chose Sri Lanka and this tour operator for our honeymoon. Memorable or exciting? Absolutely! Where to start....We really liked this tour operator, they are a small business. John and Tracey were really helpful before we left and in Sri Lanka we thought our tour guide and driver, Sena was excellent. We were blown away by the Heritance Kandalama in Dambulla and loved our room and the infinite swimming pool in this hotel. Sri Lanka is teeming with animals and bird life and our other highlight was the trip to the national park, where we saw wild elephants bathing, saw spotted deer, as well as many rare and exotic birds. We went on a tour of a tea factory, whilst staying at the tea trails. The tour was given by an experienced planter who was passionate about tea-making and treated us to a tasting afterwards. The setting of our bungalow overlooking the lake on tea trails was amazing. We loved the hotel in Kandy which was an old colonial mansion, the meals at the Kandy House were superb. The beaches in Southern Sri Lanka are beautiful, we really enjoyed sipping cocktails on the beach and swimming in the sea, in Unawatuna.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take good mosquito repellant! Pack clothing for a variety of temperatures (from high heat on beaches close to the equator, to temperate cooler places in the tea-growing hills). The nice thing about this tour operator was that the itinerary which they provided took in the highlights of Sri Lanka with enough relaxation time in between. Although Sri Lanka is a small island it takes time to get to places as the roads are not always good- so we would recommend not trying to fit too much traveling in.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

All of the hotels employed local people, and most of the hotels were small businesses. Our tour guide Sena was passionate about supporting local businesses and careful about the disposal of rubbish and water bottles. We visited a turtle hatchery in Southern Sri Lanka which is a conservation project that looks after some of the indigenous turtle species in Sri Lanka, our fee and tips went towards the project. We were impressed by how pristine clean some of the beaches and other habitats were. Overall we were saddened by how quiet Sri Lanka, even coming into peak season, appeared to be. Many of the people depend on tourism for their livelihood however it seems that a recession, the war, and previously the tsunami have adversely impacted on the tourist economy. We hope that the end of the war will start to bring people back to this beautiful country.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was an amazing destination for our honeymoon. In the twelve days that we were there we took in tea plantations, forests, national parks, and beaches but had a really relaxing time. We loved all of the hotels which were destinations in themselves. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with friendly, welcoming people.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies