10 independent reviews for Family scuba diving holidays for certified divers, Red Sea

Reviews for Family scuba diving holidays for certified divers, Red Sea

SHOW
5
5
0
0
0

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Diving over the reef from Lighthouse bay with my teenage children. Feeling that we have only just touched the surface of a beautiful and fragile environment. Enjoying the gentle, humorous hospitality of the local Egyptians. Watching the light change on the water and land on a moment by moment timeline.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít hesitate to book with the tour operator we used. Plan to stay at least a week as there is a lot to do especially if you are diving. Take time to get in sync with Dahab as things happen according to a local schedule that is fluid and relaxing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Lynne and Helal run a friendly, family orientated operation. All the staff, including local employees and their own daughters and son, have been with the company for many years. The staff clean the beach daily, it is a no single plastic use operation and there is a genuine interest and effort to support local conservation and reduce impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous. My kids didnít want to leave and have been planning how to get back and continue their diving adventure as soon as possible! Our only niggle would be with the Padi online accreditation which was a real pain to access but nothing to do with Lynneís operation on the ground. Mamdoo, our Dive instructor, was totally brilliant, fierce but in the best way - he wanted us to learn, to be aware and to appreciate the very special environment that we were privileged enough to be able to explore.

review 15 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Its hard to pick one thing. The diving was spectacular but also the hospitality, food, rooms, people! Loved everything.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book now ??

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes many local people are employed, local products and produce are used. Water conservation and recyling are done. Dive instructors are knowledgeable and passionate about conserving the reef and careful not to damage the underwater environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Everything was perfect for us, we were taken care of so well, the kids had a lot of fun (no electronic devices either). Happy kids & happy mum and dad! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip. We had so much fun.

review 23 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The diving - seeing turtles, octopi, sting rays and a whole host of underwater life. Closely followed by an evening in the nearby desert mountains watching the Perseid Meteor Shower and eating Bedouin food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it if you are looking for a warm welcome, really organised and friendly center with excellent service and great food. Everyone is welcome whatever age and in whatever state of fitness - where we were either too small or our knees didn't work our kit was carried for us.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - there were cotton shopping bags in the room to discourage use of plastic ones from the shops. We were encouraged to re-use water bottles and refill them from a central water dispenser. Local staff are employed and we were encouraged to provide tips centrally that would be shared equally amongst all of the staff. We were at all times asked to dive responsibly and not walk across or damage the reefs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant. Excellent service, accommodation fine, food good, beach close, great picnic in the mountains. So good we are going back in a few months.

review 18 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Becoming a scuba diver and my son becoming Open Water PADI certified

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do book it - I was nervous about the FCO advice on traveling to Dahab but it was so lovely and businesses are suffering as people are staying in Sharm which is so over-commercialised and missing the BEST

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This was a wonderful, locally run small hotel and it was like being at home, the food was fabulous, the diving instruction was wonderful and the staff were fabulous - the owners made you feel very special. There was no sheets and towels changed everyday (as if we do that when we're at home!), if you wanted new linen and towels you just had to ask and you were positively discouraged from harming the habitat whilst diving and from using plastic bags etc. Everything was local - no big multinationals here!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10 - you must GO!!

review 15 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting the children snorkelling and seeing their excitement at seeing all the pretty fish!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You can relish experiences through the eyes of your children, it reopens perhaps jaded eyes to the delights of traveling and seeing different cultures and ways of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely provide support to the local tourist industry and the local people employed directly as drivers, camel drivers and diving instructors. I don't think we helped to reduce environmental impacts or support conservation, but I don't think either that our footprint adversely affected the local environment as perhaps a package tourist staying in a large chain hotel would.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would say it was brilliant. The childcare arranged was of an ad hoc nature and unorganised, i.e. no childrenís club and activites as would be provided by a large hotel perhaps, but the children were happy to enjoy their surroundings at a very basic level, and the odd camel ride helped, while mum and dad remembered how to scuba dive again!

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Completely relaxing. Met some lovely people. My sons completed their open water and advanced diving courses, and enjoyed themselves without the aid of modern technology.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The staff and drivers were all local. We were encouraged to conserve water. There were recycling facilities for cans, plastic etc. We were encouraged to turn off A/C and electric appliances when not in use. When diving and snorkelling we were reminded to be aware of impact on the reef.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best vacation for many years!

review 5 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking with bare feet on the fine white sand in the White Canyon with our friendly guide Ibrahim.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you go on a diving vacation, don't forget to go into the mountains and the Sinai desert if it is a cool time of year to experience the desolate landscapes, beautiful rock formations, the stillness, the starry skies at night, the Bedouin food and way of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, there was a large team of local staff present who created a lovely atmosphere and a warm hospitality, they were clearly happy in their employment. The Egyptian dive instructor was careful at the coral reefs and made people aware of how to prevent damage. It would be even better if the food would be organic, waste would be separated and biodegradable soaps would be used, but I am not sure how much this was the case.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Us adults as well as our late teenage kids thoroughly enjoyed the vacations. The only minus was the way in which we were pushed into a certain diving programme without much discussion, sometimes resulted in exhaustion which is not always a good thing when diving.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I canít decide! The place or the diving! Diving. 1. Diving through a coral maze, just me, my husband, daughters and the wonderful Kayla from the dive center. The coral corridors were truly stunning. As we emerged into the deep blue we saw a huge shoal of small barracuda. It was the best dive out of the 60 I have done. My daughters had just passed their PADI. To be in a small group of our own made it very special. 2. Kayla took me and the two girls on a night dive. As well as eels, fish with fluorescent eyes and watching a hunting lionfish there was an enormous shoal of Fuseliers. Kayla had briefed us to cover our torches and the fish would be curious, then uncover the torch and they shoot away. There were 100s of them. Brilliant. All the groups at the dive center are 4 or less (our daughters were in their own group of 2 for the PADI tuition and ended up very competent divers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Like most places in Dahab payment is in cash. We paid for most of it before we went by bank transfer but would have transferred enough to cover all the diving if we had thought. Use the restaurant in the hotel. It is great. This morning at 7 as I went for my last snorkel Bokham the chef was up making all the bread for breakfast. We tried other places in Dahab and were unimpressed. The tripadvisor ratings are totally out. The boat trip is 50 UK pounds per person and is worth every penny. The girls saw turtles and giant barracuda. Try a short camel trip, about £5 UK for 1 hr and everyone speaks highly about the mountain dinner but we didn't go. If doing a diving course sign up for the e-learning and do the learning at home. Excellent childcare was arranged for other families while we were there including a beautiful 5 year old who had some speech difficulties enabling parents to go diving.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The majority of the fantastic staff were Egyptian, including the better paid jobs such as Divemasters. One girl we spoke to said they have a low turn over of staff and treat everyone well. All the staff were outstanding. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it. For example, on our last night we were chatting and our daughter said next time she would like to ride a camel. On the morning of our departure two camels turned up. She was gobsmacked! The divemasters are very aware of the environment, provide cotton bags to save using plastic for shopping and do recycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We all said it was the best vacation we have ever had. We plan to go back next year and will be booking before long. The diving, scenery, staff, local people food, relaxation, all brilliant. If you want flash night clubs and all influences stay in Sharm. If you want a place with local culture visit Dahab. I would highly recommend this dive center for diving, as a restaurant-even if you are staying somewhere else, as a hotel to stay in and completely chill out.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My son being happy to be left on the beach with the lady that provided the childcare - allowing us to focus on our diving.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack everything you think you need and then remove half of it and eat at the dive center all the time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10

review 20 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing my sons (aged 11 & 13) become Open Water Divers & get all the pleasure from the underwater world that I do-swimming past blue-spotted rays, goatfish, moray eels, scorpion fish, squid, shrimps, pipefish & so much more. Opening the window each day to be greeted by an empty beach , a blue sky & a turquoise sea.............

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry about the 40 C temperature in August-the wind which is usual at this time of year makes it wonderfully warm but not unbearably hot. Also, much better to go in the quiet season-less divers-more attention!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The operator is obviously run by a combination of Europeans & Egyptians/Bedouins & our guide as a marine biologist was understandably very keen to minimize any impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good-an excellent place to learn to dive- very unhurried, very relaxing-plenty of time to unwind. Although, saying that the week still flew past! Yvonne our guide was just SUPERB. I felt so very safe in her hands & the boys warmed to the ever smiling Ahmed, their guide.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies