7 independent reviews for Family scuba diving holidays for certified divers, Red Sea

Reviews for Family scuba diving holidays for certified divers, Red Sea

SHOW
5
2
0
0
0

review 4 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Having read all the previous fantastic reviews about this operator we booked a diving vacation for our family. At the time of booking 1 year ago, there were no direct flights from London to Sharm, so we flew via Istanbul. However from December 2019 flights will be direct again, and I'm very happy for the community of Dahab that this will encourage more English people to a very unique, hippyish, multi cultural town. Thanks also to Injie, patiently answering multiple emails from me before we came on vacation over safety issues etc. Everything that previous reviews have mentioned is all true. We felt in very safe hands whilst learning to dive (thanks to Nadia and Hadi' s calm, patient and thorough teachings). We saw all types of fish from stingrays,eels, clownfish and lionfish along with larger shouls of silver and glass fish, which swarm around you in large numbers. Gopros were made available for us so that we could have all our underwater adventures photographed by the very capable Nadia. For non divers; the small family run hotel directly faces the beautiful beach which looks out over the gulf of Aquaba to Saudi Arabia:-simply beautiful...whilst the center of Dahab 10 minutes walk away can get busy; by contrast the hotel is in a very peaceful quiet location nearby. Nothing was ever too much trouble to arrange, and I felt thoroughly spoilt by each and every one of them,from the chefs right down to the boys who ferried our dive gear around. Thank you team for a fantastic vacation, I will be telling lots of people about

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry about safety issues or political events in the middle East as this little corner of Dahab, felt safer to me than any big city in England. In addition the security around the airport at Sharm el-Sheikh is very tight, and has been for quite a while but it has taken the British government a long time to get round to to allowing direct flights there. Wether diving or relaxing I would 100% recommend this vacation. They are a small quality family-run hotel and by far the best place to go go because the level of care from all the staff was amazing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Lyn and Halal have worked very hard over the years to make the environmental impact a top priority. There were no plastic bottles and we were able to top up drinking bottles daily for free, there were no plastic bags and we were encouraged to use rucksacks or cloth bags in local shops. We were educated about the importance of not touching or taking anything from the coral reefs

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A full five stars from us!

review 20 Feb 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Diving over the reef from Lighthouse bay with my teenage children. Feeling that we have only just touched the surface of a beautiful and fragile environment. Enjoying the gentle, humorous hospitality of the local Egyptians. Watching the light change on the water and land on a moment by moment timeline.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít hesitate to book with the tour operator we used. Plan to stay at least a week as there is a lot to do especially if you are diving. Take time to get in sync with Dahab as things happen according to a local schedule that is fluid and relaxing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely. Lynne and Helal run a friendly, family orientated operation. All the staff, including local employees and their own daughters and son, have been with the company for many years. The staff clean the beach daily, it is a no single plastic use operation and there is a genuine interest and effort to support local conservation and reduce impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous. My kids didnít want to leave and have been planning how to get back and continue their diving adventure as soon as possible! Our only niggle would be with the Padi online accreditation which was a real pain to access but nothing to do with Lynneís operation on the ground. Mamdoo, our Dive instructor, was totally brilliant, fierce but in the best way - he wanted us to learn, to be aware and to appreciate the very special environment that we were privileged enough to be able to explore.

review 15 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Its hard to pick one thing. The diving was spectacular but also the hospitality, food, rooms, people! Loved everything.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book now ??

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes many local people are employed, local products and produce are used. Water conservation and recyling are done. Dive instructors are knowledgeable and passionate about conserving the reef and careful not to damage the underwater environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Everything was perfect for us, we were taken care of so well, the kids had a lot of fun (no electronic devices either). Happy kids & happy mum and dad! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip. We had so much fun.

review 23 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The diving - seeing turtles, octopi, sting rays and a whole host of underwater life. Closely followed by an evening in the nearby desert mountains watching the Perseid Meteor Shower and eating Bedouin food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it if you are looking for a warm welcome, really organised and friendly center with excellent service and great food. Everyone is welcome whatever age and in whatever state of fitness - where we were either too small or our knees didn't work our kit was carried for us.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - there were cotton shopping bags in the room to discourage use of plastic ones from the shops. We were encouraged to re-use water bottles and refill them from a central water dispenser. Local staff are employed and we were encouraged to provide tips centrally that would be shared equally amongst all of the staff. We were at all times asked to dive responsibly and not walk across or damage the reefs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant. Excellent service, accommodation fine, food good, beach close, great picnic in the mountains. So good we are going back in a few months.

review 18 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Becoming a scuba diver and my son becoming Open Water PADI certified

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do book it - I was nervous about the FCO advice on traveling to Dahab but it was so lovely and businesses are suffering as people are staying in Sharm which is so over-commercialised and missing the BEST

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This was a wonderful, locally run small hotel and it was like being at home, the food was fabulous, the diving instruction was wonderful and the staff were fabulous - the owners made you feel very special. There was no sheets and towels changed everyday (as if we do that when we're at home!), if you wanted new linen and towels you just had to ask and you were positively discouraged from harming the habitat whilst diving and from using plastic bags etc. Everything was local - no big multinationals here!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10 - you must GO!!

review 15 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting the children snorkelling and seeing their excitement at seeing all the pretty fish!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You can relish experiences through the eyes of your children, it reopens perhaps jaded eyes to the delights of traveling and seeing different cultures and ways of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely provide support to the local tourist industry and the local people employed directly as drivers, camel drivers and diving instructors. I don't think we helped to reduce environmental impacts or support conservation, but I don't think either that our footprint adversely affected the local environment as perhaps a package tourist staying in a large chain hotel would.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would say it was brilliant. The childcare arranged was of an ad hoc nature and unorganised, i.e. no childrenís club and activites as would be provided by a large hotel perhaps, but the children were happy to enjoy their surroundings at a very basic level, and the odd camel ride helped, while mum and dad remembered how to scuba dive again!

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Completely relaxing. Met some lovely people. My sons completed their open water and advanced diving courses, and enjoyed themselves without the aid of modern technology.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The staff and drivers were all local. We were encouraged to conserve water. There were recycling facilities for cans, plastic etc. We were encouraged to turn off A/C and electric appliances when not in use. When diving and snorkelling we were reminded to be aware of impact on the reef.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best vacation for many years!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies