20 independent reviews for Family scuba diving vacations in the Red Sea

Reviews for Family scuba diving vacations in the Red Sea

SHOW
7
12
1
0
0

review 15 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Its hard to pick one thing. The diving was spectacular but also the hospitality, food, rooms, people! Loved everything.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book now ??

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes many local people are employed, local products and produce are used. Water conservation and recyling are done. Dive instructors are knowledgeable and passionate about conserving the reef and careful not to damage the underwater environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Everything was perfect for us, we were taken care of so well, the kids had a lot of fun (no electronic devices either). Happy kids & happy mum and dad! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip. We had so much fun.

review 23 Aug 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The diving - seeing turtles, octopi, sting rays and a whole host of underwater life. Closely followed by an evening in the nearby desert mountains watching the Perseid Meteor Shower and eating Bedouin food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it if you are looking for a warm welcome, really organised and friendly centre with excellent service and great food. Everyone is welcome whatever age and in whatever state of fitness - where we were either too small or our knees didn't work our kit was carried for us.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely - there were cotton shopping bags in the room to discourage use of plastic ones from the shops. We were encouraged to re-use water bottles and refill them from a central water dispenser. Local staff are employed and we were encouraged to provide tips centrally that would be shared equally amongst all of the staff. We were at all times asked to dive responsibly and not walk across or damage the reefs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant. Excellent service, accommodation fine, food good, beach close, great picnic in the mountains. So good we are going back in a few months.

review 18 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Becoming a scuba diver and my son becoming Open Water PADI certified

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do book it - I was nervous about the FCO advice on traveling to Dahab but it was so lovely and businesses are suffering as people are staying in Sharm which is so over-commercialised and missing the BEST

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

This was a wonderful, locally run small hotel and it was like being at home, the food was fabulous, the diving instruction was wonderful and the staff were fabulous - the owners made you feel very special. There was no sheets and towels changed everyday (as if we do that when we're at home!), if you wanted new linen and towels you just had to ask and you were positively discouraged from harming the habitat whilst diving and from using plastic bags etc. Everything was local - no big multinationals here!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10 - you must GO!!

review 15 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting the children snorkelling and seeing their excitement at seeing all the pretty fish!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You can relish experiences through the eyes of your children, it reopens perhaps jaded eyes to the delights of traveling and seeing different cultures and ways of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely provide support to the local tourist industry and the local people employed directly as drivers, camel drivers and diving instructors. I don't think we helped to reduce environmental impacts or support conservation, but I don't think either that our footprint adversely affected the local environment as perhaps a package tourist staying in a large chain hotel would.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would say it was brilliant. The childcare arranged was of an ad hoc nature and unorganised, i.e. no childrenís club and activites as would be provided by a large hotel perhaps, but the children were happy to enjoy their surroundings at a very basic level, and the odd camel ride helped, while mum and dad remembered how to scuba dive again!

review 31 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Completely relaxing. Met some lovely people. My sons completed their open water and advanced diving courses, and enjoyed themselves without the aid of modern technology.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The staff and drivers were all local. We were encouraged to conserve water. There were recycling facilities for cans, plastic etc. We were encouraged to turn off A/C and electric appliances when not in use. When diving and snorkelling we were reminded to be aware of impact on the reef.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Best vacation for many years!

review 5 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking with bare feet on the fine white sand in the White Canyon with our friendly guide Ibrahim.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you go on a diving vacation, don't forget to go into the mountains and the Sinai desert if it is a cool time of year to experience the desolate landscapes, beautiful rock formations, the stillness, the starry skies at night, the Bedouin food and way of life.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, there was a large team of local staff present who created a lovely atmosphere and a warm hospitality, they were clearly happy in their employment. The Egyptian dive instructor was careful at the coral reefs and made people aware of how to prevent damage. It would be even better if the food would be organic, waste would be separated and biodegradable soaps would be used, but I am not sure how much this was the case.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Us adults as well as our late teenage kids thoroughly enjoyed the vacations. The only minus was the way in which we were pushed into a certain diving programme without much discussion, sometimes resulted in exhaustion which is not always a good thing when diving.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I canít decide! The place or the diving! Diving. 1. Diving through a coral maze, just me, my husband, daughters and the wonderful Kayla from the dive centre. The coral corridors were truly stunning. As we emerged into the deep blue we saw a huge shoal of small barracuda. It was the best dive out of the 60 I have done. My daughters had just passed their PADI. To be in a small group of our own made it very special. 2. Kayla took me and the two girls on a night dive. As well as eels, fish with fluorescent eyes and watching a hunting lionfish there was an enormous shoal of Fuseliers. Kayla had briefed us to cover our torches and the fish would be curious, then uncover the torch and they shoot away. There were 100s of them. Brilliant. All the groups at the dive centre are 4 or less (our daughters were in their own group of 2 for the PADI tuition and ended up very competent divers.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Like most places in Dahab payment is in cash. We paid for most of it before we went by bank transfer but would have transferred enough to cover all the diving if we had thought. Use the restaurant in the hotel. It is great. This morning at 7 as I went for my last snorkel Bokham the chef was up making all the bread for breakfast. We tried other places in Dahab and were unimpressed. The tripadvisor ratings are totally out. The boat trip is 50 UK pounds per person and is worth every penny. The girls saw turtles and giant barracuda. Try a short camel trip, about £5 UK for 1 hr and everyone speaks highly about the mountain dinner but we didn't go. If doing a diving course sign up for the e-learning and do the learning at home. Excellent childcare was arranged for other families while we were there including a beautiful 5 year old who had some speech difficulties enabling parents to go diving.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The majority of the fantastic staff were Egyptian, including the better paid jobs such as Divemasters. One girl we spoke to said they have a low turn over of staff and treat everyone well. All the staff were outstanding. I have never stayed anywhere quite like it. For example, on our last night we were chatting and our daughter said next time she would like to ride a camel. On the morning of our departure two camels turned up. She was gobsmacked! The divemasters are very aware of the environment, provide cotton bags to save using plastic for shopping and do recycling.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We all said it was the best vacation we have ever had. We plan to go back next year and will be booking before long. The diving, scenery, staff, local people food, relaxation, all brilliant. If you want flash night clubs and all influences stay in Sharm. If you want a place with local culture visit Dahab. I would highly recommend this dive centre for diving, as a restaurant-even if you are staying somewhere else, as a hotel to stay in and completely chill out.

review 1 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My son being happy to be left on the beach with the lady that provided the childcare - allowing us to focus on our diving.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack everything you think you need and then remove half of it and eat at the dive centre all the time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10

review 20 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing my sons (aged 11 & 13) become Open Water Divers & get all the pleasure from the underwater world that I do-swimming past blue-spotted rays, goatfish, moray eels, scorpion fish, squid, shrimps, pipefish & so much more. Opening the window each day to be greeted by an empty beach , a blue sky & a turquoise sea.............

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't worry about the 40 C temperature in August-the wind which is usual at this time of year makes it wonderfully warm but not unbearably hot. Also, much better to go in the quiet season-less divers-more attention!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The operator is obviously run by a combination of Europeans & Egyptians/Bedouins & our guide as a marine biologist was understandably very keen to minimize any impact on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good-an excellent place to learn to dive- very unhurried, very relaxing-plenty of time to unwind. Although, saying that the week still flew past! Yvonne our guide was just SUPERB. I felt so very safe in her hands & the boys warmed to the ever smiling Ahmed, their guide.

review 24 Jul 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was very enjoyable. The most memorable part was learning to SCUBA dive and seeing all the life on and around the reef. It was amazing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Drink more water than you think you need, especially in the summer. It is very hot and easy to get dehydrated.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I think so. There were definitely benefits to local people as lots of the staff at the dive centre are from the local community. Traveling will always have an impact on the environment, but there is an ethos at the dive centre to try and minimise this where possible (by reusing plastic bottles for example).

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

As a family vacation this was excellent. The staff were brilliant in every way. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there and am hoping that we can make another trip there again.

review 10 Jun 2009

Kate at the dive centre was simply marvellous. Everything we asked her to do was attended to immediately. The rooms are brand new with lovely gardens and sea view. It is 20 minute walk from the action but ideal and safe for families and young singles. The breakfast was delicious from poached, scrambled or fried and the pancakes scrumptious. The diving is world class and I would recommend this vacation to all. Looking forward to going back.

review 9 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The diving was better than we could have hoped for.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Dahab is a bit messy, dusty with goats & camels adding to the smell and mess!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we weren't funding American Multi National Companies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An enjoyable vacation, would do it again tomorrow.

review 2 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Diving in Ras Abu galum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The operator doesn't provide alcohol but is happy to allow you to use your own in their restaurant.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes local dive instructor use of local staff, drivers etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent as advertised.

review 16 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The diving was superb, and the dive instruction was equal to it. Diving the Canyon, and coming across a turtle swimming through our own dispersed bubble field (your own exhaled air filters through the rock from when below in the Canyon) was truly memorable. Two Eagle rays and stunning coral reefs on all dives made a weeks diving all too short!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If going in summer, build in rest days, and if with children, have them take oral rehydration salts daily. It is very very hot, often with a strong dry wind and although our youngest drank copious amounts he needed more salt. He was wiped out for a day, but rehydration salts got him back just fine, and kept his balance the rest of the trip. Buy your water from local shops, 5 of us were getting through circa 15 litres a day, and this adds up if you buy from the restaurants. From the local shops it is 10% of the price, or less. Be prepared to spend more than you expected - the diving is so good, you'll want to do more!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Generally yes. The amount of litter on the beaches and street of Dahab is alarming, and whilst diving we all collected floating plastic bags that easily can pass for jellyfish and snare turtles. The dive centre keeps its area very clean, but the increasing tourism and associated development is not good for the reefs.

review 10 Aug 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Learning to scuba-dive!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wanted to learn to dive and understood Red Sea is spectacular, looked on line, found the dive centre on-line, liked their web-site, resort matched up to expectations. Happy Days!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the locals were friendly and non-threatening. The dive centre were very emphatic in their scuba teaching that coral and sea-life remain untouched.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 1 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

First snorkelling trip along the edge of the reef and seeing an eagle ray.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Centre is focussed very much on diving and we were snorkelling only. We left notes for future snorkellers which we hope will help people to find their snorkelling feet a bit more quickly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we did, though we would also have found it helpful if the Centre had more links with other local operators, as they were not able to run any trips out while we were there.

review 7 Nov 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip from start to finish.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring your sense of adventure and "go local" - if you are the type who needs 24x7 CNN go and stay elsewhere.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely - the dive instructors / guides were actively picking up rubbish they found in the sea on each and every dive. Also a large number of the staff used are locals including the Bedouin Nannies who took amazing care of our children (in the process turning them into highly proficient bracelet manufacturers!!)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

First Class - this gave us everything we were looking for and more.

review 31 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The site is beautiful, and has a very chilled, friendly atmosphere. My two children (14 and 11) did their Junior PADI Open Water course and loved every minute of it, thanks to the laidback, entertaining style of Aussie Tony, their instructor, and because there were only the two of them. We had some lovely shore dives from some great locations and lots of laughs with the dive team.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take cash! You can't use a visa card anywhere, so all meals have to be paid for in cash. The ATM machines are unreliable at best.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. The dive guides were careful to ensure that their groups took care of the coral reef, and often picked up rubbish from the sea floor if they could.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Couldn't fault it. A perfect place to learn to dive.

review 18 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Achieving Open water Diving qualification!! Fabulous weather - fabulous people!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of cash - Egyptian ATM's are not reliable!!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - lots of locals employed by the company with a few English people running the show - excellent combination.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - loved it - counting the pennies so we can go back as soon as possible!

review 29 Dec 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sight of my husband's face when he came out of the water having done his first open water dive. In one fell swoop he was converted to beach vacations in the sun.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take the insect repellent, chill out and take it as it comes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. All the non dive staff were locals. Lynne's Egyptian family and kids were always around creating a fantastic atmosphere. Great emphasis on working with the environment and low impact. No flashy air-con cars, local drivers and facilities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

11/10 - Best vacation in years - incredibly relaxing, but as a dive vacation physically hard work. Fantastic place, fantastic people.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies