43 independent reviews for Algarve vacation accommodation

Reviews for Algarve vacation accommodation

SHOW
14
26
2
0
1

review 9 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I really enjoyed watching the kids play with Lola the cat and improve their swimming in the pool.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely hire a car and bring mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I felt encouraged to use local shops and restaurants which we enjoyed, the furniture was upcycled and I think that reduces environmental impact

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a wonderful family vacation, we didn't feel over crowed or isolated so it was just perfect for us.

review 26 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The design of the homestay, its buildings and gardens. To wake to birdsong was wonderful and after a hot day out to come back and have a cooling swim in the pool was heaven. The welcome and generosity of the hosts make this a very special place.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need a good amount of bottled water, the Chapel Suite has a very small fridge so you need to buy food daily. The bakery in Odixere is superb. Relax and enjoy the hammock!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - the homestay's 17 hectares are a haven for flora and birdlife. We used and were encouraged to use the local stores, markets and restaurants. Recycling was well organised and clear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 stars - it was one of the best vacations we have had.

review 2 Jun 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Finding an amazing beach on the west coast and a gorgeous lake 15 minutes drive north of the accommodation. The bakery in the local village was another bonus- fab bread, cakes and quiche.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire a car. Luz car were great in Lagos. The roads are narrow and often don't have pavements; I wouldn't have liked to walk them. Even if you want to just stay at the house and use the pool you'd need to go to the local village for supplies. I wished I'd taken insect repellant and was very glad I'd remembered my sun hat!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

These vacation houses recycle rubbish and water and have an ecological source of electricity and water. They also provide eco cleaning products, a small hand made soap and a bottle of locally produced wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The accommodation hosts was very welcoming, relaxing, beautifully decorated inside and outside, the gardens are lush and varied. The pool was fab.

review 23 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Swimming in the lovely deep pool with our five year old daughter, with no one else around.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you don't want to hire a car then you can get taxis to beaches and back fairly cheaply, the taxi service Inge recommended were great.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, the commitment to ecology is very clear.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Wonderful. Beautiful place and everyone working there was so friendly and helpful. Very relaxed but with a luxurious feel. Would recommend.

review 12 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part was the quiet and the peace, we stayed in april and we found a really quite place, with flowers fruit trees birds and sun, where you can take a break, breath and enjoy the nature and yourselves.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take your time, we have been there just three night and 2.5 day but that is not enough to really appreciate the atmosphere which is unique (A car is needed).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, thet had solar panel for heating the water and for power, they used just natural cleaning product and gave us natural soap and a really tasty biologic wine, moreover they were situated in a not turistic area and gave us many tips for local markets resturant and activities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Perfect for families but also for person alone which are seeking for some time to think and relax.

review 8 Sep 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This is a stunning place to stay. It has been beautifully restored and rebuilt by the owners and they have filled it with old and interesting pieces of furniture and art. It was incredily comfortable and nothing was too much for the owners. They provided a big box of Lego for my son and a guitar for my partner and plenty of hammocks for me to read my books in so we were all happy. It is in a very convenient location so easy to explore the area - that is if you can tear yourself away from the pool. We will definitely be coming back!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring mosquito repellent

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As the place we stayed is off grid and they grow a lot of their own produce and recycle everything it felt very environmentally sound.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Five star - we loved it!

review 26 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most exciting part of our vacation was seeing the property and our room for the first time. It was truly magical.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The Quinta we stayed in was quite remote ( which made it special) but I would say a car is essential to get around. Also, be aware that August is very busy and beautiful looking beaches are crowded.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes the Quinta is very eco friendly and the owner encourages visitors to use the local shops and restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Our vacation was one of the best we have ever had. The Quinta and owner are very welcoming and helpful whilst being unobtrusive and we had a fantastic time and will be back.

review 8 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was wonderful from start to finish - a warm welcome, a beautiful house, lovely pool, fantastic views. The best bit was being outside all of the time, we could sit out for meals, wander about picking flowers, lemons and herbs, stroke the cat, visit the horse - it really was idyllic. The children loved the pizza night and we enjoyed meeting the other guests too.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We were lucky enough to spend two weeks here so could relax by the pool some days and explore on others. You will need a car really but there is plenty to do nearby so you won't feel like you're spending your vacation in the car. Wonderful beaches close by, Lagos is touristy but nice for a wander around and has a good selection of restaurants. Would definitely recommend exploring the coast if you can drag yourself away from the peace and tranquility.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Inge and Theo are working hard on all of this. We were encouraged to recycle everything and the coloured bins really help - the children loved taking the rubbish out!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great vacation and we hope to return.

review 25 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The swimming pool is a tropical paradise.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire car is definitely needed. You can walk to the village in 30 mins but in 40 degrees heat as it was in August, it was hard work.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, as despite the heat, we were comfortable without aircon.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Was an amazing place to stay. Gorgeous pool. Inge was very friendly and helpful. Just need a car next time.

review 5 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Inge was incredibly welcoming and helpful all the time. We celebrated a birthday while there and she was happy to lend us a cake tin. We decided to invite the hosting family as well as the other guests to our little celebration and had a great time by the pool. A few days later Inge put on a pizza party by the bread oven. She made the dough and sauce and we all brought toppings and drinks. Apart from guests of the quinta there were also young volunteers from a nearby permaculture farm. It was really a great evening with enthusiastic and inspiring people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Allow yourself time to just hang-out at the quinta. It's so relaxing and there are plenty of places to sit/lie while reading yet another good book. A true possibility to stop life for a bit.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We went shopping in the local village and especially appreciated the bakery. Inge also gave us a bottle of organic wine produced by a neighbour as a welcoming present, and we bought more from her later on. Very nice wine. We particularly enjoyed being able to go out in the garden and pick herbs and the odd pepper or tomato (whatever was ripe at the time) for our cooking. It's clear that Inge and Teo are very concerned about conservation, so e.g. there were very clearly designated bins for different kinds of recycling. And they are off the grid producing their own electricity from big solar panels.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a wonderful time, even though we unfortunately all suffered from bad colds that we'd brought with us from the UK. The place was a perfect place for restoration and recuperation, so even though we didn't have the vacation we'd planned, we were all very happy with the experience we did have in this wonderful, warm and relaxing space. We've been lucky to be on other equally wonderful vacations, so don't want to say this one is The Best. Hence the 4 rather than 5 stars.

review 26 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We spent 10 nights and it was all really great, friendly and helpful hosts and beautiful, clean accommodation. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the garden (not being a gardener myself) the plants are beautiful and there are so many different places to sit, with each providing a different view. The pool was fantastic, great toddler areas and also big enough for swimming. The location was also very good, we were able to do lots of trips out and still have plenty of time relaxing by the pool.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire a car via Inga and stop on your way from the airport for supplies especially bottled water.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The accommodation certainly does no harm to the local area, we ate locally at restaurants that were recommended in the large folder of information and also bought bread from a local baker who came to the Quinta to bake in the bread oven. The gardens are a great habitat for insects and birds.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It exceeded our expectations and we plan to return in the next couple of years.

review 16 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and tranquillity of the surroundings. The wonderful welcome shown by Inge and Theo. The freedom to wander their land, pick oranges, lemons and apricots. The beautiful swimming pool with a natural rock surround which all three generations used every single day. All the space that the Vivenda cottage and grounds offered us. The wonderful hospitality of all the local people in the fish market, the small supermarkets and small cafe's/restaurants. Lunch at Chico Ze an absolutely amazing lunch time only restaurant set in a wonderful grounds restored and set as a museum with school room, chapel, farm buildings a wonderful place for our almost 3 years old grandson to enjoy. The meals were superb and the service outstanding.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire a car through Inge's contacts at Marina Car Hire, no waiting around for hours like others had to, take good walking shoes but mostly sit back relax and take in all that there is to see and do.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from once shopping in Lagos at a larger supermarket we bought locally daily, ate local and only travelled locally.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

100%. Exactly what we as a family of three generations, age range from almost 3 to 71, were looking for

review 1 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Great place, great people!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Relax and lean back. enjoy sitting on the terras and doing nothing. owners are superhelpful.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very nice - also perfect place to be with kids!

review 5 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The accommodation is faultless and very beautiful and the hosts are welcoming and friendly.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

My daughter is vegan and while Portugal is hopeless for vegans, she had a great time picking fruit and nuts from the trees and buying vegetables (local and cheap) in the markets.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a lovely time!

review 7 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The location - so tranquil and perfect hosts.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The accommodation is perfect for getting away from it all, but with facilities nearby when needed.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best!

review 28 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

For my son it was feeding the horses, for my fella the beautiful trees on the land and for me the good vibes and being poolside

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Rent a car, walk the land, bbq some fish

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, felt the owners are trying to be as self sustainable as possible

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

So relaxing! Excellent apartment with beautiful surroundings, chilled out owners who make u feel very welcome. Looking forward for a return.

review 17 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation was staying at the Quinta. We were very warmly welcomed by our hosts Inge and Theo who are very helpful and easy going. The location atop a hill, is a charming restored farm with its annexes, surrounding gardens and beautiful lagoon like swimming pool. One can enjoy the enchanting landscape views from the multiple terraces and much care and attention has been given to make the interior decoration tasteful and comfortable. We were so relaxed and happy spending tranquil days by the swimming pool (that our 3 year old loved splashing about in) and barbecuing our meals using the outside kitchen facilities, that we often chose this option over days out at the beach.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Rent a car through Inge and Theo, we ended up paying much more than we needed to. We also thoroughly enjoyed a day out on the West coast of the Algarve, its totally different and stunning with natural reserves and actually just a half hour drive from the Quinta. There are folders in the houses giving very precious indications on restaurants, beaches, shopping facilities etc. We found this advice to be very useful with some great, cheap, typically portuguese addresses.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All rubbish is efficiently sorted and recycled with different bins for each type of waste. Our hosts recommended that we shop at the local daily farmers market in the village, which was excellent and that we used as much as possible along with the local bakers. We also ate in local restaurants and used the local commerce.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent vacation that we all thoroughly enjoyed and would warmly recommend. Perfect for a relaxing family vacation. Also an ideal setting for visiting the Algarve.

review 7 Jun 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The space both inside and outside, and the beautiful pool.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Whilst we had a car, and we did make use of it, but I think it would be possible to manage with bikes for Odiaxere and Lagos.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, Theo and Inge's commitment to the local area is very evident

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fantastic place, and Theo, Inge and their family have created a very special atmosphere. A brilliant place for our children's first vacation abroad. It would have been nice if there would have been children in the other guesthouse while we were there but this was a great place for both us and them.

review 9 Sep 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our young son finally finding the courage to come into the sea on the last day.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't plan to do too much - the Quinta is so lovely you'll want to spend lots of time there. A car was really useful, even though we only used it for short trips. It would have been too hot to walk during most of the day.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The owners seem very mindful of the environment and the community. It was easy to recycle waste and local businesses were recommended.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a really lovely break. This very special place has a wonderfully relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Very suitable for young children - there were even boxes of toys to play with.

review 21 Jul 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There was so much about this vacation that we loved. The beauty of the quintal, the colours, the attention to detail (nothing is mass-produced, everything feels unique); the hammock and the pool; having freshly-laid eggs for breakfast, or picking up a lemon from the garden; perhaps most of all, the genuine warmth and hospitality of the owners. We also loved having the choice between doing absolutely nothing and venturing out. We were particularly blown away (not literally) by some of the stunning beaches on the nearby Atlantic coast; great surfing too.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Rent a car, unless you really just want to completely unwind and stay very local. It's possible to walk from the quinta to the local village, but apart from that you need a car. The local beach was further away (on foot) than we expected (appr. 40 mins walk). It's lovely to walk from the local beach to Lagos.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, there is a true sense of care for the environment at the quinta, not just going through the motions but genuinely slowing down, considering the options and doing what it best for, or least harmful too, the environment. We were only there for a week but we also had the impression that the owners, who are Dutch, are very integrated into the local area and work with local people whenever they can.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a fabulous time. We feel this is small-scale rural tourism at its best.

review 19 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The property was really unique, beautifully restored, in several acres of land, full of flora and fauna, with a relaxing remote setting but only 5 mins from Lagos. The owners were very friendly, and shared their oranges and lemons - delicious for breakfast. The pool is also very good - we were only brave enough to use it once, but it would be fantastic in the heat of summer.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Explore the fields around the quinta, and the nearby nature reserves. Cliff top walks are fantastic - we did Salema-Burgau and Benagil-Marinha, and the west coast beaches are beautiful and quiet. Try the local wines - excellent value and really good too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As much as it is possible - the quinta has several recycling bins and solar power, and we used candles when possible!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic relaxing family vacation - great to get away from it all and enjoy a beautiful part of the world.

review 8 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

This is a beautiful spot with very friendly and helpful hosts. My favourite aspect was the variety of outdoor seating - it made for some very relaxed moments.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes - so much more considerate of the environment than so much of the Algarve.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Our fourth responsible travel find and a fourth success. Thank you.

review 24 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful, relaxed atmosphere of the accommodation. The quietness of the surrounding hills. The beautiful pool with lots of vegetation around it and comfortable lounge chairs. The attention to detail the owners have put into everything (no plastic!). It felt really timeless. The owners were very accommodating; Inge especially was very helpful, laid-back, and a pleasure to talk to.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book enough time to relax and slow down. We were there for eight days and only went out exploring for 3 of them (we're admittedly quite lazy). The guest house (we were in the smaller one) and pool were so beautiful it was hard to tear ourselves away. And the hammocks...

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our hosts were very environmentally conscious, and the materials of the house seemed like they were re-used had been thoughtfully chosen. They had an amazing notebook full of recommendations for local places to eat and visit, and Inge even guided us to an organic farm where the very generous owner picked the veg we wanted then and there. So yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was amazing. Really the best one I've ever had. I loved the feel of the place and I felt really at home with out all the baggage of being at home (phone, computer, projects, piles of stuff...)

review 26 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved the house where we stayed. The garden, the swimming pool, the quietness, the views - were all just what we wanted.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy being in the house and garden and pool. Shop in the local markets for fresh fish and vegetables and cook delicious food.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I think the whole way that the owners of the property have designed and built it - the garden - the re-cycling - the encouragement to shop locally all benefit the local area. Unfortunately the planners have allowed a great deal of development in the Algarve that is not sympathetic to the environment - but from the house and garden this is not visible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent place to stay and relax. I honestly could not think of a nicer house / garden. I was sad that in the 20 years since I was last in Southern Portugal, there has been a lot of ugly development. However, we tended to drive into the hills or go to the wild west coast and that is still beautiful and unspoiled and only 40 mins away.

review 8 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The beautiful gardens and pool which, together with the comfortable and well-equipped accommodation, really helped us to unwind and relax.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take your mosquito repellant!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the house is well designed in this respect with good facilities for recycling. We shopped in the local village and might have considered using bikes if weather was a little cooler.

review 2 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I think the thing I will remember the most how often the word idyllic came to mind. Just a beautiful place to stay.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Deffo book a car through Inge, we saved a fortune. (but at the airport you're looking for a man not a stand). Also the free Guidebook was brilliant and alongside Inge's recommendations we ate at some lovely places. Oh and watch out for mosquitoes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As far as I could tell yes. Certainly recycling was made easy unlike any other vacation I've been on and from what I could see our hosts took their environmental and social responsibilities very seriously.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Seriously, can all vacations be like this? Beautiful apartment, brilliant pool, stunning scenery, generous hosts and a stack of awesome beaches, restaurants and castles in easy reach. The farm setting means there's always something interesting going on, but equally it’s lovely and peaceful. Please can I come again?

review 8 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A very peaceful and tranquil place to stay. The owners respected our privacy and made us feel as if it was our own home. Beautiful weather in early November. A great place for a winter break. The kids were still paddling in the pool in temperatures of 24 degrees.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to have your own car or bikes to get around. The gates to the pool are not secure but it is easy to block the gate from the house if you have little children. Buy fish locally and roast it whole on an open fire outside - delicious.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The quinta is set up carefully with solar panels and recycling etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very pleasant and relaxing. We came back rested and in better health with the sea air.

review 25 Apr 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our daughter stroking the ducklings. The shock of jumping into the pool. Just reading and relaxing whist baby was asleep!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hire a car through Inga - she uses a local car hire company, ensuring that trade is done locally and also the baby seat was free (I was quoted €50 with a well known name). If using a baby seat, bring with you the little padded bits from your own seat back home - the seats with any car company will e safe, but can be a bit tatty or chaffing). The beach and local village are further that we had thought, and we were glad to have the car - walking would have been quite a trek.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We were encouraged to shop locally. There were information booklets on markets dates and times, local specialities and wines. Our hosts did what they could to ensure the vacation impacted minimally on the environment - solar heating, recycling water, chemical free cleaning products etc. British Airways offer (at a cost) to replace the Co2 used in the flight, so really its just the car travel impacting on the environment. (hopefully)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very relaxing. Our 20 month old daughter loved it... the animals the space the pool, and SUNSHIINE!! Our hosts were lovely and their children very friendly and welcoming. The Granja and terraces were beautiful. Many thanks :)

review 8 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had a lovely stay and would recommend it! A vivenda is full of charm and character. It was positioned a short distance from the main house with its own lovely veranda, court yard and access to the swimming pool. As there is only one other guest house you pretty much feel like you have the place to yourself. It is located on a tranquil spot on a hill. It is a short drive to the nearest beach, village and lagos. We also found it a great base for day trips to Sagres, Silves, monchique etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The owners have prepared a folder with suggestions for places to visit and local restaurants etc which we found very helpful.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fab!

review 4 Nov 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching the sun come up and eating breakfast on the veranda in November. Perfect house for resting in the evening. Lovely hosts, pool to ourselves... amazing!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely a place to recharge and sooth your soul. A liking for animals is a must - very friendly cat, dogs, chicken and horse. Also hire a car to reach the fabulous beaches and towns.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Every effort is being made to be organic, self sustaining and local materials are being used. The farm is also a WWOOF farm and has volunteers throughout the year.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Totally relaxing, perfect for a couple or a family alike. Small children are well catered for with very friendly and helpful hosts. You will become part of their family for the week and feel that you are in your own home.

review 8 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We loved every minute of our vacation! From the moment we arrived, Inge made us feel at home. The place is very beautiful. The guest house we stayed in was delightful - rustic, homely, very fitting with the environment with all the comforts that one needed. My child loved having other children to play with, the gorgeous big swimming pool, and the relaxed easy atmosphere. A lovely balance between company and privacy.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Our only suggestion would be to have a car. Meia Praia beach is a good walk away as is Odiaxere for groceries etc. Also having a car gave us the opportunity to explore the west coast which we loved - the unspoilt beaches, less people etc

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Inge and her family are very conscious of recycling and organic household cleaners, organic food etc. The horses on the farm are, as Inge puts it, 'Buddhist horses'....they do not get ridden but are there to enjoy and be enjoyed as part of the farm. There were also Wwoofers at the accommodation who were delightful people. It was first time I had heard about this organisation. They have also tried to restore the house and keep the original features as well as use stones etc from the farm for their current building projects.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We rate our vacation very highly. A wonderfully serene, warm, relaxing and very welcoming place!

review 5 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peace and quiet of the place, the beautiful views of the countryside and the easy-going, relaxed and hospitable owners. We felt very much at home there and our 18 month old daughter loved it (and she slept really well in the comfy cot supplied for us which was great!).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

It benefited local people in the sense that we shopped in the nearby small village, bought produce from local farmers. We appreciated all the environmentally-friendly practices of Inge and Theo and spending time there has made us think a bit more about how to do better ourselves back home.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. If you like a relaxed atmosphere, peace, natural beauty and still want to be near a beach and a large town then this is the place for you.

review 28 Apr 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Portugal as a whole is one of the most memorable vacations we have ever had. Our accommodation just topped it off. Specific though... the beaches were just beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go prepared for the heat and mosquitoes. (i.e. lots of sun block, bottled water and repellent).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Well the car travel did not benefit the locals or environment but we certainly enjoyed the local produce and ate like kings and queens. Portugal as a whole seems very conscious of the environment and offers plenty of opportunities to recycle and reduce waste. The accommodation was completely set up for this too.

review 17 Jul 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

On arrival in Portugal, finding our way there in the dark shadowed lanes, waking up in a 4 poster bed to the sound of crickets and running water and a cool breeze coming through our bedroom window, then seeing the Quinta in daylight - a flurry of colour and old world character with beautiful undulating views. The Keizer family are so welcoming and hospitable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely need a car to explore the region. Wonderful crashing surf beaches on the west coast with the finest sand underfoot - Praia do Amado - 40 mins away. Best places to eat wonderful seafood, check out little restaurants tucked away form the harbourside in Ferragudo.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely - the vacation was self-catering so we bought from the local bakers, supermarkets, fish from the harbourside, then ate out in the evenings. We learnt about organic farming and recycled all our rubbish!

review 9 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We will remember the scenery of the surroundings at the accommodation. It is a very beautiful place with lots of colour and wildlife.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Consider renting a car (although walking is do-able!) for the freedom to go exploring along the west coast of the Algarve - it is worth the journey.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We enjoyed the market and ate lots of juicy cherries and delicious cheese from local market traders. The accommodation is very well run, all the water used during the day is reused to water the plants in the gardens and the hot water is heated up by solar panels. It was very inspiring to see it all working together so well.

4. Any other comments?

***** and we are looking forward to going back again one day!

review 25 Aug 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The heat, the sun, the swimming pool, the beautiful plants around the house. Watching our children feed horses and chickens, pick their own carrots and eggs and exploring the whole place.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You definitely need a car, with air con. The beach is a ten min drive away and not walkable unless you can handle French Foreign Legion style exercise! Take mosquito protection.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Everything's recycled and locals, I assume, would benefit from increased spending.

review 2 Jun 2006

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation was how quiet and secluded it is, especially the main villa. The pool and the terraces were beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We do not need to give any tips as all the necessary information was provided in a book by the owners.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The trip would have benefited the locals as we bought food at the local stores in Odeaxere. We used natural products, i.e. eco dishwasher tablets, so there would have been no impact on the environment.

review 19 Sep 2006

Algarve accommodationThis accommodation is a fantastic place if you really want to get away from it all. It offers a real haven of peace and the fact that you are encouraged to recycle all products enhances that feeling. I would say you would need a car - although a fellow guest did get the train and didn't seem to have a complaint. I would say you would need to be fit to get around on foot though. The owners were friendly and Inge even offered to baby-sit for us one night (we took her up on it and had a great meal in the local town). Before you arrive you will need to stock up on water they haven't had their bore hole tested). The nearest supermarket is easy to find, or there is a mini supermarket in the nearest town. Before we left we sent a few emails to the owners - to find out about cot bedding/shop opening times etc and email responses were quick and English excellent. The stress of traveling via Gatwick with a baby and a 2 year old very soon melted away once we had a beer on the terrace and looked at the stars - fantastic!

Algarve accommodation swimming poolAlgarve accommodationAlgarve accommodation


review 4 Dec 2005

We have just returned from a week at this accommodation near Lagos Portugal. The whole set up is like going back in time apart for the facilities while they look outdated do work. Plenty of hot water, lovely log fires and no tv. They do have one but somehow it doesn't seem to fit into the package. Every morning we had fresh oranges pulled from the trees and the cock woke us up regularly. The owners Inge and Theo were very welcoming and chatty but not in your face. They know everything about the area and have a booklet with useful knowledge put together. The weather in late November can be mixed but when the sun comes out its gorgeous, warm without worrying about getting sun burnt. Mind you it gets cold at night so come prepared. One thing I would advise is hiring a car as it's in the middle of nowhere but at the same time not far once you have a car. Be prepared for mosquitoes as they come with the rain. All in all a relaxing getting back to nature vacation.

review 20 Sep 2005

What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation? Walking on the nearby beach in the beautiful evening light as the baby began to take his first steps. Baby enjoyed the animals around - hens, horses and sheep. Also the pool has a very shallow area for babies which was good. The weather in September was perfect - warm and sunny but not too hot - a slight breeze.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The accommodation was lovely - very tasteful, the flowers and trees also beautiful. They are still developing the accommodation so there is a bit of building work still going on. The owners provide useful information on shopping and restaurants.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We found the local market to be very good - lovely veg at very reasonable prices. The rubbish is recycled and solar power is used. However, we did fly to get there.

review 10 Jun 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We really enjoyed relaxing on the veranda every evening, listening to the sounds of the countryside, enjoying the peace, eating a meal and taking in the view as the light faded. Our 19 month old son loved the farm: meeting the animals, splashing in the pool and playing with the other children. A beautiful and mostly quiet sandy beach is just down the road which was fabulous and our hosts showed us great hospitality.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't let the children get too near the sheep - it doesn't like kids!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The family who run the farm take care to run it in an ethical way, in the way they source building materials, recycle rubbish, grow a small amount of organic produce, use environmentally-friendly detergents, utilise the local markets, connect with the local population (including young people) and they have plans to further extend their remit to environmentally-friendly fuel and power. It was great to be able to enjoy the delights of such a place and feel as though we were supporting an ethical initiative - that really made the difference for us.

review 30 Mar 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of our vacation has been our daughter Emma who is nearly 3 enjoying being on a farm with one sheep, two horse, dogs cats and chickens, and seeing orange trees, lemon trees and having no television - a totally bonding week for the three of us.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Tips we would give to other travelers booking this vacation - certain parts of the Algarve coast can be windy, so hunt out sheltered coves which are also beautiful. Lagos has some beautiful coves. Food is cheap and lovely.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our vacation certainly minimized impacts on the environment as the farmhouses were all very picturesque yet unobtrusive. Our hosts provided eco friendly cleaning and washing materials.

4. Any other comments?

We did indeed enjoy our vacation, and will use responsible travel again and will also recommend to friends.

review 22 Dec 2005

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Taking my young children on the beach. I liked the swimming pool areas and the building we stayed in. The pizza restaurant in town. Having a meal with the host and his family.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a very smoky fire. Take some old clothes to collect wood, you get covered with charcoal. A chainsaw might be useful!. Some knives for the kitchen and an oven that works.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As far as I could tell he benefit to local people seemed to be minimal, a bit of work and more business coming into the area. Compared to most tourist developments in The Algarve this property was much lower impact, visually, in its construction and in terms of land use. Waste water drained onto the land and some of it seemed to be left to its own devices for example. The property on the whole did not seem to be run in a particularly sustainable way.

4. Any other comments?

I didn't like being told to fix the radiator in my bedroom myself, or to go and get my own wood. I was wanting a break from this kind of thing, thats why I went on vacation. I expected better service for what to me seemed like a lot of money. Particularly as the host sorted wood out for himself during our stay.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your e-mail. Let me start by saying that we, and in particular Theo, my partner who spent most time with them, were very surprised by Sophies review: I was in Holland for a week during their stay, but Theo spent a good time with Sophie, her family and other guests and friends that were here: they had a wonderful dinner together, coffee by the pool and a lot of fun in the new carroussel that was installed here. We regret that the feedback wasn't given directly to us: in this way practical things could have been resolved (kitchen knives) and technical problems repaired (heater). In the beginning of their vacation there was a moment that the heating was not working but this was due to an empty gas bottle. When told so, Theo put a new gas bottle immediately. I would like to respond in detail to some of the issues raised: 1. firewood; I'm afraid there has been a misunderstanding here: we always deliver firewood to our guests, this is also written down in our information. Guests get the first basket for free and pay 3,50 euros for every next basket. When the wood is finished they just have to ask for a new basket. It is absolutely not our intention that people bring a chainsaw or gather their own firewood unless they like to do so!! This is where the misunderstanding happened because at some stage Theo asked if they needed firewood. They did not, because they already had picked some up themselves. As said before, normally guests don't go down collecting their own firewood, but since some people like to do something while they are here, Theo let them; (by the way: we didn't charge anything for the wood). 2. Smoky chimney; In principle the fire place is not supposed to be smoky, however it is a big chimney and it needs some extra attention: if you start the fire with small twigs and allow the chimney to heat up, then you can build up the fire gradually. Of course, on windless days, when there is hardly any draught in the chimney, it can get smoky. Besides this, sometimes the wood they collected was quite large which brings the fire too much to the front of the fireplace, thus causing smoke in the house. As they didn't say anything about the fire Theo assumed that they were fine. Guests who were in the house after Sophie didn't have any complaints. 3. Sustainability: we regret that this judgement is given without having asked any questions about it while being here. We have been busy renovating and developing our quinta for several years now, and, unfortunately, we don't have the means to organise everything in one time. Part of our water and heating is already heated by solar power and by wood stoves. Our objective is that within a few years all houses will be heated by renewable energy: sun, wood and bio-diesel. We will produce our own bio-diesel made of waste oil and rape seed oil (we will cultivate rapeseed on our land) and use it for generators, cars, machinery and pumps. Furthermore, where possible, we use recycled and natural building materials (clay, stones) for our constructions. All rain water is being collected and we use environment friendly cleaning materials. We are developing our organic vegetable garden and make our own compost. In the end all waste water - - black (toilets) and grey (shower, kitchen) - will be collected and purified by ecological systems to be re-used for irrigation. However, we are still in progress and it will take at least one or two years more to be completely sustainable. We have written a Development Plan containing details on all these projects. To give guests a better impression we will now put a summary in the guesthouses. 4. Local Benefit: As we are only a small unit, with at this moment a maximum capacity of 10 guests, we will indeed not have a huge impact on the local economy. However, we try to stimulate guests to make use of the local markets and shops. Besides this we are working on a project called 'Quinta Biológica Educativa'. If we get this plan approved by the EU, we will start workshops on organic gardening, sustainable living and regional arts and crafts for school children in the region and visitors and guests. In short: a lot of projects are still in on-going phase. 5. Service: as indicated above, the collection of wood was a misunderstanding. Theo doesn't have any recollection of having told Sophie to fix the radiator in her bedroom. He does recall a remark that maybe there was air in the radiator and that Sophie's partner offered to have a look. After that Theo didn't hear anything anymore about the subject. There is an extra electric radiator in the house that can be plugged in. All in all we really regret that the guests experienced their vacations this way and we also regret that they didn't communicate with us so that we could make their stay a better experience.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies