15 independent reviews for Morocco cultural tour

Reviews for Morocco cultural tour

SHOW
1
13
1
0
0

review 24 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing up to the Kasbah at Ait Benhaddoo and watching the sunset over the Atlas Mountains followed by the moon rising from the opposite horizon

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy the experiences and don't worry about any minor discomforts

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much as local people and businesses benefited

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We were fortunate to have had such a great experience

review 30 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Chefchaouen, meeting nomads and the Atlas Mountains scenery

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't bother booking a single supplement room. I have shared rooms with unknown females often and have yet to really not get on with my room/cabin mates. Save the money for souvenirs etc ! I have made a couple of good friends too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maybe a bit. Probably the amount of money I spent on the trip and the locally produced items that I bought to take home contributed more than the rather contrived visits to local charities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable.

review 6 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A huge variety of sights, places, experiences and people - we gained an insight into the size, diversity and history of Morocco. We were made welcome at each visit, at each accommodation and by all the local guides. The local guides were very knowledgeable and and this enabled us to make the most of our tours of the main cities.Our tour guide worked tirelessly to ensure we were all comfortable, informed and safe in all the places and situations and had a professional and friendly attitude to the group and to the local businesses that we used.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need a basic level of fitness to cope with the heat and pace of the vacation. Travel light as there are opportunities to wash clothes and buy anything you find you need. Be open to every opportunity and be willing to adapt when there are changes - it is all part of the cultural experience. When changing money on arrival, ask for lots of small notes (20/50 MAD notes)- you will need them for tips and buying bottles of water.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used excellent locally run accommodation, and local guides and saw how local people had been supported to extend and develop their local business. The relationship between the guides and local communities was crucial to the way in which we were welcomed - in every restaurant, guest house and village. Unfortunately we were unable to visit the charities supported by the operator as these were closed due to Ramadan.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had an excellent vacation and saw the very best of Morocco and more! We packed so much into the 15 days and learned so much, it was an unforgettable experience that has inspired us to return and revisit some areas in the Atlas Mountains and on the coast. We would certainly recommend this vacation to our friends and relatives!

review 25 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

ATV driving on the Dunes and beach in Essoeira.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget your scarf when riding Camels in the Sahara.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

4 stars.

review 19 May 2011

Well where does one begin!! We had the most wonderful vacation, saw some amazing sights, met some really lovely people and had a great great vacation, I would certainly recommend the moroccan vacation to friends. Our leader Jamal was really great, kind, patient, funny, we had some great laughs, sorting out problems, taking us to some good restaurants and venues, I hope the operator really look after him because he is a real jewel. We are glad to be back home only for the rest!! Anyway thank you for organising everything, the transfers were waiting for us at the airport and came on time to take us back so all in all a great time.

review 21 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The medinas, the hammams and hiking in the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Morocco can be cold and there is little indoor heating, so remember to bring your long johns and woolly underwear! A pack of cards for something to do at night might also be a good idea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Mostly yes. I am not sure about Fés, where the lunch was in a big touristy place and I suspected that the local guide may have put his own personal gain before benefiting the community. Travelers should be strictly instructed to use the toilet facilities in the Sahara and not leave smelly traces among the dunes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great vacation for those who like to get away from it all and experience different ways of life. I would have liked a little less driving and shopping and more hiking and culture. I love the colours and the music of Morocco and may well return another time.

review 13 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking in the mountains above Chefchaouen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Arrive a good few days early to get over jet lag - you will need all your energy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, through the use of local transport and family-owned hotels/restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 13 Oct 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I liked the guided tour throu Fes. There was so much to see and take in. I liked the following, the Jewish quarter, the ceramic factory, the tanneries, the souks, we did so much in Fes. The camel burger was a new experience. Once we had finished the tour we went to a hotel that looked over the city to listen to the call to prayer from all the Mosques down below, wow it was great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light. You can get most of anything that you might need in Morocco. Once you have got your money, make sure that you get a lot of lose change (coins) this is for tips to the locals.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, where possible we used local restaurants, shopped where the locals shopped and we visited projects for the handicapped. To minimize the impact on the environment we used trains, buses and we walked where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

From the start our tour leader Brahim Todra, started teaching us Arabic words & phrases to use, his knowledge of the places we visited was invaluable, the group of people we shared our vacation with also contributed to making this a great vacation.

review 30 Oct 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Its a tie between a) Sitting with a group of like-minded people under the stars with the full moon in Sahara desert, enjoying a hot plate of chicken Tajine for dinner and b) the Roman Ruins at Volubilis.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you plan to go for a local hamman, do buy your own set of "gloves" and olive oil soap and bring them along. Be sensitive to local customs and wear long sleeve tops (e.g. long-sleeve T-shirt or shirt) especially when you're in the mountains and when visiting local homes. Be prepared to bargain when you are in the Medina. Make sure that you check (and agree with) the prices before you go into a taxi or cafe/restaurant. In general, meals are prepared only when you have placed the order, so be prepared to wait a while. In addition, be prepared as temperature could drop drastically in the desert and mountains.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, we went to local home and purchase items produced by the locals. We travel using a combination of public transportation (local bus and trains) as well as mini bus (just enough to pack all of us) and brought all our trash with us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was really good. We all feel that we have travelled a long time even though it was just 2 weeks. Great variety of activities including train ride, public bus, walking in mountain villages, the camel ride into and out of Sahara desert etc.

review 9 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were far too many to list... The highlights were: the tour of the Fez medina, night in the Sahara sleeping under the stars and waking up to sand dunes all around us, walking in the Toubal National park area, catching a local train, the buzz on the main square in Marrakech - nothing like I've ever seen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with the flow when you are there - don't expect the same things that you get in your home country - every country is different and have different ways. Open up to the people there. They are genuinely friendly and just want to talk (and maybe sell something - which you can say no to. After all, they’re only trying to make a living).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely yes. I was very impressed with the number of opportunities that our tour provided to the local people and the level of exposure to the local culture. I was happy to support their chosen organisations - especially the disabled foundation in Todra.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous. Our local guide really made it a wonderful experience.

review 5 Sep 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Definitely the Sahara. It was my first time to be in any desert, not to say actually riding a camel into it and camping under the moonlight. The camel-riding bit was fun, and I like to believe I developed a special bond with the young camel whose back I rode on twice. The camping was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and made more enjoyable with the local Berber guides' delicious chicken dish as well as the songs and drums. The exploration of the desert was also unforgettable -- I shall never forget the time, when after having climbed to the top of the sand-dunes to watch the sun-rise, we were too exhausted to climb cautiously back down, thus proceeding to just swim-slide ourselves down the sandy dunes.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Hmmm...be prepared for monotonous food. This isn't really the fault of the tour operator I guess, just that foreigners might not be prepared for the same food offered by the local cuisine every day. (this is especially the case because I stayed about a week longer than the two-week duration of the tour, so that I stayed an entire month in Morocco). Every night eating tajine and brochettes and fritz and salty soup and Salade Moroccain can be quite tiring.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. One most remarkable example is when we stayed in the house of Mr Action, who is a local Berber man living in Ouazazate. The tour operator provided him with loans and financial support so that he could construct an extension in his house to become a guest-house. The company definitely is helping the local community, though the step each time might be small.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Enjoyed every bit of it. True some places are unbearably hot, but one can't complain too much!

review 14 Apr 2008

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking through the souks in Marrakech.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you pack the correct kit and take the right medication for stomach upsets etc because pharmacies are not always available (Sahara etc.). Pack books, mp3 players etc for long journeys.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely benefited local economies. Little or no negative impact on environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant vacation, I enjoyed it despite being unwell.

review 13 Jul 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Ooo far too many to remember but I absolutely loved the camel ride and the night in the Sahara Desert and the thrill and excitement of Fez. As for beauty then you just can't go past the view from the pool area at Ait Ben Haddu - out of this world!!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

When making purchases at the Souks make sure you have heaps of fun. The Moroccan stall holders enjoy the lead up and the bartering. If you think you have a bargain then go for it. If you are a single person then try to go out with at least one other person. The Moroccans are flirts and some people could find this offensive but it doesn't happen so often if you are two people shopping together.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes definitely. Natalie was a credit to the travel company when it came to both of these subjects.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely fantastic. I will definitely be doing more tours with this operator. I have also told a travel consultant friend of mine to recommend your company to their clients.

review 11 Jun 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Camping in the Sahara was amazing - the stars were so clear and the moon so bright. Also Ait Benhaddou views were great, as we got there before all the coach tours did.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Remember - this is not an all expenses included trip, the tour leader is not supposed to be an expert guide and the accommodation is fairly basic - but the trip is brilliant. Also the itinerary is quite full, so come with energy to spare.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

In as much as this is possible yes. Our guide also encouraged us to respect local customs and dress and taught us some basic Arabic, which went down well.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant!

review 10 May 2007

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The camel trip into the desert and overnight stay there, sleeping out under the stars and a full moon; plus the mule ride in the High Atlas up the village and overnight stay in the gite there.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for budget accommodation - take all the little items recommended, including universal sink plug. The trip is good value for money and was very interesting day in, day out.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, it definitely helped local people and we were made very aware of minimising our effect on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the better ones we have been on. Heaps of things to tell people about. We would recommend it, but also ensure people realised it is at the budget end of the scale.

Vacation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the vacations. In addition, we don't run these vacations ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies