13 independent reviews for Morocco cultural tour

Reviews for Morocco cultural tour

SHOW
5
7
1
0
0

review 13 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The huge variety of activities we did over the two weeks; from castles, the old medinas to Roman ruins, camel riding in the desert to walking in the Atlas mountains. Yousseff our guide was brilliant; very knowledgeable and although we packed a lot in, we never felt hassled.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want to see Morocco and go off the betaen track, this is the trip to do.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly benefited local people we met - from having meals with local fmilies to calling in for tea with families of nomads.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It couldn't have been better for me.

review 22 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Meeting local people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Consider the amount of travel involved..... Long days in the minibus can be tiring.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes did benefit local people ie guides, local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, well organised, fabulous guide. This vacation certainly gives you a good overview of a wonderful country.

review 22 Nov 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Staying in the Sahara

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just enjoy. It was all taken care of

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely. The operator went to great lengths to use local guides where possible. Also they have a great philosophy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Awesome vacation. Our tour leader Khalad was exceptional. He was extremely patient and tried to accommodate everyone. He was very passionate and knowledgeable.

review 14 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The desert. So different from everything I know....

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check the weather forecast before going there! I was sure it have been warm beginning of May and instead a part from Marrakech and the desert it was always so cold!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definetely benefited local people. Not really reducing environmental impacts or supported conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It has been a fantastic trip. Very tiring but this tour allows to see the many different faces of Morocco: cities, countryside, desert.

review 19 Dec 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Variety of landscapes, very efficient guide, nice and welcoming people.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some warm clothes if you want to visit Morocco in winter.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10/10

review 5 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Had an amazing trip, our tour guide Abdoul & driver Samira were fantastic as were all our other guides. The highlight for me was the Berber family we stayed with and meeting Abdouls family. Am grateful for the time and insight into their family lives and work loads. Met and had a fantastic time with the other people on the tour.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Look into and Respect other cultures before traveling.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our group was very respectful of another culture

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, insightful, 10 out of 10

review 24 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Climbing up to the Kasbah at Ait Benhaddoo and watching the sunset over the Atlas Mountains followed by the moon rising from the opposite horizon

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy the experiences and don't worry about any minor discomforts

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Very much as local people and businesses benefited

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We were fortunate to have had such a great experience

review 30 May 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Chefchaouen, meeting nomads and the Atlas Mountains scenery

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't bother booking a single supplement room. I have shared rooms with unknown females often and have yet to really not get on with my room/cabin mates. Save the money for souvenirs etc ! I have made a couple of good friends too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maybe a bit. Probably the amount of money I spent on the trip and the locally produced items that I bought to take home contributed more than the rather contrived visits to local charities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable.

review 6 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A huge variety of sights, places, experiences and people - we gained an insight into the size, diversity and history of Morocco. We were made welcome at each visit, at each accommodation and by all the local guides. The local guides were very knowledgeable and and this enabled us to make the most of our tours of the main cities.Our tour guide worked tirelessly to ensure we were all comfortable, informed and safe in all the places and situations and had a professional and friendly attitude to the group and to the local businesses that we used.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need a basic level of fitness to cope with the heat and pace of the vacation. Travel light as there are opportunities to wash clothes and buy anything you find you need. Be open to every opportunity and be willing to adapt when there are changes - it is all part of the cultural experience. When changing money on arrival, ask for lots of small notes (20/50 MAD notes)- you will need them for tips and buying bottles of water.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used excellent locally run accommodation, and local guides and saw how local people had been supported to extend and develop their local business. The relationship between the guides and local communities was crucial to the way in which we were welcomed - in every restaurant, guest house and village. Unfortunately we were unable to visit the charities supported by the operator as these were closed due to Ramadan.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had an excellent vacation and saw the very best of Morocco and more! We packed so much into the 15 days and learned so much, it was an unforgettable experience that has inspired us to return and revisit some areas in the Atlas Mountains and on the coast. We would certainly recommend this vacation to our friends and relatives!

review 25 May 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

ATV driving on the Dunes and beach in Essoeira.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't forget your scarf when riding Camels in the Sahara.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

4 stars.

review 19 May 2011

Well where does one begin!! We had the most wonderful vacation, saw some amazing sights, met some really lovely people and had a great great vacation, I would certainly recommend the moroccan vacation to friends. Our leader Jamal was really great, kind, patient, funny, we had some great laughs, sorting out problems, taking us to some good restaurants and venues, I hope the operator really look after him because he is a real jewel. We are glad to be back home only for the rest!! Anyway thank you for organising everything, the transfers were waiting for us at the airport and came on time to take us back so all in all a great time.

review 21 Mar 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The medinas, the hammams and hiking in the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Morocco can be cold and there is little indoor heating, so remember to bring your long johns and woolly underwear! A pack of cards for something to do at night might also be a good idea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Mostly yes. I am not sure about Fés, where the lunch was in a big touristy place and I suspected that the local guide may have put his own personal gain before benefiting the community. Travelers should be strictly instructed to use the toilet facilities in the Sahara and not leave smelly traces among the dunes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a great vacation for those who like to get away from it all and experience different ways of life. I would have liked a little less driving and shopping and more hiking and culture. I love the colours and the music of Morocco and may well return another time.

review 13 Jan 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking in the mountains above Chefchaouen.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Arrive a good few days early to get over jet lag - you will need all your energy!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, through the use of local transport and family-owned hotels/restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies