9 independent reviews for Cambodia and Vietnam vacation

Reviews for Cambodia and Vietnam vacation

SHOW
5
4
0
0
0

review 4 Nov 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting My Son and Angkor Wat. Loved Wat Pho in Bangkok as well

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for long bus journeys on very bumpy roads

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We visited a number of small businesses and social enterprises including restaurants, the circus and family homes on our trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, but quite relentless with little time to settle or relax, but that is why you chose trips like this

review 7 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hoi An, Saigon, and Angkor Wat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book extra time at the beginning and end so that you can make the most of Hanoi and Bangkok, otherwise the time in these two cities is very short.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes to helping local people because we were bringing work and currency to them. Not sure about the other two, tho' we did use the same water bottles repeatedly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fascinating tour to a variety of interesting places.

review 23 Jan 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Difficult to say... learning about the recent history of Vietnam and Cambodia (Ho Chi Minh, the Vietnam war, Cu Chi tunnels, Pol Pot etc) Ha long bay (despite the poor weather)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Poor packing list, make up your own! There is a lot of road travel in Cambodia... and the roads are not very good.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 1 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

As a single traveler I particularly appreciated the fact that all the other members of the tour were extremely friendly and easy to get on with. We are all still in touch with one another even though the vacation is finished. Also, the guides were very knowledgable and enthusiastic and all of the activities we participated in were extremely interesting and enjoyable. The warmth of the local people was very touching and the scenery and sights were beautiful.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a rucksack, travel light and don't forget the mosquito repellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The local people benefitted financially from our activities and shopping and there was no negative environmental impact as far as I could tell.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would definitely recommend this tour and intend to do another one with this company.

review 27 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Loved cycling in Hoi An and seeing the locals and water buffalo in the fields. The cookery class was hilarious and memorable for all the right reasons. The night on the town in Hue - when we were like drowned rats and miserable until we lightened up and saw the funny side.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack light as there is lots of tempting things to buy, plus having wheels on your bag is seriously an advantage. Donít spend too much extra time in Hanoi if you have no firm plans as there are definitely nicer places to stop over a few days.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I would definitely agree with the former. In fact more than any other previous vacation Iíve been on. From the push bike owners to the lady who washed our clothes. There was definitely an ethos of minimising impact on the environment but at the end of day we did get an internal flight and we seemed to accumulate a lot of water bottles! That could be improved.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant!

review 14 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good!

review 22 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Of course there has been plenty of them. To mention those best ones: the cruise on the tranquil Halong Bay, kayaking and swimming in it's waters, the motorbike trip through the backstreets and in the countryside of Hue City, overnight train journey by Reunification Express, picnic on the bank of the river in Hoi An town, traveling by an old bamboo train in Cambodia's countryside... and many more special moments captured by my camera.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For those not accustomed to using tab water for brushing your teeth, don't forget about taking some purifying tablets with you. It will save you litres of mineral water. If you like taking photographs, bring at least 8 maybe even 12 GB large memory cards for your camera. You will definitely use it completely. It is always useful to have plenty of small banknotes (change of $1) handy. You will need them every day for tipping and supporting local communities. Grab any moment to write in your journal about random events or sights.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I surely had that feeling. This vacation is an carbon offset trip- meaning that you are purchasing certain amount in tones of carbon credits from carbon offset programs which work on avoiding or absorbing CO2 emissions, such as sustainable energy initiatives or tree planting. Accommodation in only small locally controlled hotels, supporting local guides for leading the groups, visiting schools, orphanages, home-stays or dining were all benefiting local people. Well done!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent and beyond expectations, good value for money.

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

For me the whole vacation was memorable. We had a wonderful guide, Charlie, our guide in Vietnam, who so obviously loved his country and made us love it too. Although the traveling was arduous the sights and experiences we had on route were worth it. I found the boat trip in Halung Bay the most relaxing being surrounded by such breathtaking scenery. It would have been nice to have spent more time there.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take cleaning wipes, a sheet sleeping bag, black out mask and earplugs for the overnight train between Hanoi and Hue. Not essential but does aid sleep!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Optional excursions included local people. Both in Vietnam and Cambodia we were invited to experience a meal in local peoples homes and the money went straight to the families involved. We also had trips to workplaces of people that had been involved in the civil wars and were unable to function in the greater society. We were then able to buy goods and the money went to the charities to enable them to continue their work.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

If we had had the same guide all the way through the vacation I would have rated it outstanding and clicked 5 stars, but the Cambodian guide did not meet our expectations - especially as our Vietnamese guide was so brilliant. We will defiinitely be going back to Vietnam to explore places we missed the first time and I would not hesitate to go with this operator again.

Read the operator's response here:

We are so pleased you had a fantastic trip with us. We work very hard to incorporate traveler feedback into our trip planning and will let our team in Cambodia know about your comments, as well as thanking Charlie for his excellent leading in Vietnam. Thanks again

review 27 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Sailing around Halong bay, Motor cycling through the back streets of Hue, dancing with the children in the villages.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for packed days, early starts and seeing lots.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, definitely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies