34 independent reviews for Jordan vacation, a week in Jordan

Reviews for Jordan vacation, a week in Jordan

SHOW
5
26
3
0
0

review 12 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Jerdash Roman ruins was quite intact and impressive. But the most memorable were Petra, the walk along the Siq, and seeing the Treasury, and the Monastery. They were fantastic. Hiking up to the cliffs of Petra and the views were outstanding.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Avoid bringing too much clothing. Bring only comfortable clothes and especially good broken in hiking shoes. Drink lots of bottled water. Bring tablets of Pepto-Bismol because you will be trying out new foods that may not suit your system. Bring your own toilet paper when walking around. Buy from the Bedouins or local small shops and not at the big retail shops. The shops at the places the bus stops for snacks are way over-priced. Spend the money on the camel rides. Don't be afraid to barter with the Bedouins. They respect you more for it and purchasing from them helps them out.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, my hope that our visit benefited the people, especially the Bedouins. I believe that we could do better to reduce environmental impact by using less plastic. We supported conservation by helping out with degradation of the monuments by following the rules on entering historical sites and not taking pieces of them for souvenirs.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I enjoyed our tour guide very much and the valuable history lessons at each stop. This was my first visit and was quite surprised on the splendor of the historical sites, such as Jerash, Petra, Mt. Nebo, Kerak, Dead Sea and Red Sea and the others I didn't mention. The driver and security were friendly and very good at their jobs. Food and lodging were good, especially the Bedouin Camp.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ferdinand, Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are delighted that overall you had a great trip. We would like to thank you for raising the issue of bottled water. We are actually in the process of starting a new initiative whereby all trips in Jordan will provide clients with drinking water from a large receptacle. 20ltr bottles will be employed and clients will be able to fill up throughout the trip. We are currently trialling this approach in India and South East Asia and it has been a great success. We regret that this wasn't quite ready for your trip but please rest assured that it is to happen soon as we take the reduction of our environmental impacts very seriously. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are as responsible as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Jordan one day.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra (of course) and the camel ride at Wadi Rum (it is an optional but well worth it!).

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To get lots of 1 JEDs (to visit loos / to buy water / to pay for cups of tea) - helpful also to have pockets full of toilet paper. Optional walks to view points at Petra for only to those with a good fitness as there would be plenty of walks ahead (not a good idea to get tired too soon - I managed one view point and am over 60). This vacation may not be for those expecting some lazy days and luxury hotels - BUT, for those looking for an interesting, varied and busy days ahead, then this vacation is certainly for them (I was a bit tired at the end of this vacation - nicely so - and I have more knowledge of muslim religion and history of Jordan - and feel motivated).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There are plenty of stops at government shops (for loos) and any associated purchase would go towards helping local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

My vacation was brilliant (I didn't mind of odd occasions not getting warm shower water in some hotels), our local tour leader was excellent (knowledge of history and kept us entertained during our bus journeys), the group blended well (the best so far), trips well organised and plenty of shopping opportunities.

review 24 Sep 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Snorkelling in the Red Sea, floating in the Dead Sea, camel ride in the desert, picnics of pita bread/hummus/tomatoes/cheese/olive oil/falafel and Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring your own goggles or mask for snorkeling because those provided don't always fit correctly--I spent too much time clearing the masks of water and exchanging them for others that might fit correctly. Also, it was not strictly necessarily to wear tops with shoulders covered as many women wore sleeveless tops in the very touristy parts of the itinerary.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not necessarily. We were told to bring our own refillable water bottles, which all of us did. And that the tour would provide water for us to fill the bottles during the entire trip. This did not happen. We stopped nearly daily to buy bottled water at supermarkets.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Ellen, Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are delighted that overall you had a great trip. We would like to thank you for raising the issue of bottled water. It is a new initiative of ours to provide water in large containers and therefore reduce the amount of plastic waste generated on our trips. We were confident that this had been working well in Jordan and have received positive feedback from previous trips. Iím sorry to hear that this wasnít implemented on your trip, we have followed up with our local partners and they have explained that on this occasion the leader was unaware of the necessity of providing water in a responsible manner. Making these changes sometimes take a while due to a difference in understanding as to the importance of such initiatives however we are doing all we can to ensure this is standard practice from now on. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are as responsible as possible. We hope to welcome you back to Jordan one day.

review 25 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A night in the dessert at Wadi Rum

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try to get some time alone from the group to enjoy local hospitality

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 11 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra was the obvious highlight but we saw so many other unexpected monuments, ancient cities and fabulous landscape. Every day brought a new highlight.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is a busy vacation with a lot of walking on some days. Good footwear and a good camera.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There were lots of opportunities to buy locally produced souvenirs and the desert camp was with local Bedouin.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent trip that visited as much of the country as possible squeezed into a week. Good value.

review 27 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Trying to stand up in the Dead Sea it is nearly impossible for your feet to find the bottom so you end up bobbing like a cork! Walking down the canyon to Petra but also going up on the long way to the place of sacrifice. The amphitheatre in Amman. The call to prayer echoing across the city from the mosques is a wonderful musical recitation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If going at this time of year - February - be prepared for the cold especially at night. Take clothes for the cold as well as the warm. Make sure any electrical apparatus like a travel kettle is in your suitcase. Security at Amman is very thorough - which is good - and some items are suspect when in hand luggage. It is a safe country despite conflicts in neighbouring countries.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It certainly brought money into the country which is suffering from the conflicts in the region with few visitors going there and I hope that helps with employment for some people. Water is a scarce resource and visitors need to remember that when taking a shower.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

In general excellent. Our guide Zuhair was really good - incisive, informative, passionate and a great performer. He made the trip very worthwhile. The people we met were friendly and very pleased to see us. That makes it memorable.

review 9 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra. The wonder of the world.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with Exodus you are in good hands

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely helped local tourism. Not sure if we impacted our environmental impact one way or the other. Walking among ruins has to have a detrimental impact. Then again tourism is against environment..

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

4 out of 5. Organization, info sharing, the guides etc great. Hotels promised were supposed to be 4 star. They were definitely 3 star minus.

review 1 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting Petra and having two full days to explore, half that time being without the guide so we could go where we pleased.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try to get away from the group sometimes. Jordan is a safe and welcoming place and the time we spent on our own was very enjoyable. For women take plenty of loose, long sleeved tops. It's hot and modest dress is important.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

On the whole, yes. Although obviously we flew to Jordan and drove whilst there. In the desert one member of our group did a litter pick and a young local joined her after watching a while. Maybe the message that throwing rubbish into the landscape is not a good thing. Jordan has an appalling litter problem with plast bottles and bags everywhere.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good but marred by a bored, bossy and patronising guide, especially towards the women members of the group.

review 5 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk into Petra is just breathtaking and there is something new to see every time you turn a corner. The whole site is amazing and I was glad we had 2 days to see it all. Enjoying a cool beer in the Cave Bar after two full days of trekking was also memorable!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If going early in the year, pack a few jumpers for chilly nights in Amman and the desert. But don't forget the sun cream for during the days! As you'd expect, prices for stuff at the hotels are high but there are lots of cheap supermarkets around.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apparently money from the Petra entrance fee goes to local Bedouin people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

If you want to see the main sights of Jordan quickly crammed into 1 week, then this is the way to do it. Everything is taken care of and you don't have to lift a finger. And the sights are truly awesome. (If you want to go at your own pace, however, then maybe this isn't the trip for you.)

review 2 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Start taking a probiotic before you leave and continue while on the vacation. Keep in mind that 500ml of water is provided daily by the tour operator and that the bus has a fridge to keep water cool.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, absolutely so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great adventure.

review 2 Nov 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were many memorable parts for me; floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, visiting Jerash and Petra plus the camel ride and overnight stay in Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Read the joining instructions given by the tour company which were accurate and detailed.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I believe this vacation will have benefited local people, the tour companies, restaurants and particularly the Bedouins in the camp. I feel there could be more effort on recycling waste, particularly plastic bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - achieved all I wanted to see and do!

review 30 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cannot separate the majestic desert scenery of Wadi Rum from the exploration of the lesser known areas of Petra. Both stunning and comparable to the best experiences anywhere.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Exploring Petra particularly for more than one day and off the obvious main route can be more demanding than the literature suggests. Good footwear,ideally light boots and a decent level of fitness is required to enjoy it. I am 66 and lead walking groups at least twice a week. The week is fully programmed and intensive so expect little downtime. Use the arranged group meals in restaurants, the food is excellent, ok for those who do not like to be too exotic, its great for group relations and cultural ambiance.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes cash spending in local businesses must aid tourist spending dispersal. Compared to other places tourist numbers are not overwhelming but must increase demand on water and supply chains but in Jordan I suspect the demands of economic growth have a greater environmental impact. The "honeypot" nature of the key locations will increase pressures there but the economic value gained from caring for and conserving cultural and environmental attractions must aid their continued protection.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

For me 4 stars because I have had nearly 10 years of exciting travel and competition for top spot is high. Usually an independent traveler, the 10 minutes in the museum or 20 minutes free look round and back to the bus are not my perfect choice although the benefits of an excellent guide and a well planned program were palpable

review 17 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

As all the key sites of Jordan are included in this one week tour there is not really any part which was not memorable. Although perhaps riding a donkey up to the high monastery at Petra would rate as the most unusual white knuckle ride ever!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you have ever fancied seeing Petra then go for it. The country is safe, the people are warm and friendly but not pushy, the sites brilliant, the food good and the hotels very comfortable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Wherever possible concern and care was shown to people and places. Impact on things was to a minimum

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Good value for money. Good group to travel with. No problem being a single traveler.

review 12 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walks through Wadi Rum - and the climb up a mountain. Epic scenery, absolute quiet and amazing exercise.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

For the desert you need 4 things (other than usual packing): baby wipes, mosquito spray, suncream, water bottle

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - the local Bedouin were our guides in Wadi Rum. Was good to travel as one group to reduce environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 13 Oct 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The first glimpse of Petra has got to be up there as one of my most WOW moments of all time, not just on this vacation. The camel ride in the Wadi was my next most favourite part of the vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To note that although the walking in Petra is not difficult, the heat makes it much harder. Especially the optional walk up to the monastery.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As it was all local hotels, transport, guides, etc then it does appear to benefit the local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Would thoroughly recommend it.

review 27 May 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation for me was climbing up to the Treasury viewing point and the High Place of Sacrifice at Petra off the beaten track, quite a challenging route, but magical with no other tourists about.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a sleeping bag or liner for the night in the Wadi Rum. The Bedouin supplied bedding is not great, so it was nice to have my own.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I certainly felt that our vacation benefited local people as we bought gifts, ate in local places etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I loved the vacation. It was well organised, our guide was fantastic; he was enthusiastic and evidently proud of his country which came across in the way he talked. His knowledge of all the sites we went to was extremely good, his timing excellent, suggestions for evening meals were very good too. He helped the group to gel and made the vacation special.

review 25 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra was wonderful and on the second day some of the group went again at 7.30am and they said it was great to be there with virtually no other people there. For me floating in the Dead Sea was a tremendous experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for the 'basic' conditions of the camp in the Wadi Rum.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people benefited from our tourism as we spent money locally and bought their products.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good

review 3 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It's difficult to choose between walking and climbing around the awe inspiring landscape and buildings of Petra and the serene beauty of riding camels in Wadi Rum. Both places and experiences took our breath away. But every day had wonderful sights and experiences in store, and the whole trip showed us how amazing Jordan is.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You need to be fairly fit to fully appreciate the potential of the visit to Petra, since there's quite a lot of climbing/walking which would be tough in the Summer months. We went in mid Feb. and the climate was perfect for us.. Also, we found there were quite a few extra costs to the vacation, to pay for meals, Turkish bath (not worth the 20JD!), and other add on experiences some of which were excellent, but it may be more helpful to be more up-front with them in the trip notes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The Bedouin community in Wadi Rum must have benefited and the lunch stops for local food etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, one of the best we've had. We were a bit apprehensive joining a guided tour but we needn't have worried, it was fairly small scale and we had an excellent guide who enabled us to explore the country in a way we couldn't possibly have done independently.

review 3 Jan 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The country and the people of Jordan itself. Full of historical and natural wonders and wonderful and charming people. The operator planned, organised and executed a perfect itinerary - providing us with professional, helpful and lovely staff on the ground - Guide, Driver and our Tourist Policeman.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take a good quality - warm sleeping bag and good walking boots/shoes - don't leave home without warm clothes - if traveling over Christmas. The operator have understood the importance of catering for single travelers - I felt happy, relaxed and well looked after from the outset to the very end of the vacation - excellent care.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - all tour staff were Jordanian - we spent money in Jordanian shops and hotels and sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An excellent vacation from start to finish - run by a friendly knowledgeable staff who are happy to help. The organisation was exceptional as was the level of care shown towards its customers. My one problem was that a couple of the hotels would have benefitted from a good clean including the bedding.

review 17 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra without a doubt - far more to see there than I reaslised and needs more than 2 days

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just do it now, whilst it is not tarnished by tourists - the locals are wonderful people, very honest, they don't hassle you, a really nice change to some other coutries

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, in that they desperately need tourism

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely fabulous, stunning scenery, ancient ruins and charming people, could not have improved on it

review 10 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The walk through the back of the Petra site to get to the ledge overlooking the Treasury. Not only was the scenery fantastic, this was also a challenging walk in places, and the view down onto the Treasury was fantastic. This walk really gave me a great sense of achievement and also a better context in which to place the totality of the site.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It can be cold overnight at Wadi Rum. Make sure that you carry sufficient layers in your overnight bag (or take a sleeping bag) to ensure that you stay warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. With many people in the places we visited relying on tourism for their income I believe that we contributed to the local people. We ate in local restaurants and purchased items from stalls along the way. Visiting site should help to encourage authorities to preserve and open up, where safe to do so, other sites as well as maintaining the wonderful sites that we visited. There is so much archeology, even on the sites we visited, which is still to be tackled that I hope that a part of the entry fees paid for our visit will contribute to the ongoing work of discovery and preservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fantastic week. The activities were diverse. The locals were warm and welcoming and the tour staff excellent.

review 23 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra was amazing and snorkelling in the Red Sea.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

As always when traveling go with an open mind. I didn't know what to expect from my trip in Jordan and it was great.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, because tourist numbers were down this year and the local people were very friendly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great vacation. The people were very friendly. There was so much to do and it was the best vacation I've been on in ages.

review 12 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Where to start - floating in the Dead Sea; sleeping in the desert; exploring Petra; shopping and experiencing the markets........

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do it now and don't think the low season is a bad season to go! Respect the cultural differences but do everything you can to experience it fully.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Probably no more than other vacations.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One word.... Wow!

review 16 Jul 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra by candlelight Wadi Rum camp Snorkeling Red Sea

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take small denomination notes

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All local people used

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Unforgettable

review 3 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable were the two days in Petra starting with the excitement and the astounding first view of the treasury and the second day walk to the high point of sacrifice via the guides hidden path through the mountains.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Leave behind any preconcieved ideas about the middle east and enjoy the land and its people.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation definately helped in all three catagories and this was often mentioned by the locals who we spoke to. Due the the massive drop in tourism caused by nearby conflicts many people and buisnesses are suffering and the income created by visits such as ours can do nothing but good.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Possibly the best trip I have been on yet. It will be a hard one to beat.

review 26 Nov 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The highlight undoubtably was the 2 days in Petra, followed closely by the night in the desert camping in Wadi Rum.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

need to take a sheet sleeping bag for Wadi Rum. Universal sink plug useful for those hotels where neither basin nor bath had plug.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

In that we spent money locally one hopes it benefitted local people. The size of minibus was right for the 22 people on the trip. Not sure that it did anyhting to reduce other environmental impact or supported conservation, except hopefully money spent within Petra benefitted those locals working in Petra.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The sites/places covered by the vacation were what I was looking for and apart from a guide who could have been much better (his knowledge was good, but his heart was not with our tour), the tour was very good.

review 29 Jun 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hiking in Petra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To wear hiking shoes or similar when going to Petra

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very well organised, many things to see and to learn

review 30 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I went on a nine-day vacation to Jordan. There most exciting and memorable part of the vacation was obviously the two days spent in Petra. Nothing can prepare a person for the "awesomeness and majesty" of that site. I would also class our tour guide Khaled as one of the most memorable parts of the vacation. He was just magic - knowledgeable and patient and with a great sense of humour - a true star.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I did not realise until I got to Petra just how much (uphill and steep) walking there would be. Although I managed all right, I think perhaps this should be highlighted or emphasised a bit more than it is.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as much as any vacation can.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical, awesome, exceeded all my expectations.

review 29 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The first walk down the siq at night and then seeing it in the daylight next day. Exceeds the hype.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't get the dead sea on your face or in the eye, it stings! Especially if had a shave! Not sure if tips needed, just read the trip notes. Make sure you read all the trip notes though as there is little bits of info dotted all over the place. The optional trips were all worth it apart from maybe the red sea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We ate at local restaurants, used local hotels but not sure if it supported conservation more than any other trip.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, thoroughly enjoyed it and the splendours of Jordan, apart from the red sea, lived up to or exceeded expectations.
10/05 - Emailed Andrew for response

review 3 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Morning walk away from most other tourists to the High Place of sacrifice above Petra. You really feel on top of the world.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take good light walking boots and layered clothing to cope with varying temperatures.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We mostly stayed in nice hotels but had frequent opportunities to buy souvenirs/services direct from local craftsmen.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the most memorable and enjoyable vacations.

review 7 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I think the best part was staying in the desert at Wadi Rum and sleeping under the stars - also the very peaceful and relaxing camel trek the following day. On the other hand the walk at Petra the second day was also extremely enjoyable and memorable!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't rely on the advertised sheets and towels at Wadi Rum - there weren't any! And I wouldn't recommend using their pillows! Also be prepared for the heat and make sure you stay hydrated.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - local transport, hotels and restaurants would all have benefited. Not so sure about the conservation/environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good - we enjoyed floating in the Dead Sea, Petra (of course) and the boat trip on the Red Sea, although a little disappointed in the snorkelling opportunities there as we were informed we would be visiting 3/4 sites and only did 2 (which were very close together). The sea was also a little choppy and there was a strong current, but can blame nobody for that!

review 17 Dec 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking to the high place and then Harouns tomb in Petra then being the only people on the way back past the treasury and through the souk. Plus fab guide.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for some toughish walking if you want to get the most out of it. Also try local foods.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we ate at local places, had local guides and driver.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a full and fascinating trip.

review 15 May 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were many but Petra, night under the stars in Wadi Rum and an extra trip to Bethany on the Jordan where my favourite.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The operator was excellent in giving us tips before we left so leaving with an open mind I can only say, let go and enjoy every minute.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Everyone who helped us was from Jordan and our guide took us to many local places to eat and also little shops to buy food from. I certainly think our group contributed in that we all bought local souvenirs and drinks etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - Exciting, fun and so informative.

review 6 Apr 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Undoubtedly the couple of full days in Petra: much larger and grander than I had imagined, and the climbs to the monastery and high altar were spectacular

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you want a vacation where you have some time to yourself and not be constantly in a group, then it may not be for you. Having said that our guide was excellent and the 17 in the party got on really well so not an issue on this occasion

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes to the first question; doubtful on the latter (4WD thru Wadi Rum, grazing the tops of coral at Aqaba, tramping all over Petra.....)

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very, very good

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies