8 independent reviews for Transylvania winter vacation accommodation

Reviews for Transylvania winter vacation accommodation

SHOW
2
6
0
0
0

review 1 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peaceful ambience was the thing that will stay with me - although there was also so much excitement of course on the tours, new year's eve party etc. For a city dweller it was the perfect way to unwind and 'get away from it all', appreciating the silence in vast forests or by the volcanic lake, or even at the lodge. Having dinners and tours with strangers was wonderful as everyone was enchanted by their experiences and brought different interesting conversations.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try to go for at least 5 nights. Going on the tours is better (unless you know the area really well and have a car) as the guides are very friendly and knowledgeable (and know the best places to go for the lunches). It takes a while to get there (just due to the location of nearest airports) - if you can arrange a pan-European trip with it I would recommend that. We took the train from Bucharest North Station to Brasov and got a transfer arranged by the hotel from Brasov to Miklosvar, it took about 3 hours of train, 1 hr taxi each end - this is a more interesting experience for more adventurous types and works well, taking a car isn't necessarily faster depending on conditions / traffic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely provides benefit to the local community. As the area is rural and lifestyle relatively simple, there is an implicit reduction in environmental impact. The local styles are maintained in many aspects - there is no mass import of unnecessary luxuries - as far as I was concerned, the rooms were toasty warm, the food and service excellent and nothing more was required!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely superb in every aspect. Even if it hadn't been my cup of tea, it was certainly unique and this itself will give me rich life-long memories.

review 29 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing the beautiful countryside in the snow around Zalanpatak. The horse and sleigh ride was magical. Visiting the medival saxon city of Sighisaoura is a must.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The weather is extreme so make sure you have the right clothes. It was very cold outdoors in December but very cosy inside the guest houses with open fires and log burning stoves. We hired a car so we were independent but the excursions organised by the guesthouse staff were also very good if you didn't have your own transport. The guide was very knowledgeable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think that the guest houses give valuable work to local people. I loved the way that the Count has worked to preserve the original buildings with genuinely authentic furniture and artifacts, thus preserving the local culture. I hope that money from the guest houses helps to support conservation in the area as the countryside and wildlife is outstanding.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A really perfect vacation for us. Snow, countryside, interesting history and culture. Lots to see and do.

review 17 Feb 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stay at the guest house- amazing! The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble at all. The tour guides were outstanding.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I love the winter time as I think it's magical in the snow- I would recommend the snowy season..

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely as the ethos of the vacation is about the integrity of local community.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 20 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The gorge walk and bat caves, it was magical in the winter with a full snow covering. It was an adventure getting down the small roads to the parking place with all the snow.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you are prepared for the weather, review the forecast in the winter it gets very cold. Also this is not a nanny state you do have the choice not to do things. But where else would you be allowed to be pulled up hill a few kilometres on a sledge attached to a 4x4 lada.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes but only in a financial way which I find a bit superficial. There are aspects where the brilliantly skilled local people could be drawn in more to teach, they did seem very submissive.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent a most memorable vacation would love to go back again to see what it is like at another time of year.

review 28 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

That is a really hard one! it was such an amazing experience - and so different from any other vacation we've ever had ... maybe seeing the Ural owls roosting as we arrived at dusk from the station at Augustin...or then maybe it was the local train from Brasov to Augustin itself...or perhaps the climb in the snow to the "bat cave" where the frozen ice stack represent Pied Piper's children who emerged from the cave...or the candlelit dinners in the cellar at Miclosvar - or the fortified Saxon churches with the guide Monika...or the barbeque of the best steaks in the world cooked by just throwing them onto a fire in the snow- or even digging GAbor's car out of a snow drift - or the forest walks and seeing the tracks of animals - or - there is so much, it was just ...wow!!!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with an open mind; don't expect a palace, it is a home not a castle, it's Romania not Paris; take the HUNGARIAN phrasebook, Romanian is not the first language in this area; expect massive meals; the wine is brilliant; take the all inclusive and the trips even if (like us) you hate the idea of being "packaged"- because you are not...it is like being taken around by a friend you're staying with not a guide.....don't bother taking smart stuff to wear....if it's winter it is COLD!! (we took the same gear we wore in the Artic and we were fine)...take your walking boots whatever the season....

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely. All the employees and people we visited and we met were local and they seemed to be very much "at home"- they loved their work - references to "we" and "our home at [wherever] when they talked out the business is a good way to see that.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

B****y BRILLIANT!!! Only reason it is not 5 * below is because it is hard to decide if it the very best because all our vacations are different, but it is definitely up there with the best.

review 4 Apr 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Two memories come to mind. Firstly visiting the exact part of a quarry where the most complete skeleton of a 3 million year old Masterdon has recently been found and seeing close up the bones and tusks laid out at the nearby museum. Secondly, being bought drinks by the locals in the bar in Miklosvar - a combination of sign language and 5 Hungarian phrases made for a really fun afternoon.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Top tip is to take an Hungarian phrase book and try and spend some time in the local villages. We walked to the next village and went to the local shops and bars, and made our own picnic lunches on occasions. The organised tours are great but mixing it up a bit is rewarding.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Not as much as we had hoped, but going into the villages helps. All the staff are local.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, I would recommend to anyone wanting to go back and experience nature, a more simple way of living and wanting to learn about the complex make-up of Transylvanian history.

review 28 Feb 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The horse and cart ride up to the snowy forest and the open-air barbecue to the sound of wild boar grunts

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The nature parts of this walk involve a good deal of walking, so it those bits would not be suitable for anyone who was not fully mobile. The city trips would be fine though, I think. Walking boots/shoes are a must for anyone at any time of year.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, I personally saw how many local people gained employment and everything had been carefully considered. Very impressed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was wonderful - we did four nights, which I'd recommend as a minimum as there is so much to see. Children were well catered for - ours were two and four and loved all the food and the adventures! (we didn't take a pushchair though, just a rucksack to carry the youngest and that was a good decision as it meant we could hike in the forests etc.)

review 8 Feb 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is very difficult to think of one thing that made the vacation memorable as there have been many parts of the vacation I have talked to friends and family about since I got home 2 days ago! The vacation was truly perfect. I traveled alone and the staff made me feel like one of their family. The organisation ensured my upmost safety and comfort at every moment. On arrival at Bucharest airport, Joseph drove me 4 hours to Miklosvar. I can't think of a more kindly and welcoming face you want to see after traveling so far from home. I was taken on a horse drawn sleigh ride the morning I arrived at the estate, after a wonderful breakfast made by the local ladies employed by the Guesthouses. The hospitality was one of the things I treasured about the trip. The staff made me a sandwich while traveling to Miklosvar and kept me dinner when I arrived at midnight! The ride into the forest of Transylvania and lunch was something I will never forget. The next day it was matched by a visit to the local village of Miklosvar. The tour guides told many traditional stories that you never find in a guide book. The visit to Bran Castle was something that I think about often and inspires you to look more into the incredible history of the area. Monica, an enthusiastic historian and our tour guide uncovered many stories associated with objects and areas I inquired about thorough my visit that you just couldn't get anywhere else. Sledging on a volcanic lake and feeding baby boar was yet another one of many memorable days I had on my trip to Transylvania. The evening dinner in the wine cellar talking to other guests over a Transylvanian plumb brandy rounded off the day perfectly.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure that you take plenty of warm clothes in January! However, the staff are so considerate, I am sure they will have another pair of socks to loan you! Don't worry if you are traveling alone. The staff organise everything to make sure you are safe, included, and comfortable on your visit.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The people that I met were local to the Miklosvar area and were incredibly welcoming. The fires were all log fueled and local crafts people I met were proprietors of traditional family businesses. I went home happy to know that local people benefited without compromising their cultural heritage.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I can't imagine a better vacation. The staff gaged the activities according to your interest and will go out of their way to make sure that it is the most memorable experience. I'm saving up to visit Miklosvar in the Summer it is truly a wonderful experience. Thank you.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies