Ian Halliwell review 8 Mar 2019
1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?
Costa Rica is a lovely place to visit but had we known it was so expensive we
would never have signed up to a vacation that didn't have a lot of included activities and meals included.
2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?
Check out the extra cost of your vacation before booking.
3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?
We loved the lodge on the river and the homestay but the other accommodation was not good. At the homestay we really felt a part of a community and felt engaged with it.
4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?
The worst value for money vacation we've ever had.
Read the operator's response here:
We write with reference to your feedback regarding your travels with us on our tour “Classic Costa Rica”.
Firstly, we would like to thank you for your patience while we investigated the matters you have raised. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement while also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting, if not exceeding, your expectations. It is therefore disappointing to learn that there were some aspects of the journey, which let you down.
In Particular, that you found Costa Rica to be expensive and that had you known this in advance you would not have chosen to book a vacation with limited activities and meal included. Costa Rica is more expensive that other countries in Central America. Activities here cost more, as the country invests heavily in being environmentally responsible and sustainable. The national parks are all well protected and maintained and they offer a great infrastructure.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the lodge on the river and at the homestay you felt engaged and part of the community, but disappointed to learn that accommodation was felt to be poor. Our aim is to use accommodation which is locally owned and managed along with showcasing the local character of the destination. While we do not provide you with luxurious properties, we do endeavour to provide a comfortable place to spend the night and a convenient base for your explorations.
We wish that every aspect had met with your expectations and sincerely appreciate your constructive comments and suggestions. While we can assure you that we will continue to work toward improvements, we also wish to offer you a 10% travel Voucher, should you choose to provide us with another opportunity.