9 independent reviews for Whale & dolphin research in Ligurian Sea, Italy

Reviews for Whale & dolphin research in Ligurian Sea, Italy

SHOW
5
4
0
0
0

review 10 Sep 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The crew were kind, considerate and helpful.

review 8 Aug 2023

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The insights gleaned from being part of the research.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be mindful that is a citizens research project which means you are an active member of the crew also sharing bunks in cabins, helping to prepare meals, etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely, a core element of the research project is public awareness and collecting data to support conservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great crew, great insights, great experience.

review 7 Jun 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

See the mammals up close.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring non-slip socks, high factor ocean-friendly sunblock, and a good hat. Good ear plugs as the boat is noisy. Learn some basic Italian as there are times where the conversations were all in Italian.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It supported research for the mammals which improves education. They were very sustainable.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. I got sick and they took care of me exceptionally well.

review 5 Sep 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All the marine life I saw, followed by the educational lectures. Sighting a sperm and a firm whale, after searching for them using the hydrophone and visual searches, was incredibly rewarding. Seeing dolphins swim along the boat, be playful and the pods of pilot whales by the boat. It felt unreal.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Its an experience of a lifetime.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Mostly, yes. Id only suggest that the merchandise (for sale) at the end of the trip be packeted in something other than plastic.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I would rate this 4/5.

Read the operator's response here:

Regarding Naomi review we really appreciate your input and we fully agree with you, unfortunately an alternative packaging is not available yet and we always try to re-use plastic packaging when possible. We are working to find a solution in order to try to move to a more sustainable packaging for the next season. Have a nice day Adriana

review 14 Aug 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

A spermwhale unexpectedly breaching in front of the reserach boat.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don' t forget to bring enough sunscreen for a week on deck and your binoculars.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Being a paying guest can help fund the research boat's going out. It supports cetecean conservation.You can help

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A wonderful way of discovering and seeing more of the Mediterranean cetaceans - and other too rarely seen inhabitants (a mola mola, a blue shark, many more turtles than expected.) Sharing life on board with the research team is a great way of understanding research and conservation issues.

review 21 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing dolphins for the first time

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Seriously, pack light. Especially if traveling in warmer months.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No obvious benefit to local people or environmental impacts, but certainly appeared to support conservation

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Living conditions are certainly not luxurious, but if willing to rough it a little and help out, it is a greatly enjoyable vacation. You get very close to a group of strangers very quickly.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing species of Whales that I had not seen before

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Travel light

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not sure

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good

review 24 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable probably listening to the sperm whales under water and how through the codas that they emit you could always tell when they were about to surface. The most exciting, the sighting of the fin whale. All in all the whole trip was an amazing experience with lovely crew/researchers and guests.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You really don't need to bring a lot of stuff as you probably won't need it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am not sure if I actually supported conservation through it, but it definetely created an awareness of the animals living in the mediterranean and how my day to day activities have an impact on them and got some very useful tips on how to reduce my own impact. The work the operator is doing is definitely valuable for the whole ecosystem and the idea of including non-researchers on their trips is magnificent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was definitely one of my best two trips ever. Loved the people in the group, the activities, the animals and the overall experience. I would definitely recommend it.

review 9 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Observing the sperm whale flukes and using photo identification to determine that we had spotted a previously unrecorded individual.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Pack lightly, there is limited space on board. Being quite agile and steady on your feet will be very advantageous when out at sea and needing to walk around the boat and climb up to the lookout platform.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The research conducted by provides valuable data to support conservation efforts and increase public awareness of the marine mammals present in the sanctuary.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - fun, friendly and highly knowledgeable team made it a very worthwhile experience.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy