8 independent reviews for Devon self catering cottage in England

Reviews for Devon self catering cottage in England

SHOW
2
5
1
0
0

review 29 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being shown the stars and milky way on a crystal clear night!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It's a wonderful place to relax and get away from it all. Lots of things for kids to do and a lovely "home away from home" setting.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes absolutely. Everything has a homemade element to it and makes it feel very special. You're encouraged to reduce your waste and even go car free by borrowing bikes etc.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely perfect! Yes

review 22 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hearing about the owner's attempts to live life more sustainably

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There will be a teapot in the lodges!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

definitely reduced environmental impacts and also supported conversation about how to live more sustainably

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. given the time of year and consequent weather, we had a relaxing time, and will look forward to having the chance to go again later in the spring/summer

Read the operator's response here:

Thanks for your review - and thanks for choosing to stay with us - every visitor here contributes to the project we are undertaking to improve the habitat on the farm for local wildlife and flora. It was a bit damp - May and June are wonderful here with the wildflowers out and birdlife in full chorus. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again someday.

review 9 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Stargazing with my son and spotting returning swallows for the first time this year.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Worth taking own provisions or shopping on the way as supermarkets not close - it wasn't a problem for us and we visited Fiona's farm shop just up the road for milk & veg'.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Ian & Maggie are achieving all three. The wildlife is rich and the area beautiful. We were very happy to support their endeavours.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a great week. Truly relaxing, very peaceful - we haven't slept so well in a very long time - great to slow down and soak up the beautiful countryside. Ian made us feel very welcome and the homemade cake was delicious - thanks Ian.

Read the operator's response here:

Hi Sue - thanks for the great review and delighted that you had a good unwind here. And a really big thanks for spotting the first swallows of the season, always a good moment. Our big project is the work on the land to make the whole farm as nature friendly and diverse as the nature reserve, and it is you and all our visitors who make that possible. Thanks for coming and we hope to welcome you again sometime. Ian & Maggie

review 12 Sep 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending time here is a great opportunity to reconnect with nature and discover this beautiful part of Devon. The farm is located in a peaceful, rural setting yet has plenty of scope for activities nearby (or indeed on its own 21 acres). It offers a precious chance to relax and unwind - with no noise or light pollution, you will sleep like a baby! - and is the perfect antidote to city living.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I stayed in Otter Cottage, which was clean, warm, and well-equipped. You might wish to bring a few basics to get you started, but otherwise there are many opportunities to support the excellent local food shops, and good farm shop just minutes away (best eggs ever!). The view from the cottage's main bedroom out over the pond, with Dartmoor in the distance, is stunning.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Maggie and Ian are genuinely committed to minimal environmental impact tourism, and it shows everywhere you look - from the reconditioned bikes for free local use, the extensive recycling facilities, the farm's energy policy and use of sustainable building materials, to the judicious management of their Popehouse Moor nature reserve and the clutch of awards they consistently bring home. They are welcoming, enthusiastic, and full of ideas for great days out and activities in the local area. I travelled to Devon without a car, and had a great time exploring 'Tarka the Otter' country by bike, bus and on foot - perfectly do-able.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The highlight for me was several sightings of a beautiful kingfisher by the river (plus the stargazing, the owls, the fresh air...)

review 14 Apr 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was all lovely and relaxing. Borrowing the bikes and cycling around the countryside was great fun!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

One evening we had dinner at a wonderful local pub called the Duke of York - highly recommended.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely. They made it really easy to recycle most waste and they have wind and solar generated energy. It's a very rural area so most of the eating, shopping and sightseeing we did supported small local businesses.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good. Great for families and for getting away from it all.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Bronwen Delighted you had a great time here. It was lovely to meet you and I love it when guests make use of the bikes and 'keep it local'. What better destination than the Duke of York! Sorry to have missed you when you left - I was in last minute panics getting the new Balebarn Lodge ready for it's very first arrivals. Hope to see you again. Ian

review 26 Mar 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Relaxing in a peaceful setting with buckets of very fresh air.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Walking shoes and map to explore lots of good walks. Plenty of hills and views and if the weather is wet and windy the Tarka trail is good and mainly sheltered.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, we hope so.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

Read the operator's response here:

Hello Wendy & Bob It was lovely to have you back here again and great to read that you had a great vacation. We had the first swallows back yesterday, so it really does feel like we are getting into summer again. We do keep a stock of local OS maps here for anyone wishing to explore, and have even created some interesting art from local OS maps for the new Balebarn eco-lodge which is now open. We really do appreciate your staying with us as it is the income from guests that allows us to maintain the land here for wildlife and preserve this little corner of Devon as best we can. We look forward to seeing you here again one day. Ian

review 30 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The peaceful comfortable cottage and surrounding green and fertile countryside. with a good variety of walks and small market towns nearby. Our first vacation with the dog who soon felt very much at home.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wear good waterproof shoes.Go to Hatherleigh market on Tuesdays for good local produce.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We were able to use local shops and producers almost all of the time.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 23 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Bike riding part of the Tarka trail and the Granite way, great fun!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Consider going slightly out of season, it was nice a quiet and not crowded everywhere. Don't leave it to the last minute to find somewhere to eat / get petrol though!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, there is a wildlife reserve where we stayed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Nice and relaxing.

Accommodation Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies