7 independent reviews for Oman small group tour

Reviews for Oman small group tour

SHOW
2
5
0
0
0

review 7 Nov 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Watching the turtles at Ras el Jinz after dark and before dawn - both adult female turtles laying and baby turtles hatching and scurrying to the sea. Such a privilege to be part of this.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go prepared for the heat and drink lots of water. And don't walk barefoot on sun-baked sand!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people - a resounding yes, as we stayed (mostly) in local hotels, had lunch in small local restaurants, visited local businesses, and used local guides. Reduced environmental impacts - definitely not, through (1) plentiful supply (and most grateful for them!) of plastic bottles of drinking water, with no apparent means of recycling, and (2) through lots of driving - but, in a land where car is king, who's to notice?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!
Tour can comment on plastic bottles 10/11/2017 (2 weeks on 25th)

review 19 Mar 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The entire trip was excellent and memorable. The most memorable was seeing the green turtles at night laying eggs. It was incredible! Wahiba Sands was also spectacular.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go and enjoy! Our guide, Said, was exceptional and our driver, Amin, was also very good. If it were possible to request a particular guide, Said would be the one to request.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The hotel where we stayed to view the turtles definitely benefited conservation as it benefited the turtles. There would have been no other reason to stay at this hotel, and the guides there do a good job of ensuring that the turtles are not disturbed and are viewed appropriately.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed the trip and Oman.

review 21 Feb 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling into the desert

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not expect much by way of variety of food especially if you are veggie or have special dietary needs. Food was fine but repetitive and a bit basic mainly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I would hope that it benefited local people, although given that the cost was 'all in' that rather depended on the arrangements with each venue of which we were not a party. Perhaps you should provide information on how the arrangements work?.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very highly. The guide was excellent, arrangements were very smooth

review 4 Jan 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were several: turtles on the beach in Ras al Jinz, sunset in the desert, villages in Jebel Akhdar, Misfat and Al Hamra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

No special advice. The tour isn't strenuous.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not especially

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, although the tour could be improved by an additional day.

review 19 Dec 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending the night in 1000night camp in Wahiba Sands! What a magical place..

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am not sure if it reduced environmental impact but it made us all aware of the impact humans have in Nature. Unfortunately, there is a lot of rubbish all over Wahiba Sands left by local people (or so we were said). It is extremelly important for Travel Agencies to pressure Omani governmental agencies to work on a solution for this probelm.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great! Loved it!

Read the operator's response here:

All of us here are delighted to learn that Ana enjoyed her tour of Oman so much; Wahiba Sands is indeed a very special place. Part of our stated philosophy is that" We want to visit an area as friends, not intruders, and to ensure that what we see will also be there for others to enjoy for many years to come." This is an important consideration when we choose our local partners, and we expect them to be vigilant in minimising the impact our clients make as they travel through a country. It is difficult when local people seem not to show the same care for their surroundings, but our local partners try to lead by example, and take every opportunity to make their voices heard on these matters.

review 3 Jan 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Crossing the mountains and the desert, and having a clear night sky in the desert. Omani are really hospitable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Night at Ras al Jinz reserve was not very comfortable, as many people were shouting when waiting for their 5am tour, disrespectful of people sleeping. Maybe another choice of hotel would be useful (or another waiting place for people on the tour). Muscat deserves more than a 1/2 day tour. Don't miss the desert and the mountains, don't miss the sunset cruise also. If you can stay longer in the mountain to go for a 2-3 hours walk in the grand canyon, do it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Hope so. It's sad however to see such beautiful places littered with plastic bags and bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very very nice, loved it! Also the guide had a big part in making this vacation memorable. It's very quiet, the roads are really good, all this makes traveling in Oman very easy and refreshing.

review 11 Feb 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The desert most of all and the rest was memorable

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

No

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was wonderful. The people were warm and gracious. Our guide did a great job and was a superb quick driver. A few things that your company should consider. We made 2 requests for information about the host company and a telephone number and name of the contact person in Oman. We did not receive anything. Fortunately it turned out well. Secondly, the hotel that was provided during the visit to the turtles is a 1 star hotel and it gets only one star because of the staff.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies