1 independent reviews for Iraq Kurdistan vacation

Reviews for Iraq Kurdistan vacation


review 25 Apr 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Interacting with the people and exploring the historical sights.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There were issues with the tour operator's pre-trip information. 1) The given instructions where to meet our guide at the Erbil airport were terrible. After speaking with Balin, our guide, he told us that he specifically gave the tour operator precise instructions about getting on a bus and going to another terminal to meet him. Thank goodness for a kind local who offered to call Balin and let him know where we were. 2) The tour operator also did NOT inform us of the upgrade in hotels, also given to them in advance but never forwarded to the clients. I had called the tour operator earlier requesting that my traveling companion and I wanted to share a room with single beds but was informed that some of the hotels only had a double bed. Again, I asked the guide about this statement and he said that we were given wrong information by the tour operator. To say the least, I am very disappointed in the customer service and pre-trip information given by the tour operator.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The local people loved meeting us and interacting. Yes, we did support conservation of their historical sites.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

In spite of difficulties with the booking company, this was one of my best trips ever, made very special with the energy and knowledge of Balin Zrar, our guide...superb!

Read the operator's response here:

Hi, Thank you for the positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed the tour so much. With regards to the couple of issues you had, the instructions for meeting the guide, including transferring from the arrival terminal to the meeting point with the guide are usually printed on your tour voucher. Our sincere apologies if this was missed off the voucher and we will make sure this information is always included in future. A few weeks before your departure, you contacted the office and asked if we could provide twin rooms for you and your travel partner. We then contacted the local team and we were advised that it was not 100% guaranteed that all the accommodation used on the tour would be able to confirm a twin room until your arrival. When we advised you of this you informed us that you were happy to continue with single rooms. We do hope that this has not spoilt your memories of Kurdistan. Kind regards, The tour operator.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy