22 independent reviews for Tibet cultural tours

Reviews for Tibet cultural tours

SHOW
9
13
0
0
0

review 31 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Spending my birthday at the Everest base camp. The weather was perfect, clear blue skies and brilliant sunshine. The Himalayas were stunning. The entire tour was amazing. The itinerary was great. You got to visit all the main Tibetan monasteries, which were fascinating. You also had time to explore on your own and do your own thing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be aware of the problems of altitude sickness and be prepared. All the guides are extremely helpful and have a lot of experience in dealing with this problem.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I got the feeling that our money was helping local businesses and contributing to their economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. Our tour operator was excellent. Achut was friendly, organised and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our guide in Tibet was called Sonam and she was outstanding. I was very lucky to have her. She was highly efficient, knowledgeable and lovely company. This was a vacation full of magical moments and memories that I will keep for ever.

review 30 May 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Hitting a one in ten weather window for a perfect Everest view......

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You will be high up Lhasa is over 3000 m and you go to over 5200... be aware.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation went smoothly and our tour operator organised visas into Lhasa, flights, hotels (employing largely tibetan staff) and an excellent locally-born tour guide and driver, Sonam and Tashi, who both rate very highly in my estimation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Difficult to improve on this Tibet Culture Tour without an extension either in Nepal or perhaps Bhutan, all of which can be expertly arranged by Achut of in Khatmandu.

review 25 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most memorable part of the vacation was walking around Barkhor Square in Lhasa seeing people on pilgrimage from various regions of Tibet. The people were very friendly and even came to shake our hands and say hello. We were invited into a small temple to join the locals spinning their prayer wheels and chanting which was a magical experience as we were the only foreigners there. Seeing Everest from the Tibetan side was a highlight too.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take it easy to start with as the high altitude can give you a nasty headache. I took Diamox and it still took me four days to acclimatise, that said there were other people who were not affected by the altitude at all.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Although we travelled in a comfortable vehicle, we stopped off at local restaurants which benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was absolutely fantastic. The Tibetan landscape is stunning and the monasteries and temples are fascinating. Everywhere we went, local people were kind and helpful. Our guide and driver were brilliant and couldn't have done more to look after us.

review 3 Nov 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Achut at the vacation provider was very helpful and from the moment he met me at the airport with a traditional welcome garland of flowers I was well taken care of. The visa formalities for Tibet and Bhutan could have been a pain to sort out, but Achut and team made this as simple as possible. Our guides in Tibet and Bhutan were very informative, and the itineraries were spot on for the time we had. Finally, the welcome meal we enjoyed in Kathmandu at the vacation providers expense was delicious and memorable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take plenty of USD for changing into local currency, spending directly, tips, etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Apart from the tour guides and drivers, it's hard to say. But certainly nothing negatively impacting the local people was noticed.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A lovely and fascinating vacation and I would recommend the vacation provider.

review 31 Aug 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our trip had to be rearranged when we arrived because China suddenly wouldn't let people in or out of Tibet for a few days. I was worried we wouldn't be able to do everything that had been planned, but Achut rearranged everything very well. It meant that instead of staying at Rombuk Monastery on the day we went to Everest Base Camp, we stayed in a tent at EBC itself! So it was pretty amazing waking up to the view of sunrise over Everest. The tent we stayed in was very basic but it was a real experience to basically spend a night there like the locals. Chitwan National park was our other highlight. We stayed at Jungle World Resort and they were incredibly friendly and provided everything we needed. Because it was off-season it was a very laid-back vibe. We arrived from our 8 hour bus journey from Kathmandu (there had been landslides on the road making it a longer journey than usual) and they gave us drinks immediately and told us what we'd be doing for the next couple of days. The resort comprises a courtyard with swimming pool, surrounded by beach huts and a larger block of rooms. We were given the choice of either style of room and they all had air con. There was no toilet roll in the room but they immediately gave us some when we asked. They always sorted out any problems immediately. After we freshened up on our first night they walked us through the town of Sauraha (wonderfully chilled out in comparison to Kathmandu, reminded me of Vang Vieng in Laos or maybe Chiang Mai in Thailand (a few years ago maybe). There were some stalls to buy the usual jewellery etc from but the salespeople were more chilled out than in Kathmandu. The walk was in order to see the sunrise over the National Park and the river. There is a sort of beach bar at the river and lots of seats to chill out and watch the sun go down. We saw crocodiles and lots of birds on the canoe ride and rhinos, deer and monkeys on the safari walk. And we went to a cultural show with Nepalese dancing and a man dressed as a peacock! That sounds ridiculous but he is genuinely a gifted performer! The Tibet guides were great. Incredibly informative and we had one guide throughout the whole visit in Tibet which was great. The Potala Palace and all the monasteries are incredible and the people in Tibet are kind and friendly. Also, on our first night in Nepal the agency took us out to dinner in a beautiful restaurant with traditional dancing which was a really great start to the vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for changes of plan due to unforeseen circumstances such as China closing the Tibet airports. Everyone will be very accommodating if this happens but for us it meant staying in a tent at EBC which I'd have brought a sleeping bag for if I'd known. They provided beds and rugs but I personally prefer my own sleeping bag. Research beforehand how much is expected tipping-wise as we weren't entirely prepared for this. We didn't get Nepalese/Chinese sim cards. I would recommend doing this so that you could call or text the agency or guides if you have a question. They kept us informed on what we were doing but it's a lot of info to take in so it'd be good to have that as a fall back. Be prepared for some seriously unpleasant toilets in Tibet. Bring tissues and antibacterial hand wash and you'll be fine. A lot of people in Tibet wear face masks to protect against pollution or the wind. I wish I'd bought one at the start to use in toilets that have lots of flies. But we had it pretty taped by the end. And they weren't that much worse than what I've encountered in Malaysia and Cambodia. It's really just a part of traveling, but a mask would have been great in hindsight. And since they're sold on every corner in Tibet, you may as well!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All of our hotels and guides were local and took us to small restaurants and shops. So I think it benefited local businesses as much as is possible. The Chitwan resort supports the safari park and so presumably helps conserve it the more people visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

An amazing experience. Everyone was great. The vacation provider in Nepal and the Tibet agency were both great, really keen to please. The only thing we didn't manage to do was our one day's volunteering at a school in Nepal. However, this was really due to the schedule change because of China closing the Tibet airports. The agency tried to still fit it in but was unable to. They are still going to deliver the gifts we brought for the kids though.

review 11 Jan 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Beautiful people / country Very well organised excursion - complicated itinerary that went very smoothly. Outstanding guides. Excellent

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Use this operator

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Outstanding

review 18 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was thoroughly enjoyable. The highlights for us were Lhasa Old Town, the Potala Palace and Mount Everest. The unfortunate Landslide meant that we had to take an unexpected helicopter in Nepal, which turned out to be most exciting.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The main area for development would be the quality of the Tibetan Guide. Whilst ours was okay, she was not very motivated and her English was in need of improvement.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

It is difficult to identify when this happened, apart from knowing that we were using a local agency and they in turn employed local staff.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A real adventure. Definitely worth doing and we shall do something similar again soon.

review 13 Aug 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Crazy narrow maze of Kathmandu streets. It is an exciting but quite polluted city with plenty of interesting places to explore never-ending arts and crafts shops and friendly peoples. However the trip to Tibet was most unforgettable for me. I liked Barkhor Market in Lhasa, where hundreds of Tibetan pilgrims at any time of the day, walk clockwise preforming their kora. The highlights of the Tibetan trip for me was the visits the Potala Palace and Norbulingka Summer Palace, where I walked in the footsteps of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama who has been banned forever to return to his country. For Tibetan to have his photo or excerpt from his teachings is punishable by a long prison sentence. The movie “Seven Years in Tibet” is banned. On a top of Potala Palace flies a Chinese flag. “. I have also enjoyed visit to Drepung Monastery. By share luck, I took part in an annual Lunar Festival in Shigatse where thousands of ethnic Tibetans gathered for three days, to watch on each day, unveiling of the Thangka with the images of the Past, the Present and the Future Buddha displayed on a huge wall on the top of the hill of Tashilhumpo Monastery – home of the Panchen Lama. I admired the resilience of Tibetan peoples who have been denied their human rights. Crossing the Friendship Bridge, I realized how lucky I was living in a free society.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Enjoy the Tibetan adventure while it lasts. There are many changes taking places in the Tibetan landscape and in the Tibetan way of life. It is advisable to read before this trip to experience the visit with an open mind. Take it slow on a first day, when you arrive in Lhasa to avoid the altitude sickness. I never took any Diamox, even at the Everest base camp. I walked slowly (even if I didn’t have to), drank a lot of water, and only took an aspirin for the night. Take small change for the loos (they are payable in Tibet). Watch for the spies, it could be fun. If you can, leave some items from your medical kit behind, it will be greatly appreciated.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so. We stayed in the hotels with the Tibetan staff. It is difficult to say if they were owed by Tibetans. We eat in the Tibetan restaurants, shopped in the placed owed by Tibetans and supported the monastery we visited.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was my dream to travel to Tibet and I wasn’t disappointed. I saw most of the places I wanted to visit. I only wish that the circumstances could be different. I am very happy with the tour company’s travel services and would recommend them without any doubts to anybody who wants to travel to this part of the world. Achut and Keshev have been very helpful and very professional.

review 11 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stunning beauty of Tibet and the Himalayas, and the warmth of the ethnic Tibetans, cannot be overstated. We gained many cultural insights into Tibet and the Buddhist faith, and were helped very much by our excellent Tibetan guide and our driver. A particular memory is the traditional evening meal we enjoyed at a colonial style venue in Kathmandu with Newari food, music and dancers. This was arranged as a surprise by our hosts, Manakamana Treks.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Flying into Tibet via Lhasa then making the road trip west along the Freedom Highway to the Freedom Bridge back into Nepal is an ideal way to see southern Tibet on a relatively short timescale, but the altitude problems should not be underestimated. Start taking the altitude medication before you arrive in Lhasa.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We tried always to engage directly with the ethnic Tibetans and bought from local artisans where possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was excellent and we could not fault the service provided. Highly recommended as trustworthy and reliable.

review 13 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were several memorable moments. Seeing the Potala Palace for the first time, and walking up the steps with pilgrims from all over Tibet. Driving along the Friendship Highway with its changeable scenery. Meeting Everest! The open air toilets! The turquoise lakes...yaks...seeing how people make a living on the roof of the world.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Familiarise yourself with the Buddhist faith. If traveling in the colder months, a sleeping bag would be a very good idea as some of the rooms are unheated. Try the yak butter tea with an open mind - it's not that bad! Tsampa is delicious. Sharpen up your chopstick skills.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed in local hotels, ate in local restaurants, and met local people. We had the opportunity to buy in local shops.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a great time. We were warmly welcomed by Kashev and Achut, who looked after us really well. Our Tibetan guide Tashi also took great care of us, and explained so much to us.

review 18 Oct 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were quite a few beginning with the flight from Kathmandu to Lhasa passing the Himalayan Mountains. I liked the peace and serenity of Lhasa which was a contrast to the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. Visiting the Potala Palace and seeing it lit up at night and watching the local people dancing in front of the palace in the people’s park in the evening with the fountain display. The stunning scenery on the road back to Kathmandu, in particular seeing Yamdrok Lake.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take your Lonely Planet Guide to Tibet as it will be confiscated. I had my bags checked upon arrival and exit for books. I had an insight Guide which was ok. Always have your original copy of your Chinese Visa with you as it will be checked at various checkpoints on your journey and also at your hotel when you check in. Lastly despite the strict procedures - go and visit Tibet - it is a beautiful country. The scenery is spectacular and the people are very friendly.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so - we ate at local Tibetan restaurants and stayed in Tibetan hotels, and certainly one farmer has benefited from being given my polorised sunglasses to protect his eyes from the extremely bright sunlight

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was an amazing experience despite the fact that we got snowed in at Everest Base Camp and had to be rescued by the Chinese Army that delayed our plans by a day which just adds to the adventure. The tour company staff were excellent. They looked after me very well and made all the necessary arrangements and their prices were reasonable so i would definitely use them again and highly recommend them to others

review 2 Sep 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Seeing Himalaya; Tibetan and Nepali people (who are extremely friendly) with their amazing culture

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It is a cultural trip. You will visit temples a lot. Also, you will spend quite a lot of time in a car, driving through Tibet. If you are looking for an active vacation, that's probably not the best choice.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Our guide was very environment-conscious, he picked rubbish left by other tourists! I wish other tourists/guides were aware of this problem to the same extent.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was amazing. Everything was organised very well and we didn't have to worry about a thing. Moreover, we've met fantastic people both in Nepal and Tibet, have seen amazing views, and have gotten to know really interesting culture.

review 25 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Driving through Eastern Tibet is surreal. Having a meal with our guide and driver was also really cool. They are very nice guys.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The tour company is very vague on details, so don't just go along with what they say. Bring all the information they sent with you and refer to it. The Tibet portion was a day shorter than originally said and I needed to settle some pricing discrepancies with them when I returned to Kathmandu from Tibet.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Both the Nepal location and the Tibet portion use locals in their operation. During the Tibet tour the tour guide, Tenzin, also picks up litter as you go along. It's super cute.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Overall, I really enjoyed myself. I was frustrated by the lack of details from the Nepalese tour operators, but that is water under the bridge. The Tibet portion is so amazing and Tenzin is just such a good tour guide that I would consider taking the tour again.

review 27 Jan 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The most exciting part of our Vacation was experiencing the beautiful Tibet and the many challenges Tibet is facing in the future. Tibet is not the easiest place if you like us come from low altitudes but it worked out very well and after a few days in Lhasa we even found a 'starbucks' look alike selling proper cappuccinos! That was actually another highlight for me : ) Kathmandu was also a fantastic experience as well but a lot has changed since my last visit! Our best experience from Kathmandu was probably dinner on the last night with Achut in a fantastic Nepalese restaurant...nothing beats dining with locals who knows the right places. Finishing off in a resort in Thailand was just heaven and completed our dream vacation.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would recommend being absolutely aware of the restrictions the climate can have on traveling to Nepal and Tibet during Winter- I think we thought we could have done some treks- just easy ones but a lot of treks close down or require permits. I think we were under the impression that we could travel a bit more freely. It didn't affect our trip but that was just our only frustration.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely - we stayed in local hotels, ate in local restaurants owned by Nepalese or Tibetan people and rarely did we feel like we were experiencing things that were 'staged' for us.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We absolutely loved how the trip was planned and can't recommend our tour operator highly enough! We have found new friends for life in Achut and Keshav as well as the lovely guides in Tibet- and we hope to go back and visit them one day!

review 3 Nov 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery whilst driving between places, especially between Shigatse and Everest Base Camp, and then the next day from Everest Base Camp to the Zhangmu, was absolutely astounding. Staying at Everest Base Camp and watching the colours of Everest turn golden is something I will never forget. Seeing the Potala Palace perched above Lhasa for the first time was also pretty special.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for all types of weather - it was pretty warm for most of our trip, but when the sun went down at EBC it was absolutely freezing. I'd have loved to stay out for a bit to look at the incredibly clear stars, but it was too bloody cold!!! Also take it easy for the first few days due to altitude - this seems obvious and everyone goes on about it, but it really can't be stressed enough.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Our guide and driver were local, not sure how many of the hotels we stayed in were locally-owned (I think the majority were) but we tried to find proper Tibetan restaurants when we could (we found an awesome one in Shigatse which did the best food we had on the whole trip), even if they weren't proper Tibetan restaurants I'm pretty sure all the places we ate in were locally-owned.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely incredible - Tibet is a truly fascinating place to visit. Also, a special mention needs to be made to the operator in Kathmandu who organised the trip. Achut and the rest of his staff were so helpful and friendly, everything was really well organised and they made us feel very welcome. I honestly can't recommend them enough, we were always given personal attention and even celebrated Diwali with them. They certainly made an already incredible vacation even more special.

review 12 Oct 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole variety of the trip - from visiting Potala Palace and all the Buddhist Temples in Tibet - to the wildlife in Nepal’s national parks - seeing tigers in Bardia National Park and Rhino in Chitwan. Bhutan was also a very memorable place to visit too - with all the Dzongs and temples. Also the friendliness of the people - all my guides and the guys at the tour operator.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Allow plenty of time to see this beautiful country - even though Bardia National Park is a long way from Kathmandu it is definitely worth it - I was very lucky to see Tigers - maybe you could too.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

As the trip used local companies and guides it definitely benefited the local community. Rather than all the money going to a western company I was glad I booked through Responsible who put you in touch with local companies who use a variety of local hotels, transport, guides and resorts.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Considering I had booked a long trip with many elements – the tour company pulled it all together and made it very easy - so overall I am very happy 10/10.

review 13 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Basically all of it: wonderful cultural/religious sites, driving through stunning scenery in the Himalayas and, of course, reaching Everest Base Camp (without too many altitude problems!)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do your research and be prepared for basic accommodation (esp. base camp!).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Definitely. Good to see no big, western companies taking their share.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic. A real adventure.

review 12 Jun 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Yamdroke lake and of course Everest, although every part was just incredible.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you have plenty of small denomination bills with you, especially in Tibet. Ask your guide where to shop as a lot of the craft stalls and shops are chinese owned. I have to say I was wary about sending money to Kathmandu and booking over the internet. Don't be, Achut from the operator is extremely proffessional and thorough. He even arranged flights and pick ups for me to India, he could not do enough for me. I will certainly be using his company again.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the hotels and tea houses were run by local Tibetan people, we ate in Tibetan restaraunts and the guide was very helpful with local knowledge of these and the shops. The guide I had was local and very informative, he was very knowledgeable about the places we visited and had a vast knowledge of Tibetan History

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely incredible, Tibet has to be the most beautiful place on the planet. The scenery is stunning and the people are amazing. I loved every minute of it and have so many fantastic memories.

review 27 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is difficult to think of just one exciting part of the vacation as I have so many fantastic memories. Kathmandu was exciting with its temples and culture. Tibet was different again; seeing the Himalayas and Mount Everest was incredible, along with visiting various monasteries and seeing where the Dalai Lama lived. We had a well planned itinerary which had been put together by this operator. It was an amazing tour which we thoroughly enjoyed.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would recommend this trekking company for vacations to Nepal and Tibet. We were very well looked after. The company couldn't do enough for us. They ensured we had a memorable and enjoyable vacation from the moment we were met at the airport to the day we left.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. I would like to think that by visiting the two countries that we benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a fantastic vacation. If you are considering traveling to Nepal for either a cultural vacation or a trek, I would recommend you go with this trekking company. I would like to return to Nepal in the future and do a trek with them through the amazing scenery.

review 27 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of this vacation to Nepal and Tibet was memorable and just about as exciting as a trip can get.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I would rec that they use the same tour company as I did... it was first rate!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Everyone we met was so friendly and so willing to practice their English on us, I hope the money I spent as a tourist goes in some small way to benefiting local people. Not too sure if I minimized any impact on the environment though as even when I folded towels to be used again...they would be replaced by clean ones.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a vacation of a lifetime for both my sister and myself and I would rate it pretty much first class and would highly rec my tour company.

review 13 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everyday of the vacation in Kathmandu and Tibet was a feast for the eyes and senses. Breathtaking views, ancient temples and exotic people. I choose two best parts. 1. In Sera Monastery-watching and listening to a Buddhist monk being 'tested' by the High Lamas on his discussion skills. With ritual hand and feet gestures they use and the laughter of his fellow monks I felt I had time travelled back centuries. 2. The Dalai Lamas Summer Palace, Norblinga, at the Goat Festival watching a traditional Tibetan opera/ dance about arranging a marriage between two families. This wasn't a typical tourist attraction, we were the only Europeans there. There is still some timeless Tibetan culture hanging there by a thread. Despite China's iron fist which has banned all Tibetan ceremonies. Banned because they see every gathering of Tibetans has a threat and a potential uprising. Tibet is unique.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

It was useful that I had taken lots of chocolate bars for my two sons - because nearly all of it went to children at the popular stopping points. I received lots of smiles, thumbs up and waves. See Tibet while it still has Tibetans living there - there are only 6 million Tibetans worldwide. Notice that Chinese outnumber Tibetans in all the major cities and they have all the better jobs- you won't see any Chinese building the roads. Expect to be stared at, followed and spied on by some of the Chinese who pretend to be tourists - just stare back as rudely as they stare at you.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

I hope we benefited local people by adding to the economy. I don't believe we caused any negative impact on the environment. One thing we can and will do is tell anyone who will listen about the plight of the Tibetan people under the dictatorship of the Chinese Government who are intent on destroying the Tibetan culture. One billion Chinese against 6 million Tibetans. Nearly 400 Buddhist monks disappeared in 2008 arrested by the Chinese army during the Olympics. Tibetans are not allowed a passport and they are not allowed to have any image of the Dalai Lama at all. Houses are raided at night and ransacked searching for photos of him. The Chinese airport staff check any books going into Tibet and they confiscated my library book because unknowingly it had a old black and white photo of him. They are also building a airport at Mount Kalaish, the holiest place in Tibet, just to desecrate it.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

I went with my two sons 14 and 21 and I'm a 60 year woman. We felt safe all the time and our comfort was paramount. Our driver and guide Lopsang were the absolute best. The driver was excellent and we were awed by his deliberate and careful driving when we approached any living creature such as birds, goats, dogs, yaks, cows and sheep and of course people. We shared food during the long drives in Tibet, they shared their tsampa, cheese on a string and sunflower seeds and we shared our English biscuits, mints and wine gums. Achut and Ksharp and everyone at the tour company in Kathmandu and Tibet were punctual, helpful, kind, polite, informative and of a kind disposition. Nothing was too much trouble. Rate this vacation 110%.

review 1 Sep 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We just came from a fantastic vacation in Nepal and Tibet. We were very impressed with your company. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of so well, from the quality of the accommodation to the traveling and visiting arrangements, it was all made very professionally and easy for us, which I know is down to sheer hard work by the staff.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Everything was well organised by the tour company.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We very much would like to think that using the responsibletravel and local agent was beneficial for the local people and the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic!!!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies