14 independent reviews for Tailor made vacations to Jordan

Reviews for Tailor made vacations to Jordan

SHOW
2
11
1
0
0

review 5 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Singing round a campfire in Wadi Rum

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go!!! Its an amazing time to visit Jordan and its a fascinating place to visit. Go now before the crowds return.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everyone was very pleased to see us and we tried to stay and to eat in places owned and run by locals. Sadly I fear that we were nothing but a drain on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical. Loved every minute. 4 days that felt like 2 weeks they were so full of sights and sounds and wonderful people. A brilliant short break.

review 7 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Feynan Lodge - would like to have spent longer there or done walk bewteen the two lodges.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Not sure staying in Amman worth it. Amman Citadel could be visited from Dead Sea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - although Feynan seemed a much better experience than Captains Camp in Wadi Rum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 29 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My visit to Petra. Although I was suffering from terrible flu, I will always remember Petra. The history is incredible and our guide was very informative.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Wear comfortable shoes. Take water and something to eat as the food at the site is not so good! Itís a long walk to the Monastery, so be fit if you take it on. I didn't go but I watched the faces of those who did when they returned. Tired! Grueling to climb the umpteen steps!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think my visit helped local people; about the environment I would'nt know!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent! If I could afford it, I would go again.

review 30 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Floating in the Dead Sea as the sun came up on the last day of the vacation; walking through the Siq at Petra, then climbing to the Monastery and exploring the tombs late in the afternoon.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with a sense of humour and an open, curious mind. And to get the most from the ancient sites, read up on the historical significance of the region.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Many Jordanians rely on tourism so yes, local people did benefit. And the Feynan Lodge in the Dana reserve is a world class example of eco-tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great experience in a beautiful country!

review 17 Apr 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was exciting only enhanced by the guide who was very knowledgeable and shared his knowledge with humour and patience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't miss Jerash and take very comfortable shoes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, most certainly.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was excellent with more help than expected from being met at the airport to leaving. The first hotel left a little to be desired cleanliness wise, but overall it was a great vacation.

review 29 Mar 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting Petra - the realisation of a long standing dream.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take longer at Petra and Wadi Rum - we felt to only scratch the surface at both.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - but the use of the Ramada Hotel in Amman is not recommended as the service standards were very poor. The Dead Sea Spa, whilst giving good service, is in a "tourist ghetto" along with 3 or 4 other 5 star international hotels. There was no means of benefitting local people or experiencing local life within about 5 km. A misunderstanding with one member of the group caused an extra minibus and guide to be provided from Wadi rum to Aqaba and on to the Dead Sea, whilst 5 of us booked through this operator travelled on the 47 seater coach in comfort - but not very environmentally friendly!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - the guide (Ra Ed) from Amman through to Wadi Rum was fantastic. His enthusiasm, experience, friendliness and helpfulness, together with a constant flow of facts and anecdotes really made Jordan come alive for us.

review 19 Feb 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra was truly amazing!!! Magdi our guide was so informative and knowledgeable - a truly educating experience in his presence!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ensure you have small note change to ensure you always have tips handy. Check out all hotels in the Dead Sea area and choose which one you would prefer.... there are not many and you need to ensure you have your taste and style accounted for. Jordan is expensive, especially in restaurants - prices are equivalent to London prices. Also very pricey at the Dead Sea as there are no independent restaurants separate from the few hotels on the hotel stretch. Not as many ATM's outside of Amman as guide books say. Aqaba is worthwhile visiting, I was there only for an hour and wished I had more time there. A bit chilly in February - I would go later in March-May next time.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The local travel company were amazing ... all local people benefited from our visit.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A really amazing vacation! Magdi made it such an informative and enlightening visit! The travel company made everything so easy, from disembarking the plane at Amman to leaving and going through customs at the end.

review 14 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Fenyan Lodge. Good balance of local interest, committed staff, good service and no unecessary frills.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The expectations of staff everywehre to be tipped for actaully just doing the job they are paid for in the 1st place, is out of control. It was rather unpleasant and excessive. Jordanian people throw their rubbish everywhere and beatufiful places were spoilt by this unfortunate habit. Tourist agencies should pressure locals to get this under control.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes reasonably, whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good itinerary and organisation.

review 23 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it! But particularly Feynan Eco Lodge, watching the stars and the Dead Sea. Jordan is amazing country that will change your view on life.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

That you need to keep a lot of small notes for tips. They tip far more and more generously in Jordan. Also, I would also recommend covering from head-to-toe in light fabrics to keep cool and be respected. Keep a scarf with you to go inside mosques to cover your hair, shoulders etc.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, the driver was local and spoke a lot about his life and local people. Staying at the Eco Lodge and camping at the Captain's Camp you could see that this had an impact on local people. People are very open and kind, so do chat to them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Amazing, fantastic and am highly recommending to all!

review 20 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

No one thing was most memorable (Petra and Jerash were both very memorable of course) - but every day was full of interest, and having the opportunity to meet local Jordanians at each of our destinations was a real pleasure. We were made to feel so welcome and everyone we met was prepared to talk about their culture.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Perhaps to take a vacation earlier in the season before the heat is too intense. On our trip we went on some treks that were shorter than those that had been planned in our itinerary on the advice of our guides, because they felt we would find them too long and too hard in the heat.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We definitely felt our visit benefited the local Bedouin communities since we were made aware that tourism was greatly reduced at present due to the troubles in neighbouring countries.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A most interesting and different experience to any others we have had.

review 18 Nov 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our visits to Jerash, Petra and Wadi Rum - all were fabulous.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check on the hotels! Not all Marriotts are the same ... and don't get given the room for wheelchair uses in the Dead Sea Movenpick! Ask for the Zara rooms - fab views!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We would like to think that: it's why we always travel with responsible travel companies.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great.

review 11 Jan 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There is probably no need to use an agent, all hotels will accept your booking direct and it is cheaper to hire a car, local guides are easy to pick up and most are fixed price. Get a visa before you go if you can the wait at Amman can be hours!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

18/20.

Read the operator's response here:

Thank you for your comments, it is really useful for us to receive feedback. Booking with a tour operator gives you the financial security of knowing your vacation is safe. We are completely bonded by ATOL, offering both financial protection and peace of mind. We can generally offer better prices than booking a hotel directly and we only arrange qualified and government approved guides throughout Jordan. In addition, we only arrange our excursions and tours with reputable and experienced local companies.

review 8 Dec 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Our stay in Feynan Wilderness Lodge. Dana Nature Reserve was outstanding. This is a market leader in sustainable tourism. We were really impressed with the genuine warmth of greeting from this Bedouin based community project, the welcome tea drink, the sunset walk with more tea around a camp fire! The candle light, with candle made by local Bedouin women was enchanting. Hot eco shower even in the morning was very impressive. The array of solar photo voltaic panels magnificent. We were pleased to be able to put Nabil the 'Director' in touch with Solar Aid for self build panels to power a light or mobile phone charging for local Bedouin.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do be careful with water and salads away from 5* Hotels. We did have travelers tummy. Tourist prices at restaurants.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes particularly at Feynan (see above). Having a car with driver from Amman. Tips everywhere!! Again at Taybet Zaman Hotel nr Petra. A very interesting conversion from an old redundant Ottoman Village.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A well chosen itinerary giving the flavour of the whole country Um Qais to Wadi Rum. Jeraz and Petra outstanding with very good guides. Two castles Crusader and Saladin's ample! Amman Museum excellent, others were closed for the vacation. We both gained new insights into local culture.

review 17 Nov 2009

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There were so many memorable moments. Aside from the obvious sights such as Petra and Jerash, which were marvellous, I think the highlight for us might well be having lunch with the bedouin family of our guide in Feynan. As he was himself a bedouin, and his family lived in their goat-hair tent on our hiking route, it was such a unique and un-touristy moment for us - one of pure generosity.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take insect spray if you are spending the night in Wadi Rum. Try and stay near Petra on a Monday, Wednesday or Thursday night so you can do Petra by night. Spend at least a day and a half at Petra as one day is simply not enough.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Feynan Lodge and Taybat Zaman (hotels) we felt did benefit the local people and we were also impressed with how many foundations there are in Jordan for local people and groups if you look for them.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a fantastic experience, and Jordan is a great destination. Don't think of the country as simply 80% desert (we arrived to two days of rain) as there is so much to see from different civilisations, cultures, archaeological and biblical sites and the people are super-friendly.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies