11 independent reviews for Tailor made vacations to Jordan

Reviews for Tailor made vacations to Jordan

SHOW
3
7
1
0
0

review 10 Apr 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra, in particular the 'back door' hike to the monastery.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

At least two days for Petra! We spent the third morning at the museum, but with even more time would happily have gone back for other walks around the site.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, given that tourism was at a low ebb in the country - such a shame, because the people are so welcoming. But there's always the downside of the flight to get there.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

One of the best vacations we've ever had.

review 24 Mar 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We enjoyed everything, but particularly Petra and Wadi Rum. All the hotels we stayed were excellent, although the Vacation Inn at the Dead Sea was rather cold and impersonal with a number of very indifferent staff - which we did not encounter anywhere else. Our driver, Mr Khaled, was exceptional and the best I have every encountered. His care and attention was outstanding. I did pass this on to the agent in Amman during a telephone conversation when at the hotel in Aqaba. The organisation in Jordan was very good indeed, and the the other drivers, guides and representatives were very good indeed. I have nothing but praise for them.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

I was impressed by the country and everything we saw. I would definitely recommend a short stay in Amman as the rest of the country is much more interesting, in my opinion.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope that it benefited local people.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was exceptional. I regret to say that after two years of dealing with the operator, they fell down badly in the last few weeks. I felt that as they had had our money for the last 2 years, anything would do. I was appalled at their attitude when I informed them that my baggage had not been included by Royal Jordanian and I had had to pay extra to include. They more or less said this was impossible. I assure you that it was not! This matter has not been sorted out by them and I have asked them NOT to contact me ever again. You may be assured that I will never book with them again and I am afraid that this sheds a very poor light upon yourselves. Very sad after a very enjoyable and well organised vacation, but it leaves an extremely nasty taste. Nevertheless, that it how it is.

Read the operator's response here:

We are so pleased you found the vacation exceptional. We’ve done a thorough investigation with our flight consolidator on the issue around the baggage and explained this. The tickets to Jordan included one suitcase per client but unfortunately an extra bag was booked when checking in on line and was charged. In Jordan we support the Jordan River Foundation which is a wonderful charity helping vulnerable women and children. The Jordan River Foundation is a non-profit organisation which was established with a vision to ensure the wellbeing of children by engaging Jordanians to overcome social challenges, namely child abuse. During this tour you will have enjoyed an evening at ‘The Petra Kitchen;’ a truly Jordanian experience with local women and authentic furnishings, all crafted by the Women’s Co-operative and Jordan River Foundation. Established in 1995 by Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah, since its launch, the foundation has initiated women’s projects to provide employment and enhance their livelihoods making women empowered. This project was much needed in Jordan which continues to generate income for vulnerable families, of which there are many in Jordan.

review 9 Mar 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Visiting Petra

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Do not stay at Harir palace in Amman. Double check paperwork from the operator

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefitted local people

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had an amazing time. With hindsight, we would have upgraded our accommodation

review 31 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Petra, despite the hailstorm! Petra kitchen Wadi Rum including the bubble tent for stargazing

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Get to all the tourist sites as early as possible in the day. Especially Petra 7.00am latest! Try to get a Wadi Rum driver who's English is better than rudimentary! Look up what you want to see and make sure he knows.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Benefited local people yes as tourism is Jordan's major economy. You do need to tip, but not extortionately. Environment and conservation. Certainly if you stay at Feynan Eco lodge or one of the Dana lodges. Jordan has several nature reserves and is doing it's best to preserve the environment. However inevitably there are environmental costs to all the road travel, aircon in hotels etc. Single use plastics still in evidence and recycling not always possible. Solar and wind power is on the increase however.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant! Such a diverse country and lovely people. Our driver/guide was fantastic but you could easily drive yourself.

review 13 Oct 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Tour around Petra & hiking away from the crowds

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Appreciate hotels no matter what star are quite slow in service & maintenance doesn’t seem to be thought about

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great experiences. Just let down by quality of hotel rooms & service

review 18 Mar 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Interacting with the people of Jordan will be the first memories we keep. The beauty and majesty of the country, combined with the living history was exciting to experience. From the green fields of the north to the southern desert, preserved roman Jerash to Nabatean Petra, all beautiful to see.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don’t be in a hurry, absorb what comes your way. Take time with the daily interactions (skipping over the souvenir sellers though) and enjoy the genuine hospitality. The history has many layers, so try to relate to the history, past and that in progress.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The vacation benefits the local populace in two ways, first by staying in the preserves and in the Wadi Rum camps, jobs are created where none existed a few years ago. Second, many of the shopping opportunities are at sites created to benefit the Queen Noor foundations employing and giving skills to locals that do not have traditional schooling opportunities or good jobs in remote locations. So skip the cheap imported goods and buy the hand crafted items where many times you can meet the artist too.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Extremely satisfying. We found what we were looking for. A great diversity of locations and activities allowing personal interaction with many of people of Jordan. In eight days we ranged the length of the country, visited many interesting sites, yet never felt rushed, allowing us to linger and enjoy each moment.

review 16 Apr 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

There are so many... Jerash, Petra, Wadi Rum, Feynan Ecolodge... but most of all it is the friendliness of its people that made the biggest impression.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

1) Book an extra day in Amman... we were so busy everyday that in the end we didn't have time to visit Amman itself. 2) If you like to do some hiking book an extra day at Feynan Ecolodge to fully make the most of it. 3) We could have used an extra day in the desert to do some camel riding. The days are so busy that although the possibility is there with the travel time from one place to another we ran out of time. 4) In Wadi Rum, choose a Bedouin camp that is smaller rather than large. Captain' s Camp could accommodate over+ 120 guests at a time (read busloads); there are smaller camps. We were lucky as we were only five guests on the night we stayed but i could see how overwhelming it could get... In summary, 8 days may not be enough to fully enjoy Jordan! If you can ask for a specific driver we were very please with our driver Mr. Jihad Jaber.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes I do believe in eco tourism and Jordan is in great need of our help to support conservation efforts. I was very impressed by the Feynan Ecolodge and its staff!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a wonderful time, felt very welcomed and secure. We unfortunately lost our driver mid week (unforeseeable interruption); he was very knowledgeable about his country and had a great personality. He was a great fit with our small group.

review 5 Dec 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Singing round a campfire in Wadi Rum

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go!!! Its an amazing time to visit Jordan and its a fascinating place to visit. Go now before the crowds return.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Everyone was very pleased to see us and we tried to stay and to eat in places owned and run by locals. Sadly I fear that we were nothing but a drain on the environment.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical. Loved every minute. 4 days that felt like 2 weeks they were so full of sights and sounds and wonderful people. A brilliant short break.

review 7 Mar 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Feynan Lodge - would like to have spent longer there or done walk bewteen the two lodges.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Not sure staying in Amman worth it. Amman Citadel could be visited from Dead Sea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes - although Feynan seemed a much better experience than Captains Camp in Wadi Rum.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good.

review 30 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Floating in the Dead Sea as the sun came up on the last day of the vacation; walking through the Siq at Petra, then climbing to the Monastery and exploring the tombs late in the afternoon.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go with a sense of humour and an open, curious mind. And to get the most from the ancient sites, read up on the historical significance of the region.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Many Jordanians rely on tourism so yes, local people did benefit. And the Feynan Lodge in the Dana reserve is a world class example of eco-tourism.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A great experience in a beautiful country!

review 14 Oct 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Fenyan Lodge. Good balance of local interest, committed staff, good service and no unecessary frills.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The expectations of staff everywehre to be tipped for actaully just doing the job they are paid for in the 1st place, is out of control. It was rather unpleasant and excessive. Jordanian people throw their rubbish everywhere and beatufiful places were spoilt by this unfortunate habit. Tourist agencies should pressure locals to get this under control.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes reasonably, whenever possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good itinerary and organisation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy