8 independent reviews for Small group tour of Egypt, Nubian adventure

Reviews for Small group tour of Egypt, Nubian adventure

SHOW
4
4
0
0
0

review 9 Jan 2022

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Valley of the Kings , Abu Simbel, night on Felucca

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Must go to Abu Simbel And advice for company: Nubian Adventures is a terrible name for the trip. It doesnít reflect that almost all important ancient monuments are covered in the trip. And it overemphasises the Nubian aspect - the Nubian village visit was the worst day; the most touristy day.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not particularly. The train was the best green aspect. But there was no attempt to reduce plastic waste by buying water in large bottles and then dispensing to groupís reusable bottles. There was no discussion of option of carbon offsetting the flight. There was a lot of driving. The hotels were sometimes too good and western chain-owned. There was a lot of unnecessary cling film used on food dishes and waste packaging on pack lunches.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fabulous. Egypt canít be anything but fabulous.

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Alice, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your post-tour feedback, I'm really pleased to see that you did enjoy the tour, though I'm sorry to hear you didn't like our tour name. Whilst the focus of this tour isn't necessarily on the Nubian culture, this name was chosen since this tour travels as far south as Aswan, which was part of the ancient region of Nubia and where many Nubians still reside today. We also use Nubian crew for the felucca sailboat trip. It's good to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Abu Simbel, whilst this is quite a long day, we do recommend it as it's an incredible temple and very unique when compared to others in the country (and also the fascinating history of UNESCO moving the temple back in the 60's). We don't include it in the standard itinerary precisely because it is such a long drive there and back from Aswan, and therefore not for everyone. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel the trip benefited local people or contributed to conservation though. In Egypt we do only employ local staff within our offices and all guides and drivers we use are local Egyptians also, this helps to contribute to the local people, their families and Egyptian economy. Whilst on our tours whenever we make stops for shopping, we do consciously choose smaller retailers or those owned by local Egyptians too. We also use a support boat with our felucca trips which has its own toilet on board and protects the banks of the Nile from being covered with toilet paper and waste which happens on a lot of other felucca trips. On the issue of single use plastics in Egypt, this is a huge problem that Egypt is battling with and we did want to address your comments about this. Prior to start of the COVID pandemic, we had had been starting to use large water containers within our touring vehicles, from which our guests would be able to refill their own water containers. We did decide to pause this during the pandemic to avoid cross contamination via touch points. As the COVID situation has now improved somewhat, this is something that we are looking at restarting again, so we hope to have large water containers within our vehicles again in the coming months. We're sure that this will greatly reduce the numbers of plastic bottles being used by our guests whilst in Egypt. Other initiatives we have in Egypt, include donations we make to a local Cairo orphanage for each booking and we have also run desert clean up days in the Fayoum region (though these have been paused recently for security reasons). To reduce domestic flights, we do use the sleeper train or travel by road on the vast majority of our Egypt tours which produces less carbon emissions. Overall, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Egypt and I hope that the above information is helpful. All the best. Anthony.

review 18 Feb 2020

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

My first sight of the Pyramids, then my first sight of an ancient temple (Philae) then, hard to choose, but possibly sailing silently up the Nile on a felucca, or maybe Luxor temple at night. But many memorable moments

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The pre-tour information pack rather downplayed the excellence of the organisation by the team on the ground.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Although the information pack didn't highlight it, the afternoon and evening spent with Nubian people on the felucca, being shown their village and having a wonderful campfire meal with them must have benefitted the local community. The behind-the-scenes staff were Egyptian.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Thanks to our excellent guide we were provided with a densely packed introduction to Ancient Egypt.

review 1 May 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Traveling on the Nile - both sailing on the Felucca and going to the Nubian village for dinner. It was beautiful and very relaxing.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To plan ahead as to what optional extras you would like to do - there are lots of options and extra trips that can be added on at the start or the end.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I think the trip worked with local guides both in seeing sites and in arranging the Felucca and Nubian village tours.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - so many impressive sites to see, tour guide was fantastic, I would highly recommend this trip

review 22 Mar 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent - largely because of the excellent tour guide that the operator provided. He really was very knowledgeable and caring

review 22 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I cannot single out a particular part since everything was so exciting and wonderful: the pyramids and other ancient sites; the museum; the guide Mohammad Kemir, second to nobody; the superb food, both Nubian and Arab; the quality of the hotels; the night on Nile on board of felluca; the lovely people in the group - all these made the trip truly unforgettable!!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The company wants to show their country and cares for the tourist, so go ahead and book a tour! Do not pay attention of rumors and prejudice about safety: yes, Egypt is a safe place in this time!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope part of our money went to local people, working in the industry. Given the tremendous number of plastic bottles for water thrown away I see negative impact on the environment - maybe the hotels should offer clean water in bulk and the tourist to refill their own bottles?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent experience!

review 14 Apr 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The sheer size, age and wonder of the things we were taken to view on this vacation was AMAZING!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Check the weather before you go. Cairo in Feb 2016 was as cold as a European deep winter. Everybody on our tour did not pack enough warm clothes.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really, to be honest.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

5 out of 5! Amazing vacation!

review 20 Mar 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We visited Jordan and Egypt to take in the cultural and historical aspects of the countries and we were not disappointed. Amazing wonderful sights in perfect weather.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

If you book with this vacation provider you'll get unrivalled service, especially in Egypt and the experience at present due to lack of tourists is fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not really

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Magical

review 23 Apr 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The 3 day cruise on the Nile and the history

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for some fierce heat, hat and sunscreen essential, also the local stall holders can be very persistent..one has to rember it's their livlihood and not take offence.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

yes, Egypt is desperate for tourism at the moment and those depending on tourists are really doing it tough. Not sure about 'reducing environmental impacts' that's a tricky one in Egypt...tourists are the cleanest and most careful about litter...it is a very dirty place sadly

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Encounters Travel had organised the tour brilliantly. We felt safe at all times and the guides were knowledgable. Every detail was undertaken with great care and the transfers were executed very smoothly..eg Airport meet up, being dropped at the train station etc etc. I am about to visit Turkey with the same company and hope they keep up the same high standard..highly recommended!

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy