19 independent reviews for Croatia family activity week

Reviews for Croatia family activity week

SHOW
11
8
0
0
0

review 2 Sep 2019

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?


review 2 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole week was packed full of memorable events from the beautiful kayaking trips to jumping off very high rocks. The food provided was gorgeous and we were made to feel really at home. Craig and Xania made every part of the vacation exciting and organised everything for us so we could concentrate on enjoying all the activities. Yoga overlooking the sea was a really special experience and worth getting up early for. The activities were taylored to the ability of our group and we were also able to opt to do certain activities if we wished to. I loved this vacation and I think what is offered is unique and wonderful!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Make sure you you bring what is on the kit list, it is very useful.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The underlying ethos of this vacation is low environmental impact and supporting the local economy.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fabulous experience

review 25 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is difficult to single one thing out as everything we did, from yoga to slacklining to an epic bike ride and four days on the water kayaking and paddle boarding was excellent.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Donít worry if you have not tried anything before as Craig and Xania are extremely supportive and cater for all abilities even in a mixed group.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely, they employ local people to assist them, encouraged us all to visit local eateries and to explore the island of Vis.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Superb family vacation at a great venue with great food and extremely competent and supportive hosts.

review 5 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The children (aged 7 and 9) trying so many new activities and foods and loving them!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

None that we can think of! We were so well looked after!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant! We all had a wonderful week!

review 2 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had an excellent day kayaking along the south coast of Vis. It was nice and relaxed, and had some brilliant coastal scenery. We enjoyed lunch in an idyllic bay, and also went snorkling and cliff jumping along the way.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Join in with everything. Morning yoga and slacklining were suprise hits of the week.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

There was no doubt that the vacation was well integrated with the local community, and was careful regarding the environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a very good week, offering a fun and active week for all the familiy. The activities were well planned to suit a range of ages and abilities, the food was delicious, and the accommodation was great.

review 28 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking & being away from it all - The waters & little bays are beautiful,

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Definitely an active Vacation with time to relax in the afternoon. I feel best suited to children 10+

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. Craig & Xania are very aware of using local produce, recycling & as 4 nights you go out to eat you are using the Islandís restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very well organized & an amazing location. Croatia is a lovely country to explore & everyone friendly.

review 3 Oct 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking for the first time! The sea around Vis is stunning and the views from the water are something else. Craig and Xania are great instructors. Impressively relaxed with our diverse group, the youngest of whom was six. I was the only true beginner but I didn't feel out of place. Mountain biking over the island was also a trip: my son (12) loved it... I also really enjoyed Xania's cooking. Delicious. Oh, and the chance to practice yoga each morning on the rocks was a beautiful way to start each day.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go. Seriously. Given the age ranges in our group (6 / 10 / 12 and then adults), I can say with some confidence that Craig and Xania know how to make it work without leaving anyone out. And there's also plenty of space to go off and do your own thing each afternoon without that feeling out of place either. I did mail ahead of time to ask whether there were would be other kids (and what age) in our group, and I got prompt and friendly responses. So, if you're wondering about something in particular, I'd say drop them a mail and find out. There's no hard sell. Just open and friendly replies. If you're flying back immediately, then it's worth checking ferry times back from Vis to the mainland as you'll likely have time to wait in Split. Which is no bad thing but you might want to factor it into your planning . . .

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. On the evenings that Xania wasn't cooking, we were recommended several local places. When they were further away, transport was organised for us. Everything was taken care of. Although I missed Xania's cooking, the food was fine where we went (one place was especially delicious - ask about the spot where they make wine and cook in a traditional fashion!). It was clear we were supporting local businesses, which can only be a good thing.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

My son's verdict: "Can we go again next year, and can we go to Austria?" He loved it and so did I. Really enjoyed the balance of action and rest, plus the chance to meet some wonderful people. Not sure if we got lucky with our group or if it's always like that. I have a feeling that the warmth and relaxed attitudes of Craig and Xania might mean it's always like that . . .

review 8 Aug 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking along the rugged coastline into beautiful secluded bays. Enjoying Xania's exquisitely cooked vegetarian evening meals.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Embrace the idea of yoga at 7 am! Bring cycling gloves - useful not only for cycling but also for kayaking.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

High quality vegetarian food may well persuade meat eaters to try a meat free diet. Had no need to buy anything to eat or drink which were in plastic containers/bottles.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Craig and Xania Wear demonstrated considerable skill and expertise during our vacation. They quickly assessed the strengths and abilities of the group members and gently encouraged everyone to succeed in the different activities. It was a truly memorable experience.

review 9 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole vacation was brilliant. The activities were brilliant, pictched to suit our ability; the food was delicious and shared with real passion and homeliness; there was also plenty of time to simply enjoy the fantastic location and really relax.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Book it with confidence and enjoy the experience. There's something for everyone. We travelled with a 1 year old and and 8 year old and they both got so much out of it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. The mix of one night eating in with Craig and Xania and the next sampling the local restaurants was lovely. Also, the food was all locally sourced including the fresh bread from the local bread van every morning just in time for breakfast. In terms of environmental impact relaxing on a sea kayak and seeing the island via bike was a great way of minimising the impact whilst giving the body a good old stretch. A lovely quiet and engaging way to properly experinece a beautiful and relatively unspoilt part of the world.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation was brilliant. Activity balanced with proper relaxation. We have come back really rejuvenated. Craig and Xania (and Zora-the dog) work very well together to pull the experience together so you can just get on and enjoy your break.

review 7 Aug 2013

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Actively exploring the Island of Vis, on bikes, kayaks and foot. Beautiful place, beautiful people.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Craig and Xania seem to readily fit in with the local culture, as if they have lived there forever. Getting around on bikes, foot or kayaks made for low environmental impact and a perfect way to explore.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent!

review 19 Aug 2012

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Diving off rocks and sea kayaking in caves. The bike ride down the winding coastal road to Komiza was spectacular. Our kids, aged 5 and 11 had a terrific time and really loved the activities as well as mucking about in the sea, snorkelling and swimming. Craig and Xania (the owners) went out of their way to ensure we had a terrific time, including little extras like games and competitions.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just book it, it's a blast.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, not only were Craig and Xania both aware of reducing their environmental impact, but they also encouraged us to enjoy the local restaurants and recommended some marvellous spots.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great! "Fantastic, awesome, really good!" (comments from the kids).

review 12 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Being on a little beach with no one else around and searching for sea creatures with my boys.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just turn up and relax and be open to everything.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes we walked and kayaked, ate at local establishments and didnít pay in to companies that take away money from the locals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Brilliant perfect mixture of exercise and relaxation and no pressure to do anything you didnít want to, and catered for all ages (in our case 4-31).

review 6 Sep 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it was absolutely fantastic. Jumping off the high rocks into the sea was a great experience.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

We are not amongst the fittest family that have visited with this tour operator but we all enjoyed the activities. So don't be put off if it sounds quite energetic - it was all fantastic.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

The food was great and mainly grown on the island. We had the opportunity to eat out at our own choice of restaurant with our hosts providing the taxi service.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent vacation. Our hosts Xania and Craig were welcoming and generous with their time and expertise. Xania is a great cook! Thank you to you both.

review 20 Jun 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The weather (28 degrees along with a fantastic thunderstorm!) and the beauty of the unspoiled and really hospitable island of Vis. I did not want to leave and come back to our frenetic life in the UK!!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Xania cooks excellent vegetarian meals - sometimes my children found they weren't always to their taste! Book early as they are very popular in the summer! Just take shorts, t shirt and swimmies!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Very much so. We didn't use a car all week and all local produce was used for the meals.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, really thought through and balanced to suit kids and adults of all ages and ability.

review 22 Aug 2011

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Kayaking into caves, the kids jumping off rocks and cliffs, swimming off kayaks in the clearest blue water, mountain biking through vineyards to a fishing village. Early morning yoga and a swim off the rocks afterwards. Great cooking by Xania.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Excellent for families who don't just want to sit on a beach but don't want a bootcamp or just one activity. You can kayak, mountain bike, snorkel, swim, jump off rocks into the sea, practise yoga and walk in the cool of the day. The house is in a great position near several coves. Very unspoilt area, not a single shop and cash only, no credit cards accepted in the 2 local restaurants. Good accommodation, Craig and Xania have a flair for design, very comfortable, easy living and very good (vegetarian) food.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes, Xania used seasonal and local produce, honey from the neighbour, cheese from the local farmer, lots of seasonal fruit and veg. Solar showers, we travelled under our own steam as much as possible.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good, we all came back very relaxed, fit and healthy, didn't lose weight due to great and plentiful food. Vacation appealed to our 3 kids, (2 teenagers) as exactly the right balance of activities and relaxation. Craig and Xania very good at making it fun with minimal of fuss, eg at kayak rest stops there were always ball games for those who didn't want to sunbathe but no pressure to join in. Kids also loved their dog Zora.

review 6 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We had high expectations going into this vacation after reading the recommendations of previous visitors. That could have been difficult to live up to but happily our time on Vis exceeded our expectations! What made it particularly memorable was Craig and Xania's welcome, the attention to detail and their energy in making everything great. The sea-kayaking was a fantastic way of seeing the island, it gave us all a real sense of freedom. The satisfaction when (finally!) arriving at the top of the zigzag climb out of Vis town on bikes was pretty good too!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Just go! If you enjoy physical activity and getting out and seeing the place you are visiting, this is for you. Don't miss the Blue Cave boat (trip from Komiza).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

We travelled by mountain bike, kayak or foot for the vast majority of our visit (A few pick-ups in the Land Rover were needed and welcomed!). Xania's excellent cooking is rooted in using local seasonal produce - neighbours' goats cheese, next door's honey, etc. Craig and Xania have integrated into the local community and actively support local businesses and communities.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The vacation kept the whole family busy, entertained and enthused (that is, Mum and Dad, 15, 13 and 9 y/o girls). It is one we will be recommending!

review 2 Sep 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole week was brilliant... we had a vote, and most of the family voted for jumping off the rocks into the perfectly clear blue green waters...

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared to be on the go most of the time! This suited us perfectly with 2 young kids, as they were constantly entertained....

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Absolutely, all the food was sourced locally and the restaurants recommended were all local.... obvious minimal impact to environment in things such as a single water bottle provided for use for each member for the week , reducing the need to buy bottled water ... majority of transport was by bike, foot or kayak... and the jeep was always full on each journey.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Good.... would definitely recommend to families looking for an active vacation that caters for all ages and abilities. Hosts looked after us well, food, rooms, equipment etc was excellent , and the clear waters off Vis have to be seen to be believed.

review 5 Aug 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

For us the whole week was memorable. Kayaking on a choppy sea one day, dead calm the next. Xania's wonderful home cooking, Cycling both on and especially off road. Snorkelling with the fishes. Yoga on the rocks. Spectacular scenery. The superb local wines. Jumping off the rocks. Playing games on the beach. We loved it all!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Great for fun loving, active families. Our 10 year old son and we as parents (50ish) were challenged physically but you can set the bar as high or as low as you wish.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. Local people benefited from our redistribution of wealth (spending). The environmental impact is small as most activities are man powered and when the landrover is used up to nine people are moved in the one vehicle.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We rate this vacation in our top 3 for enjoyment.

review 5 Jul 2010

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The children loved jumping into the sea from the rocks and snorkelling in the crystal clear water.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

To make the very most of your time, try to go earlier (June) or later (September), if you are thinking of going in the Summer. The weather, whilst warm, will be more comfortable for mountain biking and hiking, which are excellent ways of seeing this lovely island.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, and minimized impacts on the environment?

Yes. We ate out at local restaurants, eating locally grown produce, used local tour operators for excursions on our "free days" and made sure to drink the local wine!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Extremely good. Craig and Xania are very professional. It's hard to think of any way that they could have improved the service they provided on our vacation.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies