10 independent reviews for Vis Island activity vacation in Croatia

Reviews for Vis Island activity vacation in Croatia

SHOW
6
4
0
0
0

review 13 Oct 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Itís hard to say, as we had a most thoroughly enjoyable ten days staying with Matko, Maja and Matkoís mother Zora. (Matkoís wife was in Split, awaiting the birth of their twins.) Possibly the most memorable might be whizzing off almost as soon as we arrived to watch the last cricket match of the season of the Sir William Hoste Cricket Club! Later in our time we had a delicious Octopus Peka (cooked for hours over and under hot charcoals) at Rokiís next door to the club, and enjoyed seeing round their winery. We loved our boat trip with Dino, visiting Vis town and Komiza and Mount Hum, and various trips to local Ďkonobaísí for drinks in the sunshine enjoying the lovely views. I liked walking to the local beaches. All the local ones seemed to be stone slabs but on our boat trip we spotted some sandier ones, possibly only really accessible by boat. Daily early morning yoga in the pine forest with the lovely Maja was certainly memorable and so most definitely were the delicious meals cooked for us by Zora! And the barbecues done by Matko after the (delightful) vegan guests had left!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a lovely vacation! We came towards the end of September and it was hot by day but we were very glad of a jumper at night. Bring a supply of teabags if your favourite brew is not fruity teas. If you wanted to self cater - we did not - you would need to check how easy this might be. We started off in rooms downstairs and there was a fairly basic kitchen, when we moved to far nicer rooms upstairs there was a sink and a kettle but not much else. Matko and his family are so friendly and helpful so do let them know if there is anything you need or would like to do. I am sure they would always help if they could.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

As far as one could tell, almost totally. Everyone involved is local or from Split and the food all home cooked. There is no need to hire a car.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We loved it all. Thank you Matko and co!

review 23 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is hard to choose any one, as we had many memorable experiences. We enjoyed the boat trip down the coast, as the views were gorgeous; the sites were interesting; and the swimming stops were fun. Yoga in the woods in the morning, with a terrific instructor, was memorable. So, too, was the opportunity to walk to the beach to swim each day, and to be able to bike from the apartment, on a variety of routes. We also remember with fondness the home-cooked meals and the chance to interact with family and staff.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Prepare for a relaxing week, with the opportunity to choose your own activities and schedule. We recommend the kayak trip to an isolated cove for swimming; the boat trip; yoga; biking; and hiking at least part of the trail to the highest point on the Island. We opted for "full board" and really enjoyed the home-cooked meals.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We stayed with a local family, who bought from local merchants and used local guides. We visited several protected sites, such as the "Blue Cave," where our fees help in maintaining the site.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. It was a wonderful, relaxing week. The Island is quiet and beautiful. We chose activities we really enjoy, such as yoga, swimming, biking, boating. The food was delicious (and was vegetarian, at our request). The family and staff were attentive and were just a pleasure to be with. Thank you.

review 9 Sep 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Taking a boat trip round the island to some wonderful beaches and the Green Cave. We enjoy swimming a lot so this was a real highlight as we would not have seen these beaches otherwise.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Others have said it here already. Travel light as ts a very relaxed vacation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes as we ate local produce and drank local wines.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was a wonderful vacation. The beach location was perfect. Matko and his family were very welcoming. Maia was really helpful in planning activities every day.

review 7 Jul 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The vacation was utterly delightful. I received a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts Matko and Marina, who made me feel like part of the family, providing wonderful home cooked food, and equally wonderful company. Together with Mia, who carried out the activities, I was introduced to the beautiful island of Vis. I was surprised to find yoga was the most enjoyable regular activity I completed. Mia possesses a calm and peaceful persona, and I thoroughly enjoyed morning yoga in the forest as well as the other activities we completed together.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Bring a hat. Bring shoes for the beach as it is all pebbles. Suncream, Aftersun, etc. Just enjoy the slow pace Vis offers. Take time to explore the little streets and alleys. Go on the boat trip with Dino, see the blue caves, swim in the bays.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I hope so .. I ate fresh local produce, and bought items made locally when in the two towns on the island.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was one of the loveliest vacations I have been on. I booked last minute unsure what to expect. The village is stunning, the sea is blue and sparkling, the hosts fabulous. I felt very welcome, and equally very sad to leave. I would highly recommend this operator, and Matko is secretly very dry and funny.

review 26 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Everything. It is not possible to single out one bit. Beautiful beaches, Crystal clear sea, fantastic views, wonderfully peaceful, excellent hosts, great accommodation, fun and interesting activities, and lots and lots of really well cooked home food. It was all great.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Don't take too many clothes, you'll only take them home again, unworn!! And trust in Matko, he's got everything under control, so you can relax and enjoy your vacation.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think it did.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

10 out of 10

review 10 Jun 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Impossible to pick out one highlight, it was a blissful week with a perfect balance of activities and relaxation. Matko and family made us feel part of their lives and did everything to fit the activities and set the pace around what worked best for us.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You can totally relax knowing everything is arranged and safe. Recommend aqua shoes or similar as the beautiful beach is rocky and you will want to enjoy the clear blue sea.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes supported local, small scale tourist business which encourages enjoyment of the natural beauty of the island with a minimal environmental footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Highly recommended for families of all ages and small groups who want to really get to know Vis and itís people and enjoy a perfect balance of cycling, kayaking, walking, yoga at a flexible pace with plenty of time to relax. Delicious home cooked food.

review 30 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

We stayed for 2.5 weeks on the Island Vis. The beautiful beaches (pebble and sandy beaches), the excellent restaurants away from Vis and Komiza (the 2 main towns on the Island), fantastic shades of crystal clear blue sea. Our hosts, Matko, Mariane, Maya, Dino and Matko's mother were delightful and made us feel very much at home. My sons, aged 9 and 6 years enjoyed the boat rides with Dino and kayaking with Maya. The family was very accommodating and prepared breakfast, lunches and dinners that my sons would enjoy, that was very kind.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

A mosquito repellent is a must for the evenings.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the breakfast, lunches and dinners were prepared using local products, thereby avoiding imported goods and thus reducing carbon footprint.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, thoroughly enjoyable.

review 26 Aug 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The food cooked by our host and kayaking, as well as the trecking to Stiniva beach. Daily yoga lessons were a highlight of our day.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Exlpore the island and try the local produce as much as you can. Make sure you get info on local restaurants before venturing out. Don't bring your car to the island - you will not need it.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our food was locally suplied. We did not bring our car to the island

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

The activities and food were excellent. The accomodation was clean and ok but could use improvement. The internet was very slow.

review 23 Jun 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

For us the most memorable part of the vacation was that we were treated like friends rather than paying guests, showing us the culture, history, sights and wildlife of the Island. We were able to do as much or as little as we wanted with or without a member of the team, all of whom do their upmost to make your vacation one to remember.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Try to get as fit as you can to get the most out of the activities on offer. Pack casual clothes and insect repellent.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

All the team are local, the food is either grown by Matko on his allotment or sourced locally and used to produce local dishes. The wine is also locally produced and like the food is organic. They are openly concerned about their environment and actively promote its improvement and preservation.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, it was fun, informative, active but relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble for Matko and his team and they made sure our week with them was exactly how we wanted it to be.

Read the operator's response here:

It's been a perfect week! Alison and Mike are more than a regular guests, more like friends! I'm gratefull to had them with us!

review 20 Oct 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of our vacation was because it was so full of variety, with so many great but very different memories. Kayaking to small islands and into a stunning cave, pierced by a single beam of sunlight. Beautiful beaches and coves, snorkelling in crystal clear water. Relaxing and hanging out in the old town. Hiking over hills and delving into a nuclear fallout shelter! And fabulous food!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Matko and his team are very relaxed and happy for you to do whatever you want. You can use their help or explore alone. They are very good at judging how much you want or need them to be helping or accompanying you. Don't be shy to just say what you want even if it is to be alone or veg out on the beach. You don't have to rock climb a mountain and then freedive to 50 metres, every day! ;-)

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We were very pleased to be at a place owned and run by local people and everything we did supported local business. The food was all very good, very healthy and locally produced.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A fantastic, varied vacation that we both enjoyed very much. Matko made everything we wanted to do very easy. Activities were available and they were all great, with as much or as little support and involvement as you want, from Matko and his team. The food was excellent, including some of the best fish I have ever had.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies