8 independent reviews for Cycling vacation in Croatia, Dalmatian Coast

Reviews for Cycling vacation in Croatia, Dalmatian Coast

SHOW
3
4
1
0
0

review 2 Jul 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many things: cycling through the vineyards and along Adriatic Sea, also Mjlet National Park was magnifique.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Ramp up on your cycling because this is not an easy cycling vacation. You should have good aerobic capacity, cycle approx 2 hours daily prior to this trip, and have good hill climbing skills.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, our guide always took us to local restaurants with authentic food and we even ate at a home where they picked the vegetables for the dinner right out of their garden.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was a 10 out of 10 for sure. Great guide who was funny, encouraging, patient, and kind; scenery that matches anywhere worldwide, amazing food, and a whole new set of friends.

review 15 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling down the long downhill on the second day on Hvar into the port at Su?uraj. The views where stunning and the road was clear. You can see the sea on either side of you and the finish line ahead after a rewarding morning of cycling. Fantastic!

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take some padded shorts and a camera Ė youíll need both. Some of the climbs can be tough but the support vehicle is always close by. We went in May and was a lovely time to go as it was quiet and not too warm.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes definitely! Our guide Ana was Croatian and we really felt that she took us off the beaten track a little and by doing so, got us to some places that a lot of travelers donít have the opportunity to see. We ate at family restaurants and had a very personal experience that really makes the vacation special. Cycling is a great way to explore with minimal environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

We had a really fantastic time. The group was friendly and the tour guide really made the trip for us with her knowledge and enthusiasm for the country. The tour was well organised and perfectly suited to the location and time we had there. It will not be our last cycling vacation!

review 5 Jul 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

I loved it all, but the day trip to Mljet was particularly special. The island and monastery looked like a picture in a fairy tale, and swimming in the Adriatic was magic.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

You are in a for a great time - especially if you like challenging yourself on your bike, seeing a beautiful part of the world, and enjoying the friendship of others. Some of the hills are quite long, but the van was always close by. You will get a good appreciation of the country of Croatia. Ana was a very capable guide, very knowledgable about her country.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes, I think it did all of these 3 important issues.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very high 9 out of 10

review 10 Oct 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The stunning scenery (this review relates to cycling the Dalmatian Coast)

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

This is more challenging than a moderate trip! You need to be a serious cyclist. Take Arnica/Bruise Relief with you to ease a sore backside!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Cycling is obviously more environmentally friendly than car, but we did have a back-up van with us. We did support the local community by eating in some very local restaurants.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very enjoyable due to perfect weather, stunning scenery, an excellent tour guide and a good group - but, as above, much more challenging than anticipated.

review 12 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Cycling the Dalmatian Coast was a terrific vacation full of memorable and exciting moments. It is difficult to pin down just one, however, cycling around Korcula was definitely a highlight. Big uphill climbs were rewarded with simply stunning views of the coast and there was always a colourful village nestled in a turquoise cove just around the corner.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

There are some big climbs, so make sure you are fit, especially in summer as it is also hot.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Absolutely! We dined at local restaurants which directly supported small communities. The fact that we cycled minimised environmental impact.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Absolutely brilliant! Krsto, our guide, was very knowledgable, had excellent social skills and a wit that kept us entertained. I met like minded people, the cycling was beyond my expectations and the food and wine were absolutely amazing. I highly recommend this vacation- it was an experience of a lifetime.

review 10 May 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Lunch in a clifftop coastal restaurant where virtually every single item was made or grown by the family who served it to us

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

The cycling is on the high end of moderate, not the low end!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 29 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Difficult to say - the whole vacation was good.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Consider booking your own flights. The company uses the national airline which did not give direct flights whereas other participants using budget airlines were able to fly direct.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Great vacation - would recommend

review 15 Sep 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The whole trip was wonderful! There were several parts of our bike rides that were just breath-taking: cruising down the hillsides of the islands, feeling the sunshine, breeze, seeing the blue sea below, the vineyards on the hillside. The views from the biking terrain were spectacular. We also enjoyed some lovely outdoor meals, particularly in Korcula, enjoying fresh seafood. Our guide Vladimir Fumic was really lovely - friendly, informative, and a good leader.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Give yourself a day or two to see Split before you start with the group (there isn't a ton to see, but it is still nice to walk around the city more than the group itinerary allows), same with Dubrovnik. Also, go to Mljet - which is optional on the itinerary, but well worth it. Booking in early September was great -- not too hot for the biking.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

I am not so sure how it did this, but I did feel like biking is environmentally friendly, and our guide took us to local eating establishments and shops to buy local wine.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

It was excellent! An active vacation that was also very relaxing, with beautiful sights, delicious food (seafood, wines), option to swim. The hotels are not anything lavish, but they are clean and practical, and not in congested tourist areas.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies