10 independent reviews for Sicily history tour, Italy

Reviews for Sicily history tour, Italy

SHOW
2
4
3
0
1

review 27 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

So many memorable things - the Greek temples, Roman mosaics, Palermo's street markets and Byzantine churches - swimming, sunshine etc etc. Amazing food.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a fairly hectic schedule and variable accommodation. Fitness and good footwear advisable!

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes. We had a great local tour leader and driver and ate out at local restaurants every night.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent, although the schedule could be improved in one or two areas and one or two of the hotels were quite basic.

review 21 May 2018

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

a) The walking trail at Mt Etna b) The various temples at Agrigento

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be aware of the rough ground underfoot and carry appropriate footwear.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Can't say.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent

review 12 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

All of it

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Warm clothes to go to Etna

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Fantastic apart from the accommodation. The accommodation was a letter down.

review 24 Apr 2017

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Unfortunately the most memorable part was the awfulness of our guide. On the positive side, Sicily is very beautiful if a little run down. Reminded me a lot of the Balkans

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be organised with luggage. Very much on the move and mostly staying in one place each night.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Not hugely.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Too much really for the allocated time

Read the operator's response here:

Dear Eva, Firstly, thank you for your comments. You should have received direct correspondence from us related to your concerns about the leader on your trip. We have explained what went wrong and how on this occasion the leader fell far below our normal high standards. This is not the norm and the leader in question is receiving further training before leading a trip again. We apologise that the leader did not represent our company in the way you or we were anticipating and for the disappointment you felt as a result. Whilst we are aware that we cannot change your experience, we do hope you feel that we have taken the appropriate action to ensure that this situation does not recur and that we have taken your feedback seriously. We do hope that this explanation provides an adequate response to your review and offers you reassurance that we are continuously working on ensuring our trips are operated at our normal high standard.

review 19 May 2016

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The locations of the temples at Agrigento and Selinunte were truly spectacular. Entering the Cathedral at Monreale made everyone go "wow!"

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

When visiting Etna make sure you have adequate warm/ waterproof clothing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

This was an extremely comprehensive tour of Sicily. Though the tour was busy the earliest start time was 8.30 so you did feel that the morning was not too much of a rush. Our guide gave us free time in most locations and this gave us time as individuals to explore the areas that we were particularly interested in. We had the choice to eat separately or with the group and we did both.

review 22 Jun 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Archaeological sites

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Take your swimmers

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Yes

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very much exceeded our expectations. Good value for money.

review 16 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Walking in the Zingaro Reserve, making our way to Erice and back down Valderice.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Learn a bit of Italian, especially for food items - makes it just that bit easier and more enjoyable! (Makes the locals happy too).

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Definitely benefited the locals economy-wise!

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent.

review 6 Jul 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

Getting to see most of the Greek temples in Sicily, standing in some, on fallen blocks, massive

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

with this group? The guides were totally unknowledge-able, utterly ignorant the tour leader knew the geography: that's it, that's all

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

Well, we spent a few Euro's! Whether the locals got any? moot. As to the latter 2: not really

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Very good itinerary, but now I will get some books from the Library.

review 6 Apr 2015

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

The scenery is stunning. Our favourite day was walking on the coast in the Zingaro Nature Reserve. The tour of Agrigento was absolutely excellent all because of our guide, Giovanna who told us so much, so succinctly and in an interesting fashion.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Go for it! Some long days but interesting sightseeing.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

We used local hotels, local guides and local shops so we hope it benefitted Sicilians. Our guide was dedicated to improving the environment and educating children about how to care for wildlife and nature.

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

A very good introduction to Sicily.

review 2 Jun 2014

1. What was the most memorable or exciting part of your vacation?

It was an overview of Sicily which we thought was well paced. Very good guide, (Salvo) enthusiastic about his country and very knowledgeable.

2. What tips would you give other travelers booking this vacation?

Be prepared for a busy schedule, but one that is perfectly manageable.

3. Did you feel that your vacation benefited local people, reduced environmental impacts or supported conservation?

The guide was conservation minded. I am not sure how you could have involved local people more. It is not a developing country where home stays are more common. Is there any 'agritourism' venue in Sicily which could accommodate a group of 10+?

4. Finally, how would you rate your vacation overall?

Excellent. In terms of short 'adventure' vacations it was one of the best we have been on.

Holiday Reviews

You can trust Responsible Travel reviews because, unlike many other schemes, reviews can ONLY be written by people who we have verified have been on the holidays. In addition, we don't run these holidays ourselves - our only interest is giving you the best independent advice.

Read our review policy

Convert currencies